Ratings based on 1,289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Good value located well

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, good rate.
Cons: Better smelling cleaning fluids.
Location: The hotel is located very well, just 100-200 yards above Mission Bay. Many big attractions (Sea World, La Jolla, etc) are easy drive.
We arrived late in the day, the desk clerk was friendly and there were no problems with the reservation. We asked for a top-floor room (no footsteps above) and it was no problem. It is a motel with outside balcony and no view of the Mission Bay, but Best Western has done a nice job of renovating the old property. We had to open the door each day when we returned for a while to vent the smell of cheap cleaning solution. Being the slow season, the room was cleaned early and quickly each day, so when we returned at the lunch hour it was already made up. The hotel is located very well, just 100-200 yards above Mission Bay, which is a lovely park to walk thru. Many big attractions (Sea World, Fashion Valley, La Jolla, etc) are an easy drive. Generally it was a very good experience, a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom STL

The Gondar

Posted Dec 17, 2014
This is the best hotel for the price I like the stuff the hot tab and the breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2014 by Leidy, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us here through Expedia. I sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments to our hotel, price and breakfast. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Sincerely, Leidy Prado Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia WA

Convenient and comfortable " home away from home"

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort, friendliness of staff, convenient location, reasonable price
Cons: See above - guest printer
Location: Convenient to shopping, restaurants, I-5, beaches, downtown, and area attractions
My husband and I have stayed here several times over past few years as both of our adult sons and their families are now living in San Diego. It is comfortable and clean. Staff are friendly and attentive. Only minor problems with some equipment during stay, mostly no fault of hotel - problems with TV reception due to heavy rain and winds right before we arrive. Only suggestion would be that they buy a new printer in internet/computer area if they can't get ink cartridges for the one they have - this was inconvenient, especially since there was no sign indicating inability to print, but front desk staff printed our airport boarding passes and baggage tags for our trip home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2014 by Leidy, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us here through Expedia. I am delighted to read your comments and sincerely appreciate your wonderful feedback. I am so sorry for the inconvenience of our printers in our breakfast room. I would like to inform you that our printers have now been repair. I was happy to see our Guest Services Agent were able to assist you with your boarding passes. Once again thank you for your review. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Leidy Prado Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Blanc, MI

SD Mission Bay

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: More omelets, fewer burritos.
Location: All the really good tourist spots are really close -- Sea World, Balboa Park, Torrey Pines, Birch Aqm, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, waterfront sites.
This hotel is good although a bit tricky getting in and out due to cose proximity to I-5. Room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast ok. Nice variety but for those who limit carbs the the only choice was whatever eggs/meat was on the hot tray. Some mornings the eggs/meat choices were burritos (didn't like those) or Jimmy Dean bagels with egg, sausage and cheese (bagels tough to chew.) The mini cheese omelets were excellent. Coffee the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Best free breakfast
Location: Mission Bay, Sea World
Well staffed, clean, adequate parking, easy online booking, checkin and checkout
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious and didn't smell as much of mold as our last hotel. Breakfast in the morning is a good facility. Microwave and fridge in room helps.
Cons: Although the AC runs, but the room still felt stuffy as there is no cross ventilation. It would be good if something can be done about this.
Location: This place is close to sea world.
We had a good experience during our stay. We booked a two queen bed room. It had sufficient space for us, two adults and two kids. The room was clean and staff was friendly. It was a good value for money. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Leidy, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us. I am thrilled to know you had a wonderful stay and were happy with our rooms and service. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Once again thank you for your review. Leidy Prado Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Special event stay

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Decent amenities and friendly staff. We had to work around breakfast time restrictions due to our event schedule, but slept well and liked the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
The staff was very nice! My room was clean and the hotel itself is very conveniently located. It was only a 10 minute drive to downtown. My only complaint is that the dining room is very small for the amount of guests aside from this I had a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Leidy, Hotel Management
Happy Holidays!! I appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us here through Expedia. It is always wonderful to know our guest were happy with our hotel. I will like to inform you, we are currently in the process of expanding our breakfast room because of comments like yours. Thank you. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Leidy Prado Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Comfort stay in this hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The front desk staff is quite friendly. The facilities and condition of the room is in good working condition. I wouldn't mind coming back to stay if i happen to be around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N. California

Close to everything

Posted Nov 23, 2014
I've stayed at this hotel before and you can't beat the location for the price. It's just a couple minutes drive from Mission Bay, Seaworld, UCSD, Old Town, etc. Very convenient just off the freeway and across from Mission Bay. Complimentary breakfast was very good and they had two computers in the breakfast room so you could easily print you day's itinerary. Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Parking is horrible but there's a lot just a few steps away with plenty of room. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Will probably stay here again on my next trip to San Diego. Tip - Stay away from Tijuana, it's not what it used to be!