Ratings based on 1,014 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location Location Location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: the helpful staff, the fabulous food, the views from both sides
Cons: nothing
Location: It is situated on an isthmus that affords views of the marina on one side and the bay/city on the other side. It is down the street from Harbor Island
The Bay Club was fabulous. From the front desk able to find a bay view room instead of a marina view to the delightful food and the friendly willing staff. I would definitely stay here again if I have another conference in San Diego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The hotel was amazing for the price and location. The staff was friendly, the free breakfast was wonderful and the beach across the way was pleasant and not crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Oct 16, 2014
The air conditioner in our room clanked when it turned on and off, but the wonderful bed completely made up for it. And we enjoyed the tub with jets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Good bay view, good location and parking, despite construction work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oslo, Norway

Comfortable hotel with fantastic location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: location, design, marina, close to the city, calm atmosphere
Cons: Some pensioners brougt their own Food into the restaurant, and drank their own beer at the pool. The hotel is a bit "tired" and need a facelift.
Location: We visited friends and did not do a lot of sightseeing, but belaxed a lot in the hotel.
We are a Norwegian Family of four who stayed for three nights at The Bay Club. Since we had limited time available in California, we looked for top rated hotels. We stayed at The Loews Santa Monica Bech, The Grand Californian at Disnyeland and then at the Bay Club. The Bay Club fully satisfied our expectations for a comfortable hotel. We were particularly pleased with the design and the location so close to the sea and the marina at Shelter Island. We used the swimming pool, had leisurely and lazy breakfasts overlooking the calm marina and went for strolls along the seaside. This hotel must be a well kept secret so close to the city and right at the waterfront. Thank you so much for making Our stay memorable. Mr. Arild Husefjeld, Oslo, Norway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location in SD

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Room, staff and location.
We had an excellent stay @ Bay Club Hotel & Marina. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly, helpful and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Loved this Hotel!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
We loved staying here! (Except for being placed in room 105, which has a hallway overhead which you can hear a steady thud in until 2 am on the weekends, not good) the location is perfect, right next to Hunphreys ( we had a free concert from Gordon Lightfoot as we say out on the patio by the pool in the evening!) Cannot say enough good things about the front desk staff, and housekeeping, and the Bartender! Great! There was an older security guard who was a little controlling as we parked, but other than than, excellent staff, and very helpful! The hot breakfast in the morning was a great bonus to staying at this hotel. Right on the harbor with beautiful views, across from the park at the waters edge, 10 minute drive from alm local attractions, but quiet at night! Beds ok for comfort, rooms need updating, but overall very happy with our stay, would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Had a great time. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was quite large. The bed could have been more comfortable, but we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wa

Loved my view and walking area.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I took my 87 year old Mom for A getaway. I came down from Seattle. I stayed here 8 years ago!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Sea World Reunion

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect w/ the Bay on one side and the Harbor on the other side. Free breakfast & happy hour every night w/good food & full bar.
Location: There is a beach, a park, walking trail & fishing pier right across the street. Lots of restaurants within a 5 minute drive.
We stayed for 2 nights. The view from our room was of the Bay. It was gorgeous. We spent a lot of time on the balcony watching the ships and boats go by. We also saw about 25 F-18's taking off throughout our stay which was wonderful. Go USA! The staff was very good..friendly and helpful. We had breakfast which was free and good and the happy hour was fun. Food and drinks 1/2 off and the view from the restaurant is of the harbor with indoor and outdoor eating. We had trouble with our shower or we would have given this 5 stars all the way around. We never told management about the shower so it never got fixed. The hot and cold was impossible to regulate. Although the bathroom was a bit outdated it had lots of counter space. There was also a fridge in our room which we weren't expecting. But the view says it all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your view and found our staff friendly and helpful. We only wish we had known about the challenges you experienced with your shower so we could have earned that extra star! We certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit!