Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Very dated and highly overpriced

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location: Across the street from a nice Restaurant
This Motel looks like it has not been updated since the sixties. For the price we were charged it should have been a luxury accommodation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

A confortabe stay

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Clean, Confortable accomodations, and great staff/owners
Cons: Improvement in cosmetics but not a critical issue. As with any business it's a function of priority and cost vs cash.
Location: Hiking, Backpacking, Seanic photo ops of moutains and desert, exploring old mining sites.
After a day of hiking in the desert, ATI offered a clean confortable bed and hot shower. Typical of many small business off the beaten path it was not fancy but matched our needs. The staff were the owners and they were great at filling us in on information for the local terrain. Very down to earth!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
We (2 college students) booked Apple Tree Inn last minute on a peak Holiday weekend and were very pleased with the overall package for the price we paid. I was a little worried reading others' reviews with regards to the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, but we had absolutely no complaints and thought the room was quite nice and spacious. Furthermore, both of the staff (owners?) that we talked to were very friendly and helped orient us to the Julian area for hiking and food. We would definitely come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SMELLY MOLDY AND OLD!!!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
It really need to remodeled soon. Very smelly rooms and moldy in bathrooms. That's the last thing I want to see!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annefrom Mayne Island, BC, Canada

Great location for hiking & birding around Julian

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were in the area to visit the Palomar Observatory and to hike and bird in the Volcan Mountain and Santa Isabel reserves. The Apple Tree Inn is an easy drive from the Observatory and within a few minutes drive from both reserves. There is a sit-down restaurant next door and good pizza across the road. The location was perfect for us. The Inn is not pretentious and kind of funky, and we like it. We have stayed there before and would do so again. Good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix

Older but clean.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Older motel but clean and it fits in with area. Would not hesitate to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Hannover

absolut fantastisch, traumhaft, super Gegend

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Nicht viel Schnickschnack aber total gemütlich. Pinke Zimmer sind da gar kein Problem mehr. Kostenloses WLAN! Tolle Restaurants in der Nähe!
Cons: Nix! Weiter so!
Location: Julian ist der Geheimtipp für Wanderer, Abenteurer oder einfach nur Naturgenießer. Geheimtipp an dieser Stelle: Der urtypische Apptree Applepie.
Der Pool ist sauber, die Zimmer auch! Super Preis-Leistung und in einer traumhaften Gegend gelegen ist Julian der Geheimtipp für naturverbundenen Liebhaber des Old Wild West. Absolut empfehlenswert. Geheimtipp!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom galt

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Beds were a little hard, but the place was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevenfrom Fullerton

Appletree Inn Afforable Place to Go

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel and a place for a good getaway. Internet wireless a little weak and a few more TV stations would be nice, but who wants to watch TV on a vacation anyway. Pricing of the room was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by cynthiafrom Novato

friendly

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
friendly and comfortable. loved the town. was surprised how much fun the town of Julian was.