Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very pleasant hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The location on Shelter Island was scenic and easily accessible.
Cons: Carpet was a bit tired, bathroom countertop was grouted tile, not too sanitary, in my opinion, although it was in good condition.
Location: It was built for strolling or jogging, picnicking, fishing, and just people-watching.
Bay Club has two beautiful sides, one facing the San Diego Bay and Coronado, the other the marina. The room was spacious and faced the waterfront park across the street and lovely sunrises. Breakfast was especially tasty: daily eggs, meat, potatoes, fresh fruit, cereals, juice, breads and great coffee - all included in the room's price. Even the budget room featured a tiny balcony with a chair. It was a very restful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: location, quiet room, cleanliness
Location: convenient to the beach, restaurants, quick drive to old town and balboa park
stayed 4 nites.. quiet , clean and excellent staff... only complaint was a plumbing problem reported to the desk as we departed..would do it again in a heartbeat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free breakfast

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Breakfast almost worthless. Very little choice. Overlooked scrambled eggs and a do it yourself toaster that is from the 1990's. Seems like they are desperate to save money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, Nv

Excellent Hotel with a Great View of the Bay.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Had a great view of the bay, I was on the second floor.
Cons: The only thing I missed in this room was a small microwave.
Location: Old Town, Coronado, Balboa Park, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and lots of beaches.
Shelter Island is quiet, with and an occasional airplane flying over. Loved the view of bay especially in the mornings when the ships were heading out. My first night there I was able to hear the sea lions. The following day went across the street to the bay and was able to watch a couple of sea lions play. Over all I would stay at this hotel again.. the staff was very pleasant and the beds were very comfortable..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hinton, AB

Fall Getaway

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Close to the water and within half mile of public transit.
Cons: Free breakfast was terrific, but hot items (bacon and sausage) were often cold.
Pleasant stay and staff was very polite. Breakfast was a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Girls getaway

Posted Nov 4, 2014
The staff went out if there way to ensure we had the very best experence. The view from the room was beautiful, the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. I will not stay anywhere else on Shelter Island. We will make this the location for our annual girls 4 days away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montclair, CA

Beautiful Picturesque Hotel in San Diego

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: The heated pool was a huge plus and the location
Cons: Free breakfast. The utensils were completely stained from the dishwasher, the man serving breakfast was super rude, runny eggs, under seasoned food.
Location: Bonfires across the street, boat rides, Sea World, Hodad's famous for amazing burgers and shakes in Ocean Beach, Bronx Pizza, parks, trails
Very pleasant stay! We loved the location. Close to Ocean Beach, Sea World, access to the freeway's, restaurants, and beach excursions. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. They have updated it nicely even though there are some older fixtures - no big deal. It's a smaller hotel which feels nice and cozy. There was a welcoming bar at the entrance and the best feature of all - a heated pool! My 4 year old son was in heaven! We were in the pool at night with the view of the boats on the marina in 70 degree weather and we were there again right after breakfast. We would definitely stay here again. Just avoid the complimentary breakfast. There are plenty of great places to eat around there, that would be more pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach

Fantastic hotel in a Great Location.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: the room was very nice as was the pool area and the complimentary breakfast was a step above the rest.
Location: San Diego
We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Everything from the entrance to the room was beautiful. The "beachy" feel with the nice view of the harbor made for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Was Perfect and In a Beautiful Location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location and Price
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Not my job
Staff was very friendly. The location was perfect for where I wanted to be