Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Position
Good position good restaurant. Very pleasant stay. Wish we had more time in San Deigo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Was close to other attractions - within walking distance.
Location: Zoo was not as close as we thought (within walking distance). We had to take the city bus.
The hotel and staff were very nice. We were able to check in earlier b/c our room was ready.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington New Zealand

Nice and quite. Handy to Little Italy.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
We had a view west toward the harbour and was high enough to (9 floors) see over neighbouring buildings. It came with a free breakfast we were not expecting. 2 and half blocks from trolleys to get to Gas Lamp and buses to zoo. A little pool in a shady area that the kids enjoyed. Overall nice. Friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mason OH

Clean hotel convenient to bay and downtown SD

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The entire hotel and pool were clean. The breafast buffet was substantial. . Airport shuttle both ways. Computer in the lobby for 24/7 use.
Cons: I heard a lobby upgrade is to be made soon to include a fitness center. The pool could be slightly heated.
Location: Great location on northern end of bay close to dowtown and bay area attractions such as Little Italy, downtown, Gaslamp district, Seaport Village.
What a nice surprise to arrive at BW Bayside and confirm the good reviews by hotel guests that I read before booking. This being a Plus rated BW adds a few features such as upgraded rooms and amenities including a free breakfast buffet each day. That gave an extra level of value to my already great room and airfare rates. I like to challenge myself with local public transportation. There was no challenge here from closeby trolleys and ferrys, pedicabs and gocars. I liked the built in bathroom exhaust system that operated automaticly. The bathroom appeared to be newly upgraded also. I called ahead to confirm a higher floor room away from the elevator with a bay view with front desk Horatio. That is exactly what I received. Kudos to all front desk staff for their low key and friendly manner. The restaurants were plentiful and wonderful around the hotel in Little Italy and along the bay. There was even a fresh market day on Sat am in Little Italy. Not far to Gaslamp district and Seaport Village for more shops and restaurants. Be sure to ride the carrousel at Seaport. I am not especially interested in the military and maritime hisory, but could not resist learning while touring nearby attractions. All in all, great rates at the hotel gave my travel budget a break so I could add a few extras like riding the Coaster to Oceanside and taking a tour of the coastline. I recommend this hotel to others looking for a geat rate and value without sacrificing the basics.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico city

Very good location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The hotel has everything to make your stay comfortable, breakfast included, excellent location, helpful staff, and nice and clean romos, the only but, is the condition of the hotel is a little bit old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We had a great family getaway. Location is prime. It was very easy to get around all San Diego.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MAC from Burbank

Great Location.

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great spot to stay! Walking distance to Little Italy, great restaurants and shopping. A short trolly ride away from Seaport Village and Balboa Park. Train tracks nearby can be a slight deterrent. ..if you let it. We did not. Slept right through it. Our room faced the harbor so we were treated to a lovely sunset each night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked a smoking room with a king size bed; however, when I opened the door to my room I was given a non smoking room with two full beds. I called the front desk about this mix up and was advised that this was all that was left. I asked why this was not told to me 5 minutes prior when I checked in? I was told, "oh I'm the one who checked you in I guess I just failed to mention that. " The hotel itself is nice. I had a nice view of the water from my balcony. Aside from the room mix up, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Nice hotel godo location

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Excellent location
Nice and quiet location, near trolley, Little Italy and maritime attractions. Staff very helpful. Will definetely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Pool and Free Breakfast

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything !
Location: Views of the harbour , in the middle of Little Italy and Gas Lamp Quarter
Great stay again , this was my 3rd stay here and still the best for your money. Rooms are a decent size , comfy beds , pleasant staff , clean with a great breakfast next door !