Ratings based on 2,257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Winter Break in San Diego

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The location was PERFECT! We were withing 15-30 minutes of everything that we wanted to do. The suites were nice and roomy. Staff was excellent!
Cons: The hotel could use a remodel as far as decor and the fitness center could be updated too.
Location: Sea World is about 10 minutes away. Belmont Park that is just 5 minutes away. Beaches are walking distance. lots of food and coffee shops close by
We spent a couple of hours trying to figure out which hotel/resort to stay at and we finally decided on the Bahia Resort Hotel. I can't really say why we decided because in honesty I think it was just a name out of hat decision. We are certainly glad that we did. When we arrived, we found out that we actually had a garden view suite. Suites are great especially for extended stays because they allow you to live more comfortably. You can sit on a couch instead of a bed. You can eat regular meals as opposed to eating out all the time. The room was a second story room so we had a nice balcony to sit on at night to read. Many will say don't worry about the view because you aren't in the room that much. I agree. If you want to look at the ocean/bay here, they have several options available. Save the money on the room. The fitness center hours were 6:30 am which is late for me. I kindly asked the front desk if I could get in early and they said sure. Security let us in and we were able to workout each morning around 5:15. The fitness center could use some updating but it got the job done. 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, a recumbant bike, weights and a universal circuit machine. The grounds are very nicely kept, the hotel has a dated decor and could certainly be updated but most importantly it is clean and the staff are very kind and knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice hotel good location

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was friendly Good location Heated pool Hotel had a laundry facility
Cons: Room carpet floor can be cleaner. There were some dust on the corner of floor.
Location: Downtown & Airport within 15 minutes Old Town within 10 minutes Sea World within 5 minutes Mission beach walking distance
We stayed about a week. Here is my review of the hotel. Happy :) - Hotel location was excellent. It was close to the major attractions such as Sea World so we could easily drive to some attraction for short drive. - Hotel had a nice heated pool. It was nice to swim there. - Our room had a nice view of Mission bay. It also had a small kitchen and room was nice size for 3 people (my husband, I and a kid). - Hotel staff was very friendly. Sad :( - We could hear next room's people's conversation and even someone was using bathroom. If you are looking for nice family friendly comfortable low budget hotel, this hotel is for you .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lad Vegas

Great get a way

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We stayed only 2 nights but the get away from Las Vegas was great. The room was clean and comfortable The checking staff was was very professional and nice. Had a good time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Summerland, BC, Canada

Pleasant hotel close to the beach.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly, accommodating staff and a very pleasant room with nice access to the bay front beach area.
Cons: Our room did not have a table. We did not ask that one be put in, either, but that would have made our use of the room easier.
Location: The beaches and running trails were great. Easy access to public transit. Very close to Sea World.
The hotel gave us a complimentary upgrade to a bay front room and we had a very enjoyable stay. It is very close to Mission Beach and Pacific Beach with lots of running trails as well as ease of access to the beaches. We used public transit during our stay and the bus to Old Town transit centre stops right outside the hotel and made it very easy for us to get in to town to see the sights San Diego has to offer. We were treated well by the staff and our room was clean and comfortable. We would recommend the Bahia to those who want to stay closer to the beaches rather than being downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Great location with private beach.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel had many great things. Walking through the garden area, pool, hot tub, watching the resident seal, private beach, good location on bay.
Location: The location was perfect for us. A short walk to pacific beach.
We had a great time at the Bahia. My wife loved walking the beach every morning with her coffee. The resort had a great location in the center of everything we wanted to do. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The Boat they run back and forth across the bay was fun. It is free to hotel guests. Had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location and large hot tub
Location: close to beach and boardwalk, restuarants
enjoyed walking from hotel to beach or boardwalk daily
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a nice hotel located close to the ocean and Sea World.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Super friendly staff- close to beach and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Park City, UT

Delightful view with big patio windows

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: View, room size, kitchen, hot tub, shuffle board, proximity to beach.
Cons: Broader movie selection to watch on TV.
Location: We are there mostly to play on the beach and in the surf. We did do a sea cave kayak tour in La Jolla, which was fun and whale watching.
We really enjoyed the bay side wall of windows that let in sunshine and a fresh breeze. The room was a comfortable size and the kitchen was perfect for eating breakfast in our room. We took advantage of their large hot tub and shuffle board. The grounds are beautiful and maintained beautifully. We loved being able to walk to the beach and enjoy great nearby food (the california burrito at the taco shop, fish tacos at the sandbar, and frozen yogurt). We would enjoy coming back to the Bahia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch, UK

Ideal family get-away

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: See above and location, location, location!
Cons: Most of the reception and restaurant, cafe, bar staff seemed to be making a real effort to be friendly. Suspect this comes from the top down.
Location: Ideal location. Cycle around the bays. Long way but worth it. Walk N along Misson Beach pathwalk at sunset and get the No 8 bus back to the hotel.
Visited Mission Beach last year and stumbled upon Mission Bay - a real gem. Relatives recommended the hotel, and glad they did. It has so much to offer. Got a good room rate via Expedia. Deliberately chose a Studio room at the end of the penninsular to get away from a busy highway noise and traffic into/out of the large resort complex which turned out to be a good move. The room was spacious with excellent facilities. The kitchen was well eqipped but did not make full use of it. Joined by our (locally based) family in an adjacent room for one night. Parents, and especially the kids, just loved the wide range of on-site facilities available, most all-in with the price. They will definitely be back soon. Regretably, we have to return to the tail end of a UK winter, but look forward to returning next year.