Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bruce from Sacramento

An unexpected and hidden gem

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Wasn't expecting much but needed a place close to San Diego and didn't want to compete with the spring break crowd. This is 30 min from SDSU, to the east, but one could be convinced you were in the Sierra Foothills, if you were dropped in the center of the little burg, not knowing where you were. Nice homey little restaraunts through the small town. Hotel was quaint, quiet, and clean and staff was consistently polite and friendly. Nice open garden area in the back that was peaceful and quiet as well. I'd stay here every time I visit one of my kids at SDSU if I had the choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to family

Posted Mar 24, 2014
We always stay here when we go to San Diego. It's quiet and close to family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Trip

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Nice area. Clean hotel. Pretty courtyard to view which I would have taken advantage of if I had stayed longer.
Cons: Room service!
Location: I used Ayres, Alpine as my base for a short weekend get-away. I went to Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall and then headed south to Old Town.
I just stayed one night in Alpine, but found the area to be nice and quiet. My room was pleasant and VERY clean. The Front Desk staff was friendly and attentive. I don't remember when I've ever had a call 15 minutes after check-in to ask how the room was and I appreciate that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A REALLY PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: What really made me rate it a "5" was the staff: delightful, helpful and very patient with our large family group.
Location: This hotel is very convenient to places to eat and shop, but is surprisingly quiet. It has a lovely serene garden hidden behind it with places to sit.
This was a very positive experience. The hotel has a cozy lobby, an outdoor spa tub, and an exercise room. The rooms are clean and pleasant. Light breakfast was available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tamara from CA

Loved staying here!

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Location: Viejas Casino
My dad recommended this hotel as we were going to Viejas Casino and didn't want to spend the money staying there. So glad he did! The hotel was VERY clean, nice staff and has an out doors-y, romantic feel to it. There's a pool, spa and lawn area with chairs, a pond and a BBQ. Great part is the free trolley they have from casino to hotel so there's no driving. The hotel is also surrounded by almost everything you could need.. From stores and banks to clothing shops. Definitely will be coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Octavio from San Diego

Nice mountain environment & close to a casino.

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Enjoyed the mountain environment and the feeling of being away from the maddening crowd. No skyscrapers to look to, no shopping closeby and noisy neighbors. Breakfast was good but I missed the scrambled eggs , hash browns and sausage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John Bennett from Albuquerque, NM

Close to family

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Breakfast has become mediocre but that is not why we were there. We have stayed several times before and are always pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carolyn from Dallas, TX

Good value; comfortable stay

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed overnight here for one night only during a road trip and had a very pleasant stay. This is the 2nd Ayres hotel stay that I've experienced. In both cases, the experience was above average for the price. The Ayres company does a great job with their decor by creating a theme in line with the local area that gives it character and sets it apart from the cookie-cutter look of most mid-range hotels. The king bed/bedding was comfortable, the room was quiet, and the service was excellent. We were greeted in the breakfast room the next morning by a very friendly attendant. The only thing I would change (or request be changed) would be the continental breakfast menu choices. The selection was heavy on high carb items and light on protein items (such as eggs with bacon or sausage). Also, we missed being able to add a little hot chocolate powder and/or flavored cream to our coffee. That being said, all breakfast items were of high quality and delicious and we appreciated the fact that breakfast was included in the price of our hotel room (along with free parking and WiFi). We will stay here again when passing through Alpine and will be sure to recommend this hotel to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com