Ratings based on 2,731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, location is great.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Ok but not great. Location is great, very old of course.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alamo hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Terrible food, electricity blew out, noise stay, terrible bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geeba from Minneapolis

Historic hotel with a great location!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: I loved the overall appearance of the hotel. It's nice to get away from modern day looks and travel back in time.
Cons: I had one frustrating experience with a woman at the front desk.
Location: Amazing location! The Alamo, the River Walk, and plenty of restaurants are nearby!
I loved my stay at the Menger! While the room was small, it was so quaint and cute. I'm kicking myself for not taking any pictures of it! If I'm ever in San Antonio for vacation, I'll definitely stay at the Menger. I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for the first half of my trip which was best for business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Houston, TX

Historic hotel across the street from the Alamo.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: I enjoy the "back in time" feeling I experience when I am at The Menger.
Cons: Since this is an old building I'm not sure the amenities I would like could be incorporated, but it would be nice to be able to have a two bed room.
Location: The Alamo and the River Walk are very close and everything I like to do is within easy walking distance.
I brought my friend to San Antonio because she wanted to visit the Alamo. I have stayed at the Menger before and enjoy the history of the facility as well as the by gone era elegance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel close to the Riverwalk

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Everytime we go to San Antonio we stay at this hotel.... it has a lot of history... very clean.. I will be going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

could have more potential

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: ammenities, pool area
Location: very well located.
very beatifull lobby with an old style, however the restaurant área had a poor service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roach problem

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: THe charm of an old hotel.
Cons: The cost of parking was very expensive.
Location: River Walk was within a short walking distance.
We needed to ask for another room because we found an almost dead roach in our room. THe housekeeping lady said that she had sprayed the room but would have to spray again. THe hotel was very accommodating in giving us another room and when we returned to our new room that night we found a chilled bottle of wine and 2 glasses waiting for us. I guess in that climate and being in the city these things can happen.
2 out of 5
by Cassandra from Houston, TX

Excepting so much more!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The main floor was beautiful and very historic.
Cons: Accommodations in general and heat and cleanliness.
Location: San Antonio is one of my favorite places to visit. So much history with the Alamo right next to the hotel and the river walk just a short distance.
I was excepting so much more based on the 4 star rating and price of the room. It was old, needed massive updating and lacked the charm and beauty you see online. The first room we got in was a decent size but there was a leak in the bathroom and hair on the bathroom walls. We got moved to another room and it was tiny and very unexciting. It was cold so we tried putting the heat on and was told unless the hotel gets to 45 degrees they don't turn on the heat??? So if you are cold natured person (such as myself), be prepared to freeze. Oddly enough, I went to get some ice from the vending room on our floor and it was blasting hot air. Used the fitness room, which had 4 pieces of cardio equipment that were all on their last leg. I have stayed at a few hotels in San Antonio but wanted to try the famous Menger hotel and I'm disappointed I did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James and Dawn from Burleson, TX

Great historic hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
My family and I have stayed at The Menger several times and we love this hotel. The staff is excellent and the hotel itself provides all the amenities of a modern hotel while preserving the historic value that this 150 year-old hotel has. Our balcony overlooked the back of The Alamo and the hotel is located close the mall and the River walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from South Carolina

Great location

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The history of the hotel was amazing.
Cons: The temperature of the hot tub. The food and drink available in both the bar and the restaurant could be improved.
Location: Very close by to everything. 2 blocks from the Riverwalk.
This hotel was in an excellent location to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. The hotel staff were all very friendly. The only complaint I could have is that while in the hot tub, the temperature was luke warm. When the staff came to check it, they seemed unimpressed that it was cool and they were not concerned to change it. The temperature should have been 103 but it was 91 degrees. Overall, it was a great experience and we liked the hotel.