Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland, ca

Wonderful Ecolodge Experience!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Our family of 3 stayed in one of the individual bungalows and loved the experience! Not luxury accommodations, but that wasn't what we wanted or expected. La Finca had everything we needed - clean, comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds with wildlife, trails and a working farm, a great pool and hot (warm) tub, and tasty local-style meals available from the lodge restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uruguay

A horrid experience

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Terrible. Too expensive for what you get. I think The owners should focus on The finca and leave The hotel side To someone with knowledge. Or just charge The half. Although Costa Rica is expensive for that money you get better places!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

A very nice surprise

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We booked this trip after about 5 min consideration on a last minute decision to make our way from Tamarindo to drive past Lake Arenal before sunset. The people and the place are beautiful with a somewhat remote location (totally worth it). Christian and Stephen and others treated the small group of lodgers like personal guests of this Eco lodge and organic farm. The value for our money went way beyond our expectations with wonderful home grown and home cooked local fare. The pool/garden area was very serene and fun for our kids. The night swim was reall cool with all the jungle sounds around us. The staff working here seemed to treat each other and us like family We stayed 1.5 days but would have liked more time. Hopefully we can return again some day, this is a great base to explore the area from and great people to point you in the right direction. Thanks to everyone at Finca Luna Nueva for a really beautiful and informative stay. We wish you all much success with your farm business, your mission and your research into regenerative farming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dave from Seattle, WA

Nice getaway from La Fortuna

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
While it was a bit difficult to find, the place is a gem once you find it. Food is delicious, staff is very friendly, and rooms are clean. I would recommend to have a 4x4 if driving. We chose this place by accident and this was hands down a wonderful and memorable stay - a highlight to our first trip in Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie from NYC

Great place, but a few caveats

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the farm has beatifully groomed trails loaded with wildlife, the staff are either disinterested or downright unwilling to provide any information or maps of the grounds. It's understandable that they would like you to hire guides, but I found the vagueness about the destination and length of the trails frustrating. Also, there is no alcohol for sale on the premises, so stock up on cervesas to bring to the farm if you want one after a big hike. Otherwise, the farm is beautiful, relaxed and the food is excellent and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kurt in CLE from Cleveland OH

great place to get away from it all

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was perfect for us. There was rainforest to hike in on the property and it was still close enough to La Fortuna (45 minutes) to drive up there for the hanging bridges hike and for dinner one evening. The only draw back was the buffet dinners didn't offer enough protein and seconds on the chicken or fish was not available. The food was delicious, but there wasn't enough of it for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very Enjoyable to stay on property for 2 days

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the place. Our room was spacious for 3. We loved the farm tour, the breakfast, and the dinner. Food was fresh and delicious. We saw toucans and sloths, and lots of birds. We did not feel the need to go anywhere else for 2 days. There is also the pool and jacuzzi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenn from South Carolina

Opportunity to learn and relax

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, great food, lots of privacy
Cons: The bed is a bit uncomfortable, but truthfully, not the worst we slept on in our stay in Costa Rica.
Location: Near La Fortuna, which is a great little town to check out. Not far from Arenal.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in our little cabin on the farm. Go on the farm tour! Staff possesses good bilingual skills and is very knowledgeable and helpful. You will be inspired. The road leading up to the property is sketchy, so bring any supplies and plan to stay in, at least at night. The food is wonderful there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alana from las vegas

Nice hotel in the middle of the rainforest

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Relaxing, good location, clean and good security
Cons: The dirt road and air con units in rooms
Location: La fortuna nearby as well as arenal. Numerous tours and restaurants available
Only thing I didn't like was the dirt road to the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by andy k

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com