Ratings based on 2,480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great stay, great staff!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
We had a lovely stay at the Bahia, The staff were accommodating even though the airlines lost our luggage. Great job Andy and Ian! Our room was wonderful, clean and the setting was great, facing the beach. Everyone was so helpful and we were only minutes from the ocean. We would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Outdated

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The location is nice. We were walking distance from Mission Beach.
Cons: The rooms and the outdoor equipment need updating. Plus the food was overpriced so we got all of our meals at local restaurants.
Location: Mission Beach is minutes away, the San Diego zoo is about a six minute drive, and you could rent boats, bikes and paddle boards at the hotel.
The cove was a great place for our young kids to play in the water and make sand castles. However, the beach chairs are very outdated and need to be replaced. We had to wait 30 minutes after our check-in time to get into our room and the beds were very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Nice place to stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location is prime if you are wanting to spend time in the Mission Beach area.
Cons: Parking wasn't the greatest and navigating the parking lot/gates wasn't easy.
Location: Located right on the bay; Swimming, fishing, kayak/paddle boat rentals on property... steps from Mission Beach (the actual ocean) and Belmont Park. J
While the hotel itself is older and even the hall carpets are a bit dated, the rooms are very clean, staff is super nice and helpful, you can't beat the location on the bay and only steps from the ocean. Great place with plenty of amenities, I didn't even know about.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Bahia on the bay

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We are a family of 5 and we picked the Bahia because they had a larger room with a kitchenette. This was perfect for us because we could have snacks available for the kids. That being said there were 2 double beds and a pull out couch. I thought this was going to be a good fit for us buy let's just say two average size adults in a double bed. ......a little too close for comfort. Even our teenage girls were a little uncomfortable sharing the double bed. The food was just ok at best and extremely over priced for what your getting. If you have a picky eater best of luck to you.....The menu is very limited and not able to be modified. eg, the pepper crusted steak cannot be made plain etc. Overall the staff was nice and the rooms, though in desperate need of updating, were kept clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redlands, CA

Perfect San Diego Location

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The location is perfect. I also liked having the small kitchenette for the grand kids.
Cons: N/A
Location: It is only 2 miles from SeaWorld and about 10 miles from San Diego Zoo.
The Bahia is on a beautiful property. Although it has been there a long time, it is well maintained. The view from our room was the SeaWorld light tree just across the bay. Great place to spend the week with family and see the sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice stay at the Bahia

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The Pool, Game room ( for the kids!) The beautiful gardens & scenery! The location! The Staff!
Cons: The sofa sleeper beds are MISERABLE!
Location: The Beach, The Coaster, Belmont Park, The Bay, Boating, Fishing, Water Skiing, Jet Ski, Paddle Board, etc
We have been staying @ the Bahia for years. Location is Awesome. Beautiful grounds. The price is Very high in the Summer season. We ordered a Suite with a Kitchen. When I was ordering online, the option was for 2 Queen Beds. When I got my confirmation, it said King bed with a sofa sleeper. I called the Bahia, and tried to change the reservation & was told they were booked solid. Upon check in, I tried again but there was no Queen rooms available. Bahia needs to upgrade those sofa sleepers! They were miserable to sleep on ( even for smaller Kids!) For the money they charge, they really need to make the optional secondary beds comfortable! That's my only complaint I've EVER had with this resort. In the future, I will only book 2 queen beds for my family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

the place is nice. We liked the beach alot

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: It is nice and clean. the beach is real nice
Cons: when reserving make sure you get what you want. We went through expedia
I reserved 3 rooms and wanted them all together in the middle ground floor 2 were but one was in tower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union City CA

hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We stayed in the ground floor room facing sea world across from the water and the beach. The resturant/bar is great , the complementry catamaran ride around the bay was awsome. We stayed for 2 nights and our primary needwas to visit sea world and the Zoo safari,Even though we are from the Bay area california the beach and the sea is so different and crystal clean, the water a little cooler for my comfort but managable. Overall the Bahia hotel is located is a prime area for those who enjoy the sea and all the sports that comes with it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice Family Hotel but not really a "Resort"

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Clean and Quiet
Cons: Room amenities. More accommodating front desk staff
Location: Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, Point Loma, Downtown San Diego
First the good news: The Bahia was very clean, very quiet and very efficiently run. The pool was passable, the grounds immaculate and the staff very polite. There are two rescue sea-lions which are entertaining over breakfast as well as Mallard Ducks which are total chow-hounds and which will literally come to your room to beg if you are in a ground-floor unit. The property fronts Mission Bay, is two blocks from Mission Bay Drive (Mission Beach and the roller-coaster at Belmont Park) and just a short drive to SeaWorld. The property is family friendly and, if my children were younger, I would put this at the top of my list for a place to stay - just to stay. The bad news: Our room was clean but small with exactly one mirror - in the bathroom. There was a counter outside of the bathroom near the closet under which resided a mini-fridge and waste baskets. The space above the counter was occupied with a vintage print of the Mission Beach boardwalk in the 20's. Perfect place for a mirror which would have added a whole lot of convenience. The food on the on-site restaurant was passable (only had breakfast) but nothing special. The advertised activities/water-sports were a bit misleading. For instance, if you want a jet-ski or powerboat, you need to go to an outside vendor about a half-mile away from the property and pay outside fees. The private beach is on Mission Bay. It's small (and narrow). While good for young kids, anyone older than 12 will be bored.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spacious suite

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The rooms were spacious and clean.
The size of the room was perfect for a family of 4. We've also stayed at another resort on Mission Bay, and the Bahia suite was much nicer, roomier, and less expensive. We would definitely go back.