Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Mission Viejo

Loved the refreshing minimalist décor!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: All of the above
Cons: San Diego, itself, should do something about providing shelter for the homeless across the street. It left us feeling very sad for them.
Location: For our purpose, the location was great!
The décor felt so clean, modern, and comfortable. Upon arrival, the valets were friendly, helpful, and courteous, the staff at the front door were casual, yet professional, making you feel like a guest in their "home". The rooftop was lovely and fun...so New York... with a beautiful view of the city! We want to return for a longer visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate lodging in a great location

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: rooms are clean, comfortable
Cons: even big suites don't all have tub baths? Very interesting decision by management.
Location: sd is a great city, duh
Nothing special here. A nice, modern set of rooms and comfortable. Staff is pleasant but needs to be asked twice quite often for basic requests like replacement towels, etc. Not even 4 star service here, but not bad. Would I stay again, yeah if right price, but they did not win over anyone with so-so service unworthy of accolades. And we had multiple rooms for a full work week, so very reliable sample size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

choose this hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
great hotel but be careful of outside noise since this place is located in the Gaslamp area(downtown)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Stayed on sunday night. Great service, friendly staff, awesome location, clean room. Nothing to complain about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a typical Hyatt - very modern and sparse

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The rooftop restaurant has very good breakfast. The room was clean. Good location just a block from the central part of the Gas Lamp district.
Cons: The lobby and check in were understaffed. There was no comfortable furniture in the room.
Location: Great location in the Gas Lamp district near many restaurants, bars and the Horton Plaza shopping area.
This is a very modern hotel geared toward young people who like to party. There were no comfortable chairs in the room. The rooftop bar is a crowded disco on the week ends. It is in a great location just a block from restaurants and bars and the rooftop restaurant is lovely for breakfast or happy hour.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NH

No hot water for three days

Posted Nov 25, 2014
We had no hot water for three days--a bad thing to find out during a morning shower right before a job interview. We had a baby with us so changing hotels wasn't an attractive option; staff let us use other rooms when we wanted hot showers but the plumbing in those was erratic as well (although at least the water temperature there would go above lukewarm). I deeply regret staying at the Andaz and should have known by the overall shabbiness (a dusty table at the front desk, for example) that we were headed for trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Rooftop bar nice but that's about it

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Good location. But overall overpriced for room. We got a deluxe king room. Pretty dingy looking carpet inside. Nice newly renovated bathroom. But terrible plumbing. Water was either never got hot or scorching hot. To 524 definitely needs some maintenance. We paid $250 +$40 valet for the night. Would not do again. Also our room wasn't ready when we arrived and staff tried to up sell us another room. If they weren't even 50% full shouldn't the have automatically upgraded us? We went up and spent $70 on drinks and the reception never even called us to tell us our room was ready wen they promised. Should have booked the Hard Rock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

街中のブティックホテル

Posted Nov 18, 2014
サンディエゴダウンタウンにあるブティックホテル。フロント、部屋、ルーフトップともに綺麗でスタッフも好感度高い。唯一の難点は部屋の方角により浮浪者が朝部屋から見えることか。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Hot water supply (see above).
Location: Convenient to Convention Center. A great number and variety of restaurants within five minutes' walk. A seven-minute drive to the Maritime Museum.
Generally very comfortable (see note below). Staff exceptionally cheerful and friendly. Breakfast on the roof (Roof600) was tasty, convenient, and (for a hotel restaurant) reasonably-priced. Location was very convenient (I was attending a conference at the San Diego Convention Center -- a fifteen minute walk, five minutes' cab ride). One minor problem: it took between 5 and 8 minutes to get hot water in the sink and shower (rather a waste of water!). I would definitely stay here again.