Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

A very nice surprise

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We booked this trip after about 5 min consideration on a last minute decision to make our way from Tamarindo to drive past Lake Arenal before sunset. The people and the place are beautiful with a somewhat remote location (totally worth it). Christian and Stephen and others treated the small group of lodgers like personal guests of this Eco lodge and organic farm. The value for our money went way beyond our expectations with wonderful home grown and home cooked local fare. The pool/garden area was very serene and fun for our kids. The night swim was reall cool with all the jungle sounds around us. The staff working here seemed to treat each other and us like family We stayed 1.5 days but would have liked more time. Hopefully we can return again some day, this is a great base to explore the area from and great people to point you in the right direction. Thanks to everyone at Finca Luna Nueva for a really beautiful and informative stay. We wish you all much success with your farm business, your mission and your research into regenerative farming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenn from South Carolina

Opportunity to learn and relax

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, great food, lots of privacy
Cons: The bed is a bit uncomfortable, but truthfully, not the worst we slept on in our stay in Costa Rica.
Location: Near La Fortuna, which is a great little town to check out. Not far from Arenal.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in our little cabin on the farm. Go on the farm tour! Staff possesses good bilingual skills and is very knowledgeable and helpful. You will be inspired. The road leading up to the property is sketchy, so bring any supplies and plan to stay in, at least at night. The food is wonderful there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alana from las vegas

Nice hotel in the middle of the rainforest

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Relaxing, good location, clean and good security
Cons: The dirt road and air con units in rooms
Location: La fortuna nearby as well as arenal. Numerous tours and restaurants available
Only thing I didn't like was the dirt road to the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by andy k

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from New York

Great hotel if you for nature lovers.

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Excellent price, amazing staff!!
Cons: More signs on roads indicating where the hotel is.
We were able to do night walks in the rain forest!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great biodynamic farm.

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: The farm tour given by Steven who runs the farm.
We spent 2 nights at the lodge. It is very reasonably priced and the grounds are well kept. If you are interested in organic or biodynamic farming this is a wonderful opportunity. The farm tour is very interesting and is kid friendly. They offer a few other tours but just make sure they are available on the day you are wanting to do them. You get to sample a variety of tropical native and non-native species of fruits and or plants. Our room (Casa Sombra) was pretty basic and definitely not the star attraction. The meals at the restaurant were very good with fresh milk and produce from the farm. The dining area overlooks the swimming pool and rainforest. You can expect to travel at least 20-30 minutes to La Fortuna and 3 1/2 hour to San Jose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: I love the location of the hotel in the rain forest and the bungalows. The food was very good and fresh.
Location: Going to Sky for Zip Lining, Horseback riding to the falls and white water rafting a must. Visiting the town of La Fortuna.
We spent 3 nights at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge and enjoyed our stay. The drive the La Fortuna from the hotel is about 15 -20 minutes. We stayed in bungalow 10 and loved the remoteness of it. The farm tour very interesting, we learned a lot diverse farming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandy from Buda TX

Beautiful location within the rain forest.

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved it. We took the Sacred Seeds tour and farm tour and were intrigued by the information that we received. Both Steven and Ismael were extremely knowledgeable about the plants and methods being used to grow them. I got a tip on a tea to help with my insomnia and I bought some tea while I was there. I bought a beautiful green mug that is just the right size for morning. We went horseback riding and to the Hanging Bridges from there and those were both wonderful. We saw spider monkeys jumping from tree to tree and looking down at us. Wonderful spot and very healthy food. Beautiful grounds, pool and jacuzzi and wonderful people. Our little bungalow was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice retreat

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
What I love about this place, is the peace and tranquility, the birds and the sound of the rain. The service was amazing, Davide, was so accommodating, and helpful. If you're looking for a getaway this is your place. I will say however that it is about 20 mins away from La Fortuna, so depending what your plans are it may be a bit far from certain activities. It shouldn't keep you away from this jem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lots to be desired

Posted May 24, 2013
This hotel left a lot to be desired. The location is beautiful (although isolated) and this was a big draw for us and we did enjoy the setting. However, first off the staff is not very friendly and the restaurant is very disappointing. The food was very bland and overpriced and the service was bad considering there was usually 2-5 people in the restaurant at a time. One night another guest (or so we assume as there were often staff eating there as well...which is odd) who was listening to video's on an I-pad very loudly and it was very distracting. We asked the server to ask him to turn it off-he refused to do so. The room are comfortable and fairly clean. We stayed at Casa Luna and I would not recommend it as the walls are paper thin and you can literally hear other people's conversations in the room next to you. On top of that the floor boards creak terribly and every time someone would get up to even use the bathroom in the night you would hear and the floor would creak loudly. This place has potential but the restaurant needs a complete overhaul-this will make the biggest difference.