Ratings based on 972 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La mirada, ca

Excellent bay view

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Excellent bay view and room was very clean... free breakfast... and very friendly hotel staffs. Lunch and dinner prices are not too expensive. .. me and my family really enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain view

Pleasantly surprised!!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Our family loved the Bay Club hotel! It started with a very friendly reception at the desk, The room was very clean and neatly decorated. Pool has a wonderful location and fun to listen to the concert at Humphreys! Happy hour by the pool was delicious! The breakfast in the morning is wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our recently renovated guest rooms! Many of our guests do indeed enjoy our Happy Hour and complimentary full hot breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Diego!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great location.....but!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location was nice and overlooked the marina, staff were friendly and helpful. However the hotel never really lived up to expectations and wasn't what I would have expected for the price paid and place just felt a little but tired. Breakfast was literally a scrum, service poor and everything ran out pretty quickly, saying that food wasn't up to much anyway. Overall wouldn't venture back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Beautiful views

Posted Aug 3, 2014
I took my kids on a quick get away and so enjoyed waking up to the sights and sounds. We enjoyed being so close to the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Fantastic hotel with incredible views!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Location and service
Location: Great location on Shelter Island! Fishing and boat rentals nearby, easy access to downtown San Diego
Stayed at this hotel for Comic Con and had a great experience! All the staff are very friendly and helpful, the restaurant is delicious, and the rooms have just been recently remodeled. We had a balcony off our room that had views of both the marina and the bay! Gorgeous! We love Shelter Island and this hotel was awesome! We will be back next year to stay at the hotel for Comic Con!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jul 31, 2014
I would gladly return to this hotel. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great View From Room and SO Close To The Water!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfasts, accommodating staff, VIEWS!
Cons: Bigger parking places, more staff helping in the breakfast area, we really enjoyed Mariam!
Location: Great location to local attractions, SeaWorld and Zoo, harbor ships. Good restaurants in Point Loma. We enjoyed Cabrillo Monument & La Jolla drives!!
We were very pleased with the hotel for many reasons. Our room was a king with a pullout and was called a suite. It had the best views of San Diego, the water and passing ships and boats. Across the street was a great walking area which included some nice art work. The breakfasts were very good and staff was very accommodating. We asked about local attractions and they offered discounts on ticket prices. We enjoyed the location, which was convenient to all the attractions we visited, SeaWorld, the Zoo, Old Town, Harbor Ave, Downtown, and easy to drive a little further to the Universities. We did not use the local transportation since we rented a car, but trolleys and buses and pedal transports were very visible. Only negatives...parking spots are small, but we could always find a place to park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Orange County, CA

Shelter Island Respite!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Convenience (bar, restaurant, free breakfast that was pretty nice), accomodations, pleasant and helpful staff, ocean breeze.
Cons: We really didn't have any complaints about anything at this hotel. It was a short but very lovely getaway and we would definitely go there again!
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby, Point Loma very close, easy access to all freeways to take you to other areas of interest in beautiful San Diego!
We enjoyed a great 3 day stay at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina. We lucked out and got a room that was a little bigger than many due to being wedged into a corner area, which gave us a larger balcony overlooking the marina. Everything here was clean and felt luxurious. The staff were helpful and also respectful of our privacy (daughter wasn't feeling well and we didn't take the do not distrub sign off the door until the 2nd day to give her a chance to completely rest). Happy hour at the bar (M-F) was a great deal - we hung out there on a Thursday afternoon and had half priced appetizers (generously portioned) and drinks. When we asked if we could get a late check out on Sunday, they let us stay until 1pm instead of the normal 12pm time. Bonus: we could hear the concerts over at Humphrey's (next door) and enjoyed a bit of Ringo Starr on Saturday night. Not as good as "being there" but not bad for no cost!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca.

Far side of town

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The hotel isn't in the center of things (mission bay, downtown). The website pictures make the hotel look more grand which leads to a disappointing arrival. Hotel staff is nice. The breakfast is complimentary because nobody in their right mind would pay for it. We ended up eating breakfast elsewhere. The pool was nice and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach

Nice.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: View of parking lot.
Location: near marina and close to Old Town.
Our room over looked the park lot but the bed were comfortable. Nice location and the restaurant was good for nice, breakfast was just OK. Room was expensive for the second night .