Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange, CA

A quaint place not too far from downtown

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, close to restaurants and some shops.
Cons: The TV only showed 4-5 channels, but as we spent a lot of time in town that was not a big deal.
Location: Three miles outside downtown Julian, near a couple restaurants (adjacent and across the street), and some shops just a short walking distance.
We spent a single night here over Memorial Day weekend and enjoyed our stay very much. The owners were very kind and welcoming, allowing us to check in as soon as our room was cleaned. It felt almost as if we were staying in the guest wing of someone's home as they treated us with smiles and friendliness. The location is three miles from downtown (which closes early) so for dinner we ate at the wonderful restaurant directly across the street from the hotel. My girlfriend had the vegan pizza while I had the special, 1/2 BBQ chicken with broccoli and garlic mashed potatoes. If you're looking for a safe, clean, and friendly stay, give this place a look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Charming Place- great experience!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Loved appearance, staff, quiet location. Easy to see "Apple Tree Inn" sign by Hwy 78.
Cons: Bath could use a little repair of tiles & flooring, but everything worked well.
Location: 6 Mile drive to Julian, which is nice for a day visit. 30 miles to Anza-Borrego Desert State Park along scenic, mostly winding roads.
Experience was good from first minute to last- Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful in every request. This hotel is a bit remote, not in any particular town, but near Wynola, a 6 mile drive from Julian. There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance with good food. The room was nicely decorated, and had a small refrigerator as I requested. TV only got 5 channels, but that's ok. Had a comfortable, relaxing stay. However, I don't ask for much in a hotel. There is a pool, but not a lot of fancy amenities. This is a place to be a bit self sufficient & get away from electronic urban life. If you need a lot of services and amenities in a hotel, this is not the place.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Very dated and highly overpriced

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location: Across the street from a nice Restaurant
This Motel looks like it has not been updated since the sixties. For the price we were charged it should have been a luxury accommodation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

A confortabe stay

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Clean, Confortable accomodations, and great staff/owners
Cons: Improvement in cosmetics but not a critical issue. As with any business it's a function of priority and cost vs cash.
Location: Hiking, Backpacking, Seanic photo ops of moutains and desert, exploring old mining sites.
After a day of hiking in the desert, ATI offered a clean confortable bed and hot shower. Typical of many small business off the beaten path it was not fancy but matched our needs. The staff were the owners and they were great at filling us in on information for the local terrain. Very down to earth!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
We (2 college students) booked Apple Tree Inn last minute on a peak Holiday weekend and were very pleased with the overall package for the price we paid. I was a little worried reading others' reviews with regards to the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, but we had absolutely no complaints and thought the room was quite nice and spacious. Furthermore, both of the staff (owners?) that we talked to were very friendly and helped orient us to the Julian area for hiking and food. We would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Laurafrom san juan capistrano

More than expected

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great and people very helpful and friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SMELLY MOLDY AND OLD!!!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
It really need to remodeled soon. Very smelly rooms and moldy in bathrooms. That's the last thing I want to see!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rodneyfrom Much Traveled

don't stay here

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although thelinens were good, the rest of the room was not. Spli and stained carpet, cracked tub, cobwebs on ceiling, badly scarred furniture, and walls desperate for paint. Not what we would recommend. We've stayed in mtn motels for half the price that were much nicer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

First and last stay

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is quaint but the tub, sink and toilet were old and stained. Although the area was nice, it's a little farther from the mainland than what we wanted. The lady in the office was very nice and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annefrom Mayne Island, BC, Canada

Great location for hiking & birding around Julian

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were in the area to visit the Palomar Observatory and to hike and bird in the Volcan Mountain and Santa Isabel reserves. The Apple Tree Inn is an easy drive from the Observatory and within a few minutes drive from both reserves. There is a sit-down restaurant next door and good pizza across the road. The location was perfect for us. The Inn is not pretentious and kind of funky, and we like it. We have stayed there before and would do so again. Good value.