Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by middle aged :-) from F

Not far from beach if you have a vehicle.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Clean. Good breakfast. Easy access to main hwys. Nice bed, cold pool, and hot tub. Will use again if we are in the area. Much cheaper than the ones on the beach too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay

Posted Mar 26, 2014
The hotel was perfect for my reason of travel. Lots of shops, restaurants, and mall close by. The room is outdated compared to other Holiday Inn's I have stayed at, but very clean.Hot breakfast is a plus.
3 out of 5
by Lady B from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel resembles a motel 6

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Hotel is just ok and really small, does not match up to other holiday inn express locations. Door to room had to be slammed shut in order for lock to latch secure. Dining area has potential to be a lot larger than it was, extremely small for several families in given time frame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lucy from Los Angeles, CA.

Comfortable and clean family hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The service was excellent. The breakfast was good and the area was clean.
Cons: The tables on the pool area were dirty.
Location: Target was close by. Also Trader Joe's and Barns and Noble among other stores.
I had a good experience in this hotel. When I checked in, I got a room with the window facing the freeway which made it a little bit too noisy. Immediately I went to the front desk to ask for another room. The person on charge, kindly gave me a more quiet room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Washington

Comfortable, safe, family friendly, reas price

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Free WI-FI, free parking, free breakfast every day, refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms. Coffee maker w/2 pkgs/day, balcony, quiet hotel
Cons: The TV - I wish they had Pay movies, or at least a menu or channel listing. But we always found something good to watch with the channels they had.
Location: Near Legoland, Sea Life Acquarium. Also only about 30 min drive San Diego Zoo Safari Park (better than the zoo!). Chuck-e-Cheese, Red Lobster
Not quite what I expected, but I looked at a lot of different hotels trying to choose the best comfort for our week long trip, without going too overboard on price this time because (I hoped) we would be out sightseeing during the day and not in our room that much. Our last hotel before this one was a Marriott in Universal City & this definitely was no Marriott. When we first arrived, I the hotel did not look nearly as nice on the outside as the pictures online & I wondered if I had made a mistake. However, other than that - & it was not as if anything was broken down or non-functional (it just wasn't luxurious) -everything was as advertised without any fine print (hidden charges), difficulty getting anything to work, etc. That is worth a lot! The free WI-FI worked all the time at good speeds. Free parking was always avail, well lit and felt safe. The free breakfast every day had some variety, was very generous in portion, & they even offered trays & bags so you could take more to people in your room who didn't feel up to the pre-9 a.m. trek down to the dining room. (I really appreciated that, as it is not always easy to get my son out of the room before 9, and I did not feel like I had to sneak breakfast to him.) This alone set every day up right for us. The hotel was conven located to many things. They had a food delivery service they coord with that made it feel like we had room service, & a generous sized refrigerator & microwave for leftovers. We were never hungry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close to attractions

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Low rates, breakfast (could improve on it but wont complain), large rooms with microwave and refrigerator
Cons: somewhat dated curtains, carpets etc
Location: quite drivable to Legoland - 10 minutes.
Decent breakfast but they ran out of boiled eggs two hours ahead of closing time. But nice staff. Hot pancakes and eggs/cheese omlette etc was welcoming
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Uriel from Hesperia, CA

Close to LEGOLAND.

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Close to LEGOLAND.
Cons: The parking was not that great and the front desk not being available 24 hours a day.
Location: LEGOLAND, San Diego Safari Park, San Diego Zoo is a little bit of a drive from there (30-35 miles).
We decided to stay at this location because it was very close to LEGOLAND and not a far drive to the San Diego Safari Park; San Diego Zoo was about (30-35 miles from there). The hotel staff were very friendly, but I did not like the parking situation. It was very compact and it was difficult to find a parking spot when you arrived in the late evening. Also, the front desk is not open 24 hours, so make sure you arrive before 11:00pm on your arrival day. Overall, it was a decent place to stay at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Su from SF

Clean and nice hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2013
We stay on the first floor with easy access to the parking lot, very convenient! But the people stayed above us was kinda noisy coz we can hear clearly their foot steps...the other funny thing is that our room's curtain can not be close!!! People in the parking lot can easily see our room through the big window!! But over all the stay was nice, and they offer free breakfast till almost 10am.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lights did not work. We books two queen bed and there were none when we reached. They upgraded to kitchen suite. But there were no cups/plates to be used in microwave