Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pleasant, clean, accommodations. Excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Monterrey, Mexico

Nice holel nearby Viejas hotel, casino and oulet

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Localization, staff, clean, service, internet wi fi, facilities, all be excelent
Cons: Señalization from the main entrance
Location: Viejas is a great place to shopping, reality nice and clean facilities
Nice place to travel, with a staff positive attitude, rooms are clean and confortable, small but delicious breakfast, really acsesible from 8 freeway, 25 min to San Diego, and 5 min to Viejas casino and oulet
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles CA

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: room was comfortable and clean.
Cons: Better service by front desk employees. It'd be nice to have delivery available from restaurants around the hotel. None was available.
Location: Not much. Good for business meetings.
Hotel is comfortable and clean. Front desk employees were not helpful but rather unfriendly. No room service or restaurant deliveries available or allowed? The free breakfast was rather poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Cristina, Thank you kindly for your candid review of our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps to better serve our valued guests. In regards to your recent stay, please accept my most sincere apology that your experience with us was anything less than remarkable. We strive to provide only the best quality customer service and I’m so sorry this was not the case with your stay. In regards to restaurant deliveries, please know that we do indeed allow all restaurants to deliver to our hotel. We do however apologize for this miscommunication. Thank you once again for your candid review and we will certainly utilize your feedback in order to help us improve our service in the future. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Mike Purcell Interim General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: It was close to the viejas casino and they offer a shuttle to and from the casino, so there is not drinking and driving.
Cons: The air conditioning system
We had a great stay, but didn't sleep very we'll because the air conditioning kept going on and off during the middle of night. Other than that we enjoyed our stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Comfortable

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location - fwy close. Comfortable. Quiet. Cookies.
Cons: No elevators. Getting bags to 2nd floor was a bit tricky.
Location: Fwy close. Very close to center with restaurants and shops. Close to affordable gas, and CVS.
Nice hotel. Rustic, quiet, comfortable...and the best chocolate chips cookies (7pm snack) ever!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Laura & Tysonfrom San Diego, CA

Runaway weekend

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I live in the city of San Diego and have been wanting to get out of the city for a while, take an extended hike, and simply "runaway". My husband works for a major brewery and has wanted to visit the well-known and widely respected Alpine Beer Co., which happened to be just over a mile from Ayres Lodge. We were greeted by friendly staff and because we arrived a bit too early to check-in, we were welcomed into the very homey living room and even offered to relax by the pool until check-in time. Once we got to our room, we were pleased by the cleanliness of the room and the quality features. A comfy couch and coffee table in front of the TV and a bed I could die happy in. The bathroom was clean and I was thrilled to wash off the sand from the beach earlier that morning. Once we got cleaned up we walked to Alpine Beer Co. for dinner and brew, along the way we absorbed the small-town feel and enjoyed the small shops, restaurants, and natural beauty. We checked out the next day, after a hearty complimentary breakfast (sausage gravy and biscuits, breakfast burritos, cereal, yogurt, etc.) we headed out to Julian (about 45 minutes away) for our 8 mile hike in the Santa Ysabel State Preserve. Good thing we had a restful night sleep because that hike was tough! This was the perfect runaway weekend we needed. Thanks, Ayres.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JUAN PEDROOOOfrom BALDWIN PARK CA.

GRAND TIME!

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
ENJOYED STAY! CLEAN ROOMS AND VERY COURTEOUS PERSONNEL!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chandler, AZ

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms and the location.
Cons: We stopped in early Sunday morning to check out and the only complaint we have is that the coffee was terrible.
Location: We were in town for a drag race at the Barona Drag Strip.
This is our third stay at this particular hotel and we love the convenience of it being right off the freeway and all the nearby restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Becky, Thank you so much for your kindhearted review and we're so happy that you chose our hotel for your stay. We are thrilled to hear that our world class hospitality, American breakfast, and our clean and spacious guestrooms made such an impression! Though we are sorry to hear that the coffee did not exceed you expectations, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted that your overall stay was a success. Once again, thank you so much for your recommendation and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Mike Purcell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Nice, cost-effective hotel, 40' from San Diego

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nice hotel near San Diego at a fraction of the cost of a city hotel.
Cons: THEY WERE OUT OF BREAKFAST SUPPLIES (EVEN MILK) FOR TWO DAYS :(
Location: We did not spend any time around the area, but we saw some stores.
Comfortable room for an adult and three children. Clean room, easy parking, safe area. Nice pool and backyard garden area. No fridge or microwave in the room. Breakfast is simple, mostly cereal, bread, donuts, some pastries, sausage sandwiches. No eggs or bacon. Warm cookies available at 7:00 PM, which the kids liked a lot. Easy access to the highway to San Diego. Evening staff seemed more polite than day crew. I would have easily given four stars, except for the fact they ran out of most breakfast supplies, even milk, for two days. How difficult is it to buy a gallon of milk at a nearby store??? Kids cannot drink coffee! When I inquired about buying one myself, I was told (in a rather impolite way) they would not keep it in the fridge for me...