Ratings based on 1,061 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Christine from Australia

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately this hotel was being bulldozed the day after our stay, hence the room was clean and OK, but very neglected hotel. Would have been nice to know this before we arrived, and been offered a discount!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Road trip / wedding

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, room was very well kept and clean. I would definitely stay here again in the future. Only negative portion is they should update and better utilize there dining area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Erin from Ventura County

Decent

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean bed. Warm shower. Great price. Perfect location. Lots of things were falling apart. We were just there to party it up in Old Town and needed a place to crash. This was perfect for that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, close to Sea World.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Was clean but needs updating to the room, more old fashion place. Walking distance to Old Town San Diego.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The reviews were right, it's dirty

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
At the time of this review, hotels.com customer ratings for this hotel is a favorable 3.7 which to me means it's above average. On the other hand yelp reviewers gave it a lower 2.5. Had I read reviews on both sites more carefully I would've noticed many mentions of how dirty this hotel was. Two of my towels had dark brown smudges on them, and the two chairs in the room looked rather worn (so much so that they indeed looked dirty.) It was weird and new for me to avoid sitting on and touching things in the room simply because I didn't know if they were dirty. Previous tenants had stuffed toilet paper or Kleenex into the door's peephole. The art work in the room had some water damage and the image was lopsided within the picture frame. The shower didn't drain well; just trying to get the water hot before my shower made the tub flood. To take a shower I had to turn the water off several times to help it drain, but it drained so slowly that there was no way to avoid walking in a pool of water by the end of my shower. The closet doors seemed to be out of their sliding grooves and not working properly so it didn't touch those either, although I too found it quite odd to find the Kleenex, hair dryer, and unplugged refrigerator tucked away in there. Breakfast the next morning was amidst tables of crumbs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Northampton UK

Location saves it

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The location was good, adequate parking, reasonably quiet.
Cons: Service from staff needs looking into
Location: Belmont Park by the beach is easy to drive to with free parking, ample restaurants a short walk away, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo to name but a few
Being a short walk from Old Mexico saves this hotel. I feel were it not where it was then I'd have had to rate it lower. It's not too far to drive to San Diego Zoo or Seaworld. The beach is a short drive too as are multiple shopping options. It felt like it was used for folk who were maybe down on their luck, they got to go somewhere and they were OK people, I got an apology from one for his appearance which he sure didn't need to do, it wasn't his fault most likely. Breakfast is really rather basic, actually very basic. Everything about the place seems old, it's in much need of modernisation. I can see the Mexican theme they are going for but, it's not really acceptable for a hotel in 2014 Staff at reception didn't seem interested at all in engagement. There was no conversation beyond what they were contracted to do. I didn't get the impression they were going out their way to make me feel welcome and were not forthcoming with anything. I slept OK which I think was thanks to the level of tiredness after busy days, I don't consider the bed particularly comfortable. The bathroom certainly felt old but adequate. It's a budget hotel, visitors are probably getting what they pay for, nothing more. I didn't check but there are probably better properties in the area around the same price. All that negativity said, if all you need is a base, somewhere for the night, are not over fussed about a filling breakfast then, this is fine for the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Angie from San Diego, Ca

Filthy freezing room

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Filthy, cold room, no heat, shower water goes from hot to cold throughout entire shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

convenient for wedding attended

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bed extremely comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close to USD

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only thing I would suggest is that the tub be cleaned better. I understand that it's an old hotel so maybe new tubs are needed but please have the cleaning people scrub better.