Ratings based on 900 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great View From Room and SO Close To The Water!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfasts, accommodating staff, VIEWS!
Cons: Bigger parking places, more staff helping in the breakfast area, we really enjoyed Mariam!
Location: Great location to local attractions, SeaWorld and Zoo, harbor ships. Good restaurants in Point Loma. We enjoyed Cabrillo Monument & La Jolla drives!!
We were very pleased with the hotel for many reasons. Our room was a king with a pullout and was called a suite. It had the best views of San Diego, the water and passing ships and boats. Across the street was a great walking area which included some nice art work. The breakfasts were very good and staff was very accommodating. We asked about local attractions and they offered discounts on ticket prices. We enjoyed the location, which was convenient to all the attractions we visited, SeaWorld, the Zoo, Old Town, Harbor Ave, Downtown, and easy to drive a little further to the Universities. We did not use the local transportation since we rented a car, but trolleys and buses and pedal transports were very visible. Only negatives...parking spots are small, but we could always find a place to park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Orange County, CA

Shelter Island Respite!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Convenience (bar, restaurant, free breakfast that was pretty nice), accomodations, pleasant and helpful staff, ocean breeze.
Cons: We really didn't have any complaints about anything at this hotel. It was a short but very lovely getaway and we would definitely go there again!
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby, Point Loma very close, easy access to all freeways to take you to other areas of interest in beautiful San Diego!
We enjoyed a great 3 day stay at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina. We lucked out and got a room that was a little bigger than many due to being wedged into a corner area, which gave us a larger balcony overlooking the marina. Everything here was clean and felt luxurious. The staff were helpful and also respectful of our privacy (daughter wasn't feeling well and we didn't take the do not distrub sign off the door until the 2nd day to give her a chance to completely rest). Happy hour at the bar (M-F) was a great deal - we hung out there on a Thursday afternoon and had half priced appetizers (generously portioned) and drinks. When we asked if we could get a late check out on Sunday, they let us stay until 1pm instead of the normal 12pm time. Bonus: we could hear the concerts over at Humphrey's (next door) and enjoyed a bit of Ringo Starr on Saturday night. Not as good as "being there" but not bad for no cost!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca.

Far side of town

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The hotel isn't in the center of things (mission bay, downtown). The website pictures make the hotel look more grand which leads to a disappointing arrival. Hotel staff is nice. The breakfast is complimentary because nobody in their right mind would pay for it. We ended up eating breakfast elsewhere. The pool was nice and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach

Nice.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: View of parking lot.
Location: near marina and close to Old Town.
Our room over looked the park lot but the bed were comfortable. Nice location and the restaurant was good for nice, breakfast was just OK. Room was expensive for the second night .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

a little disappointing

Posted Jun 21, 2014
One of the room light did not work, and there was only one bath towel in our room. For me, it was not a cozy hotel, but like a kind of motel. Overpriced. But the breakfast was nicer than usual motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gwen from charleston,sc

good shelter island location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: the location was very good. room was clean with good access to parking underneath bulding.
Cons: breakfast needs work. food needs to be fresher.
Location: downtown SD and airport are 3 miles away. sea world and shopping mall are about 6 miles. walking area nearby plus good seafood at Mitch's close by.
this is well located hotel for access to airport and downtown and sea world and shopping. hotel building is older but is being modified. breakfast buffet was small and not worth it - very mediocre food, not fresh.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy bed very near Pt. Loma

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Sink had black debris when I entered room. Staff was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Washington

Central Location

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Central Location. Quiet.
Cons: Need a TV menu or guide of some kind. It was very frustrating trying to find a show to watch. Wireless connection was weak and kept disconnecting.
Location: It was very easy to get to Sea World, the Midway Air Craft Carrier, and Balboa park, though we did have a rental car to get there.
Oasis in the middle of the city. Very comfortable room on the marina side of the hotel was clean and very quiet. There was a concert at a nearby venue and we felt like we were at the concert, which was fun. The breakfast was okay, but pretty much the same every day, so we went else where on the 4th day. Food at the restaurant was good. Patio dining looks out over the pool and the marina. They were renovating part of the hotel but it did not affect us at all. There is a beautiful walking path around the little island and a sandy beach just across the road from the hotel. It was very easy to get to Sea World, the Midway Air Craft Carrier, and Balboa park, though we did have a rental car to get there. Wireless connection was awful, kept disconnecting, we finally gave up and just used cellular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View!!

Posted May 27, 2014
Great view of Marina. Staff very courteous. Very comfy bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel close to central San Diego

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Lovely location between the marina and ocean.
Cons: It was noisy in the dining room and bar during certain hours due to remodeling but that was temporary. It was a very comfortable stay despite that.
Location: The hotel is situated on a marina and a little drive from shops and restaurants, but is in a lovely location and has its own restaurant .
The day we arrived there was a lot of noise in the reception area due to remodeling. The staff were wonderful and gave us an extra nice suite. The room was clean and very comfortable. We had lovely views across the marina and it was very close to the airport and Downtown san Diego