Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wa

Loved my view and walking area.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I took my 87 year old Mom for A getaway. I came down from Seattle. I stayed here 8 years ago!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Sea World Reunion

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect w/ the Bay on one side and the Harbor on the other side. Free breakfast & happy hour every night w/good food & full bar.
Location: There is a beach, a park, walking trail & fishing pier right across the street. Lots of restaurants within a 5 minute drive.
We stayed for 2 nights. The view from our room was of the Bay. It was gorgeous. We spent a lot of time on the balcony watching the ships and boats go by. We also saw about 25 F-18's taking off throughout our stay which was wonderful. Go USA! The staff was very good..friendly and helpful. We had breakfast which was free and good and the happy hour was fun. Food and drinks 1/2 off and the view from the restaurant is of the harbor with indoor and outdoor eating. We had trouble with our shower or we would have given this 5 stars all the way around. We never told management about the shower so it never got fixed. The hot and cold was impossible to regulate. Although the bathroom was a bit outdated it had lots of counter space. There was also a fridge in our room which we weren't expecting. But the view says it all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your view and found our staff friendly and helpful. We only wish we had known about the challenges you experienced with your shower so we could have earned that extra star! We certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Cozy, Marina Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Beautiful view of marina from restaurant and pool deck on one side of the hotel and of the bay from the other side. Staff were very helpful.
Cons: We really enjoyed the whole experience.
Location: Beautiful walk along the bay. Watch the ships go by. Easy 10 minute walk to catch the bus and transfer to at Old Town. No need for a rental car.
Cozy, quiet, hotel. Across the street from beautiful walk along the bay. Close to bus line. We really enjoyed our stay. Complimentary breakfast was a real bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel cozy and quiet and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Ralaxing stay in San Diego

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
We really enjoyed our six night stay here in August. The location was excellent on Shelter Island. We have not stayed in San Diego before, so it is difficult to decide where to pick accommodation. Very pleased that we choose Shelter Island, very picturesque and we had a hire car so it was really easy to get to downtown. We requested a marina view room and were located on the upper level with excellent views. I think that the marina rooms have a better view than the bay view rooms because they generally overlook the car park. Room and facilities very nice. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, but thought the lay out was very odd. The Restaurant was an open plan design, through the lobby and bar area, with an adjoining bar eating area - the strange thing was that there was a door that opened onto the side of the pool. Whilst we were eating people were parading through the restaurant in their swim wear - very strange, something I would definitely not do when people were eating - they should have been encouraged to use the other two doors from the pool into the hotel. The buffet breakfast was adequate but sometimes they were slow replenishing the food. Even so, I would definitely consider staying there again if we visited San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C-U, Illinois

Shelter Island gem

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Inviting atmosphere and cleanliness.
Cons: Wish the bar wasn't open to the lobby so I wouldn't smell the bar liquor each evening when returning. However, it was very inviting.
Location: Located on the marina. Just a quick 15 minute drive to downtown in 1 direction and beaches in the other. Lots of restaurants close by.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean with comfy beds. Easy to find and close to everything we wanted to do. Ate breakfast by the pool each day and let the sunset each night in the same spot. San Diego is the perfect destination and this just made it one step better! Can't wait to return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gardena, CA

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We stayed in San Diego for 3 days. Hotel staff was very nice and accommodating during our stay. It was especially nice to have a hot breakfast ready every morning--FREE!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Everything else is good but horrible wifi connection at room. Should do something about it. Otherwise it's not a hotel to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La mirada, ca

Excellent bay view

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Excellent bay view and room was very clean... free breakfast... and very friendly hotel staffs. Lunch and dinner prices are not too expensive. .. me and my family really enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain view

Pleasantly surprised!!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Our family loved the Bay Club hotel! It started with a very friendly reception at the desk, The room was very clean and neatly decorated. Pool has a wonderful location and fun to listen to the concert at Humphreys! Happy hour by the pool was delicious! The breakfast in the morning is wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our recently renovated guest rooms! Many of our guests do indeed enjoy our Happy Hour and complimentary full hot breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Diego!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great location.....but!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location was nice and overlooked the marina, staff were friendly and helpful. However the hotel never really lived up to expectations and wasn't what I would have expected for the price paid and place just felt a little but tired. Breakfast was literally a scrum, service poor and everything ran out pretty quickly, saying that food wasn't up to much anyway. Overall wouldn't venture back.