Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

A great outpost for traveling to Julian & Borrego

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The hotel is a lodge setting, so if you don't like stuffed heads etc., stay out of the lobby, there were none in the room. Just really nice solid wood furniture and very soft appointments. The only trouble we had at first was trying to find the bathroom light, which oddly was on a wall of the closet outside the door. The gym was nice with a treadmill and bike and weights and it's own shower facility too. We checked in for two nights, after our first night we drove "up the hill" and spent most of the day in Julian, ate at "Jeremy's on the Hill" quite a surprise find, wonderful food and great service (highly recommended) and then did some antiquing before descending to the desert floor of Borrego where we had dinner and drove back to the Ayres lodge. We had the second of two breakfasts (free) at the hotel before our departure back to San Diego. A perfect getaway!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rumoroso

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Ampio parcheggio
Cons: Insonorizzazione camere
Zona bagno non separata dalla zona letto. Troppo rumore in camera
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dana Point

it was nice.. clean and comfy....

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: It was friendly
That was nice.. clean and Comfy and I would stay again if in the area...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Close to mountains and outdoor fun.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Hospitable staff and clean rooms. Great place to stay for the Alpine area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yuma, AZ

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Great stay, convenient location right on I-8, great free coffee, great free breakfast. Will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Comfortable, not fancy

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Quaint and comfortable.
Cons: Noisy furnace, better soundproofing.
Location: The beer lover will drool over Alpine Beer Company's offerings and their restaurant is similarly tasty. Janet's Montana Café is delicious, too.
My wife and I decided to stay at this hotel when we could not get a room in Julian. Julian isn't particularly close by but we decided to stay anyway as we had heard that Alpine was a quaint little town. The facility itself appears to be a nicely updated motel and the rooms, while comfortable, offer the typical motel features such as a wall-mounted air conditioner / heater. Ours was particularly noisy - too noisy to sleep through. We didn't call the front desk about it, we just cuddled together, which I didn't mind. :-) There were no spare blankets in the room, which is somewhat odd considering that Alpine does get cold (for California), dipping into the 30's at night. We stayed in a first floor room facing the garden. This is definitely the better of the views though there is considerable noise all night long from the I-8 freeway, which is a stone's throw from the hotel (though not visible from the first floor). There aren't many alternatives in Alpine in terms of accommodations but the room was clean and comfortable so if I found myself in the same situation in the future, I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Ayres, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and for your compliments regarding our optimal location and friendly team members. We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Chris Michie General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Great location and located close to casino.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Had an enjoyable time at the hotel. Clean and quiet area great for romantic getaways. Staff need to know more about Expedia rewards program.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Staff was very helpful and room was clean and beautiful. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Close to my brother

Posted Jan 3, 2015
No special experience, we like it being close off the freeway and close to family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Prescott, AZ

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The courtyard and the cozy front lobby area.
We enjoyed our room (108) with the view of the "courtyard". However there was a loud thumping noise each night between about 12:00 am-3:00 am. It was not the pipes because that sound was expected and distinguishable. It was as if someone was actually moving furniture above us over a bare floor. I realize that that was certainly not the case, however, I did recommend to the front desk staff our last morning that someone from the management staff spend a couple of nights in that room and check it out??? Cindy