Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa, AZ

Shelter Island relaxation

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Location: Easy access to many attractions and beaches.
The staff was great and all the amenities were all you could ask for. Its a nice quiet and comfortable place for a getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Good hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Good hotel, with great staff. The only downside, it is really showing it's age. Especially, in bathrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Temecula, CA

Nice hotel with a great view of the San Diego bay

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Great experience. Hotel staff was great from check in to check out. Free breakfast in the morning was delicious. Trying to get a waitress to bring coffee was difficult. New redecorated room was spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping was excellent and kept our room clean. Bed was super comfortable. I would stay here again without a doubt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very pleasant hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The location on Shelter Island was scenic and easily accessible.
Cons: Carpet was a bit tired, bathroom countertop was grouted tile, not too sanitary, in my opinion, although it was in good condition.
Location: It was built for strolling or jogging, picnicking, fishing, and just people-watching.
Bay Club has two beautiful sides, one facing the San Diego Bay and Coronado, the other the marina. The room was spacious and faced the waterfront park across the street and lovely sunrises. Breakfast was especially tasty: daily eggs, meat, potatoes, fresh fruit, cereals, juice, breads and great coffee - all included in the room's price. Even the budget room featured a tiny balcony with a chair. It was a very restful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Autumn trip to San Diego for a quick rain getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Clean neighborhood & hotel Convenient parking, reasonable proximity to highways Nice sized room w/amenities I like (king bed, AC, safe, fridge)
Cons: Cleaning staff friendliness Better quality control on breakfast served
Location: walked around shelter island Close to a couple nice bars great views of the marina, bay, navy airbase
Stayed for 5 nights in November at the Bay Club Hotel and Marina. Check in was quick and efficient. Front desk staff was friendly both at check in and when we stopped by for questions during our stay. Parking was convenient and while I hate paying for parking when staying at any hotel, the $5 daily charge was the most reasonable I have encountered. Nice area to stay (shelter island) near good restaurants and pleasing marina/island to walk around. Noise was a little annoying at times due to kids in hallways and low flying planes overhead at times, mostly in the mid mornings. Happy hour at the bar was nice and their bartender pours some good and strong drinks :) Appetizer specials were reasonably priced but delivery was slow despite a nearly empty bar. Morning breakfast was included and the quality, while better than the continental BF offered by big chain hotels, it was still a miss in my opinion. Coffee was OK, all the hot food was inconsistent - sometimes way too salty or cold, or both :( I would rate it better than average for included full breakfast, but would rather eat out and save a bit on the hotel rate. The cleaning staff was not very friendly, in fact we did not get an acknowledgement the 5 days we were there. No smiles, hello, etc. In contrast to everyone else working at this hotel, that was disappointing but didn't spoil our trip in any way. Overall, I would stay here again as the positives more than made up for the minor issues noted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: location, quiet room, cleanliness
Location: convenient to the beach, restaurants, quick drive to old town and balboa park
stayed 4 nites.. quiet , clean and excellent staff... only complaint was a plumbing problem reported to the desk as we departed..would do it again in a heartbeat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free breakfast

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Breakfast almost worthless. Very little choice. Overlooked scrambled eggs and a do it yourself toaster that is from the 1990's. Seems like they are desperate to save money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, Nv

Excellent Hotel with a Great View of the Bay.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Had a great view of the bay, I was on the second floor.
Cons: The only thing I missed in this room was a small microwave.
Location: Old Town, Coronado, Balboa Park, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and lots of beaches.
Shelter Island is quiet, with and an occasional airplane flying over. Loved the view of bay especially in the mornings when the ships were heading out. My first night there I was able to hear the sea lions. The following day went across the street to the bay and was able to watch a couple of sea lions play. Over all I would stay at this hotel again.. the staff was very pleasant and the beds were very comfortable..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hinton, AB

Fall Getaway

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Close to the water and within half mile of public transit.
Cons: Free breakfast was terrific, but hot items (bacon and sausage) were often cold.
Pleasant stay and staff was very polite. Breakfast was a bonus.