Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old... need update

Posted Nov 15, 2014
We spent 2 nights and we had 2 rooms. The keycards never really worked. The keycard reader on the door was jammed all the time, and the keycards for the other room kept not working. We had to come down so many times to have them re-made. Breakfast was pretty minimal...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vista ,Ca

Very nice and reasonable for Downtown.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Amenities
Location: Location is central for Midway , Little Italy , and San Diego Harbor.
The room was very nice , a little dated but extreamly clean and well appointed. Had a great hot breakfast . Staff was very helpful. Great shuttle driver !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Comfortable, near Bay and overall a great deal.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: It's location and it's value for the rate.
Cons: Extended room service hours.
Location: Very close to the Bay and the attractions at the Bay, as well as central to downtown tourist and Business events/venues.
It was a quick visit, but was very comfortable and a good value for the rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Position
Good position good restaurant. Very pleasant stay. Wish we had more time in San Deigo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Was close to other attractions - within walking distance.
Location: Zoo was not as close as we thought (within walking distance). We had to take the city bus.
The hotel and staff were very nice. We were able to check in earlier b/c our room was ready.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington New Zealand

Nice and quite. Handy to Little Italy.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
We had a view west toward the harbour and was high enough to (9 floors) see over neighbouring buildings. It came with a free breakfast we were not expecting. 2 and half blocks from trolleys to get to Gas Lamp and buses to zoo. A little pool in a shady area that the kids enjoyed. Overall nice. Friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mason OH

Clean hotel convenient to bay and downtown SD

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The entire hotel and pool were clean. The breafast buffet was substantial. . Airport shuttle both ways. Computer in the lobby for 24/7 use.
Cons: I heard a lobby upgrade is to be made soon to include a fitness center. The pool could be slightly heated.
Location: Great location on northern end of bay close to dowtown and bay area attractions such as Little Italy, downtown, Gaslamp district, Seaport Village.
What a nice surprise to arrive at BW Bayside and confirm the good reviews by hotel guests that I read before booking. This being a Plus rated BW adds a few features such as upgraded rooms and amenities including a free breakfast buffet each day. That gave an extra level of value to my already great room and airfare rates. I like to challenge myself with local public transportation. There was no challenge here from closeby trolleys and ferrys, pedicabs and gocars. I liked the built in bathroom exhaust system that operated automaticly. The bathroom appeared to be newly upgraded also. I called ahead to confirm a higher floor room away from the elevator with a bay view with front desk Horatio. That is exactly what I received. Kudos to all front desk staff for their low key and friendly manner. The restaurants were plentiful and wonderful around the hotel in Little Italy and along the bay. There was even a fresh market day on Sat am in Little Italy. Not far to Gaslamp district and Seaport Village for more shops and restaurants. Be sure to ride the carrousel at Seaport. I am not especially interested in the military and maritime hisory, but could not resist learning while touring nearby attractions. All in all, great rates at the hotel gave my travel budget a break so I could add a few extras like riding the Coaster to Oceanside and taking a tour of the coastline. I recommend this hotel to others looking for a geat rate and value without sacrificing the basics.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico city

Very good location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The hotel has everything to make your stay comfortable, breakfast included, excellent location, helpful staff, and nice and clean romos, the only but, is the condition of the hotel is a little bit old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We had a great family getaway. Location is prime. It was very easy to get around all San Diego.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2014 on Hotels.com