Ratings based on 3,304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel needs to fix a lot of their facility

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: its close to river walk
Cons: complete renovations before accepting reservations
Understanding they are undergoing renovations, but they failed to keep basic services operating. The Ice machine was in pieces, having to travel three floors to secure ice. The Wi-Fi did not work despite their attempting to fix it. The shower worked intermittently, shutting off while showering then coming back on after a few minutes. Would not recommend making a reservation until they complete remodeling
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was being remodeled .we should of recievedad

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Wesite was decieving.and we should of got a discount on room and parking.no pool and workout area but staff was great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was being remodeled .we should of recievedad

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Wesite was decieving.and we should of got a discount on room and parking.no pool and workout area but staff was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cynthia from Beeville Texas

Within walking distance of Riverwalk

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned elegance in decor and service
Cons: the hot water was very slow.
Location: Riverwalk within 2 blocks, great Italian restaurant 1 block away, jazz club on Houston was excellent.
Stayed during renovation, but staff and facilities were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joelle from Kaneohe HI

Beautiful Hotel near San Antonio Riverwalk

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The only reason I have rated anything less than a 5/5 on here is because the hotel was under construction when we stayed here so we were unable to experience the full grandness of it all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful with a great view of a park (didn't look directly into another building as a lot of others seemed to have). It was only two blocks from the Riverwalk, a very short walk, kept you close to the action without the noise of it bothering you at night. We also had our large dog with us and this hotel had the best pet policy we could find, as far as 3+ star hotels in this area went.
1 out of 5
by Dustin Vinas from V

Not a hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
No wifi, under major construction, constant noise from workers, whatever happened to doing one floor at a time?, no ice machines, I'd rather have stayed at a ghetto motel, should be closed for construction
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Facilities, room

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The beds were comfortable however. Location was great
The Hotel was under major renovation. Our room did not look anything like the pictures from online. The carpet was worn, the benches & sitting chairs were so worn that when you sat on them, you sunk to the bottom. The room smelled musty & old. There were no towels racks by the sink. The Hallway corridors looked like a scene out of The Shining horror film and was quite creepy. Considering we paid $200 per night the condition was NOT worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Back in Time

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Despite the hotel being in process of full renovations it was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. I look forward to visiting once the renovations are completed. I felt as thought I had gone "back in time" and I'm not even especially in to historical hotels or landmarks. From staff to accomodations to location I couldn't have been more pleased.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an "okay" stay

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The hotel staff was excellent!!! The staff is what I expected from a Wyndham property. The hotel - however - was undergoing MAJOR renovation and I was not aware of it when I booked the hotel. Had I known, I would have stayed elsewhere. The hotel is a historic property, which sounds great, and the renovation would have been understandable….but the extend of the renovation and the deterioration/dilapidation of the interior hallways was surprising. The lobby was partially blocked off with huge tarps and the construction in all of the room hallways was seriously underrepresented on the website. The location and the staff were both very very nice, but the lodging itself left a lot to be desired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: historical staff
Cons: remodel complete
Location: great
Comped us some free drinks and food due to remodeling but it was only a slight inconvenience. they need new towels as the current linen is very rough.