Ratings based on 1,866 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
A little dated, but very nice location. The private beach is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Fabulous Gem On The Beach

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The staff was incredible. The amenities were fabulous. The location was spectacular.
Cons: The one thing that left something to be desired was the dining. It seemed a bit over priced for the quality and diversity it offered.
Location: Sea World and Mission Beach is practically within walking distance.
Recently we decided to visit San Diego for several days. We chose the Bahia Resort Hotel based on previous rave reviews, the private beach and the close proximity to Sea World. Since there were three guests in the room we chose to upgrade to a room with two beds. Upon arriving we were greeted by a sweet, bubbly, friendly face that informed us that we had been upgraded to one of their newly renovated suites,The Governor's Suite based on our preferences. The room was simply fabulous and the view of the bay was to die for. Soon after arriving, we had to be rescued from the balcony since my daughter accidentally locked us out of our room in her excitement by a handsome, brooding hotel security. Venturing out onto the premises we discovered, friendly, courteous staff members ready and willing to accommodate our every wish. The resort offers several attractions such as the Carnaval night on Thursdays, movie nights by the pool, and all sorts of water sports. The hotel offers a private driver ready to take you out anywhere you want to go for a nominal fee. The beach and the water beckons you. Overall my companions and I had a marvelous time at this beautiful gem nestled in Mission Bay. I would definitely recommend it. I just can't wait to visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very pricey for what you get!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Update and completely remodel original section.
Location: Beach activities and restaurants. Easy access to greater San Diego but traffic is terrible.
This hotel we stayed in 47 years ago and it hasn't changed much. It is very pricey for what you get but a beautiful place on the bay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Location,location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Well past it's prime. If it was $50 a night cheaper it would be a good value. Looking past the financials, it offered great access to Mission Bay with scenic views.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Good location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location, bahia belle
Cons: Our room could have used minor repairs. Long walk from lobby to back rooms. How about golf carts for rides? Boat shuttle all day to Catamaran
Location: Beach, belmont park, animal safari, zoo, great restaurants
Enjoyed our stay. Didn't really use any of the facilities. Pool was too crowded, seemed to be very family friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 13, 2014
This is a nice hotel that is close to the beach. When I entered the hotel room for the first time I noticed a musty smell, but by the next day the smell seemed to not be as noticeable. Also, I noticed some large dark spots on the ceiling which I believed to be mold I thought could have been caused by a plumbing leak from the floor above (could have caused the musty smell). The air conditioner was really loud which was kind of annoying. The maids cleaned our room daily and they did a very good job. The resort grounds and pool were kept very nice. We tried the the breakfast buffet one morning but felt it was over priced ($16 ea) and the food was cold. Overall this is a nice hotel, but I was expecting it to be a lot nicer for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.

Great location and access to beach and activities.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I enjoyed our stay although the room was a little outdated, it was clean. Hotel grounds are very pretty and kept up nicely. Nice breakfast and outdoor eating area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We checked in late in the evening and were disappointed with the location of our room - thought if would be ground floor garden and we were on the third floor with a "garden view." In the morning, we checked with the front desk about moving to a bungalow on the bay but no rooms were available. While walking around the property we noticed a set of rooms that faced a grassy area with bay access we inquired about moving and not only were we accommodated but we were not charged additional fees for the upgrade! Needless to say we were more than pleased - we cannot say enough about the desk clerk, Ariel, for all she did to accommodated us. All other staff we came in contact with was also very friendly! I would highly recommend this hotel for a great family friendly stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel With great views of the water

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location was great
We had a single story room right on the water. Our sliding glass door opened to a beach front. great breeze and great view. The room was nice size with a full kitchen!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Excellent hotel 3 blocks from the beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Beautiful hotel right on misson bay & 3 blocks from the ocean. Staff very friendly, beautiful grounds to include a rescued seal in her own pond, ducks swimming around in the garden area, free cabanas on mission bay beach, excellent food & a free boat ride on mission bay. This is one of the best places I have ever stayed.