Ratings based on 989 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, close to Sea World.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Was clean but needs updating to the room, more old fashion place. Walking distance to Old Town San Diego.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Northampton UK

Location saves it

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The location was good, adequate parking, reasonably quiet.
Cons: Service from staff needs looking into
Location: Belmont Park by the beach is easy to drive to with free parking, ample restaurants a short walk away, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo to name but a few
Being a short walk from Old Mexico saves this hotel. I feel were it not where it was then I'd have had to rate it lower. It's not too far to drive to San Diego Zoo or Seaworld. The beach is a short drive too as are multiple shopping options. It felt like it was used for folk who were maybe down on their luck, they got to go somewhere and they were OK people, I got an apology from one for his appearance which he sure didn't need to do, it wasn't his fault most likely. Breakfast is really rather basic, actually very basic. Everything about the place seems old, it's in much need of modernisation. I can see the Mexican theme they are going for but, it's not really acceptable for a hotel in 2014 Staff at reception didn't seem interested at all in engagement. There was no conversation beyond what they were contracted to do. I didn't get the impression they were going out their way to make me feel welcome and were not forthcoming with anything. I slept OK which I think was thanks to the level of tiredness after busy days, I don't consider the bed particularly comfortable. The bathroom certainly felt old but adequate. It's a budget hotel, visitors are probably getting what they pay for, nothing more. I didn't check but there are probably better properties in the area around the same price. All that negativity said, if all you need is a base, somewhere for the night, are not over fussed about a filling breakfast then, this is fine for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not so good not so bad

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The position is good, pretty close to Old Town and to the public transportation station, five minutes walking. The structure is old and should be renewed, the rooms are big and enough comfortable but it need to be wiped more, there was a lot of dust on the furniture, that was really old, the bathroom, instead, was really clean. The breakfast wasn't enough for all the guests and if you weren't among the first, it was impossible to find something to eat. Free wifi and swimming pool for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for a night

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The room was a good stay at a great price. The bed was a little stiff and the walls thin but you only really notice in the morning when everyone else is getting up. Other than that everything was great. I would stay again for a day trip but not for anything longer than that.
2 out of 5
by Kathy from Minnesota

HOTEL CLOSING?

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Padre Trail is across the street from Old Town, around the corner from Sea World, very near to the MCRD, Mission Bay, Liberty Station, the airport.
This is the best hotel for convenience and location in San Diego. I like that you can park your car at your door, free, and the "wifi" availability. The breakfast WAS decent until the place was sold, went bankrupt, or something bad happened. Nobody gave a clear explanation. It needs a complete physical overhaul, so maybe it will be torn down and replaced with a very expensive and fancy facility. Too bad. It has been a favorite for over 25 years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It caters to a certain niche

Posted Apr 2, 2014
I chose this motel largely because 90% of reviewers said they'd recommend it to a friend. Reviews are hard sometimes because the comments are subjective . . . what's dirty carpet and a hard bed to one is fine to another, so you've got to take it all with a grain of salt. We've all seen a movie where some unfortunate soul finds himself homeless with little money & all his worldly possessions in a black garbage bag. The next scene shows that person and his garbage bag living in a motel. This is that motel. Just the building, though. In all fairness, there were no questionable people loitering outside & the cars outside were nicer that what you'd expect to see in a motel of this caliber. We weren't brave enough to check out the free breakfast, so I can't comment on that. It's located on the edge of an industrial area, so don't make the mistake I made & think you can wander around the neighborhood & find a restaurant or any sort of shopping. That said, it's convenient access to Sea World & Mission Beach. All in all, it was a cheap place to stay. You get what you pay for with this one, so if you can afford more, you just might want to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good place to stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Not clean at all,torn chair,the bathroom was dirty and wi if service was soooooo slow
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heatherhayward from San diego

Perfect location to historic old town!

Posted Mar 22, 2014
The padre trail inn old town is an image to the 1960's feel of palm springs right in the heart of old town San diego. We were very happy. Terrific for a staycation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by e from san diego, ca

Room had refrigerator, microwave, and hair dryer.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Close to the beach. Nice tourist shops across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Port Townsend, WA

Great Location, Great Price, OK facilities.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The Hotel was right across the street from Old Town. One of San Diego's best Mexican restaurants (Casa Guadalajara) was right across the street.
Cons: The hotel was adequate, but not well maintained.
Location: Old Town is right across the street. Balboa Park, San Diego Mission, ocean beaches, Gaslight District, and harbor sights are an easy drive away.
Overall, very good. Old Town is right across the street. Balboa Park, San Diego Mission, ocean beaches, Gaslight District, and harbor sights are an easy drive away.