Ratings based on 871 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from Doncaster

Very good hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The room was large and excellently fitted with two small balconies and a view across the bay and out to the Pacific ocean. Helpfull friendly staff.
Cons: The included breakfast was very limited and was served at the buffet by a person who also had other duties so at times there could be a wait.
Location: Sea view and quiet location. San Diego zoo, USS Midway aircraft carrier, Shopping malls, Seaport village for souveniers
This is a very good hotel which unfortunatley was undergoing refurbishment in the reception area on our visit but it was still efficient and helpful. The hotel restaurant was very good and a reasonable price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A happy tourist

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Excellant location. Nice bed rooms. Comfortable bedrooms and wonderful service. Nice view. Wonderful meals. Confortable hot tub. Nice people that severve you. Nice pool. We stayed for the beginning of spring break with our grand kids and their parents. The hotel was perfectly located to airport, sea world, trip to Annaheim and return. The last few days were ideal for relaxation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location on the beach. Quiet.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: On the beach
Cons: Improve the rooms conditions. Updating the furniture and hallways would be an improvement.
Little bit of effort to go downtown by car everyday. Out of the way. Otherwise quiet place next to the beach and many restaurants. Nice walks on the beach morning and at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teri from Sequim, WA

Very nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: See above comments
Cons: They were in the process of remodeling the reception area and restaurant while we were there; we were told this should be completed soon.
Location: See top comments
We had a wonderful time at the Bay Club! The room was spacious, very clean, and tastefully decorated. We had a second-floor waterfront view, and got to watch Navy ships, sailboats and other watercraft in the harbor. Lovely waterfront strip park across the street, for walking a mile or less to the end of the "island" (really a man-made peninsula). There is a small playground a ways up the park. Shelter Island is ten to fifteen minutes from everything we wanted to do: Mission Beach, Old Town, Pt. Loma and the Cabrillo National Monument, and the Zoo. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, as well as the workout room, which overlooks the marina and includes several treadmills and elliptical trainers, and four weight machines for upper and lower body strength. The hotel has an excellent restaurant overlooking the pool and marina, and we received a discount on one of our meals. Breakfast is included in the room price, although we left a tip each day as there were servers at breakfast. In addition to the usual cereals and pastries, there were scrambled eggs, potatoes, and sausage or bacon each day, as well as fruit. Many other excellent restaurants and night life are within walking distance of the hotel, as well as marine-related shopping. The staff were always friendly and helpful, making sure we had all we needed. I would love to go back to the Bay Club!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The beds
Cons: service, noise, construction
Location: zoo, beaches
The staff were not friendly or accomadating. The bartender was awful and tried to charge us for as much as possible just to get a tip. There was construction that we weren't even aware of!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roxanne from Buffalo Grove,Il

SDSU college visit

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: They are undergoing reno as we speak
Location: On shelter island. across the bay. Military helicopters,huge ships,sailboats.We spent a lot of time at OB(Ocean Beach)
We got picked up from the airport complimentary. We arrived 4 hrs. before check in...no problem! We got a room...thanks Patti! We requested late check out...NO problem! Ryan was our really cool shuttle driver. Shout out to Mchelle and Ryan at the bar. Delicious, hot, complimentary breakfast every morning. Had a gorgeous view of the marina. Nice room,clean,comfy beds and linens,plenty of towels. Pool and hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from North Carolina

Great hotel located on the bay and marina

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The location - just across the street from the bay and great walking trails. Great view of the marina too. B'fast was awesome.
Cons: I think they are working on updating the lobby, but it wasn't in bad shape
Location: We did a lot -- we went to the zoo, we drove up to LA, we went to La Jolla (a must!), we did some local touring and we also visited wine country.
Great experience. Bought this through Expedia and didn't know what I was getting until the end of the deal. We were immensely pleased. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We moved rooms after our first night because of noise from the guests staying above us. Our next room was even better than the first and much quieter. The breakfast offered each morning was top notch - a hot meal (eggs, bacon or sausage and fresh fruit). Muffins, toast and cereal were available too. Happy hour with free chips and salsa and beverage deals was a great way to start the evening. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but only because we were busy doing other things. The menu was appetizing. I only gave the facilities a lower than 5 rating was because of renovation construction in the lobby. However, I never heard noise from this and the workers were always courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sherril from Seattle, Washington

Nice hotel and location.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location, clean spacious room, walk in shower.
Cons: Phone and light on the night stand were not working, but were fixed promptly.
Location: Walk the beach and have a lovely dinner at Humphrey's restaurant right next door.
We stayed here for the second time in the last three years. Enjoy the peaceful location away from the traffic and congestion downtown. Lovely room with updated improvements. It is lovely to be on Shelter Island with the marina and beach at your door step.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cecil/Jennifer from Alberta, Canada

Very clean and comfortable.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff and the room was clean.
Cons: Have a more comfortable chair in the room.
Very nice location. Had a room that overlooked the bay and it was great to look out and see the ocean. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay, Great Location

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Hotel was in a nice location along bay, amenities were short but only a couple blocks away from anything you would need. Room was spacious and view was great! paid a bit extra for a bay view and worth it.