Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mason OH

Clean hotel convenient to bay and downtown SD

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The entire hotel and pool were clean. The breafast buffet was substantial. . Airport shuttle both ways. Computer in the lobby for 24/7 use.
Cons: I heard a lobby upgrade is to be made soon to include a fitness center. The pool could be slightly heated.
Location: Great location on northern end of bay close to dowtown and bay area attractions such as Little Italy, downtown, Gaslamp district, Seaport Village.
What a nice surprise to arrive at BW Bayside and confirm the good reviews by hotel guests that I read before booking. This being a Plus rated BW adds a few features such as upgraded rooms and amenities including a free breakfast buffet each day. That gave an extra level of value to my already great room and airfare rates. I like to challenge myself with local public transportation. There was no challenge here from closeby trolleys and ferrys, pedicabs and gocars. I liked the built in bathroom exhaust system that operated automaticly. The bathroom appeared to be newly upgraded also. I called ahead to confirm a higher floor room away from the elevator with a bay view with front desk Horatio. That is exactly what I received. Kudos to all front desk staff for their low key and friendly manner. The restaurants were plentiful and wonderful around the hotel in Little Italy and along the bay. There was even a fresh market day on Sat am in Little Italy. Not far to Gaslamp district and Seaport Village for more shops and restaurants. Be sure to ride the carrousel at Seaport. I am not especially interested in the military and maritime hisory, but could not resist learning while touring nearby attractions. All in all, great rates at the hotel gave my travel budget a break so I could add a few extras like riding the Coaster to Oceanside and taking a tour of the coastline. I recommend this hotel to others looking for a geat rate and value without sacrificing the basics.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico city

Very good location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The hotel has everything to make your stay comfortable, breakfast included, excellent location, helpful staff, and nice and clean romos, the only but, is the condition of the hotel is a little bit old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We had a great family getaway. Location is prime. It was very easy to get around all San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Nice hotel godo location

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Excellent location
Nice and quiet location, near trolley, Little Italy and maritime attractions. Staff very helpful. Will definetely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Pool and Free Breakfast

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything !
Location: Views of the harbour , in the middle of Little Italy and Gas Lamp Quarter
Great stay again , this was my 3rd stay here and still the best for your money. Rooms are a decent size , comfy beds , pleasant staff , clean with a great breakfast next door !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice central located hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Stayed in San Diego for 3 nights at this hotel. Staff were very helpful. Also clean rooms and had most amenities. Hotel was central downtown and was a short walking distance to all public transport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice but too expensive for quality.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable bed, good shower spray and nice city view.
Cons: Pricing is just too high for seniors or average income families.
Location: Near convention center, lots of shops and restaurants. I recommend Joe's Crab, Anthony's Fish and the Cheesecake Factory. The area is walkable.
Pros: BED, Shower Spray and View. Walking distance to water, kids park and restaurants. Cons: Cost for hotel and parking too high. (since it was a trip for my grandson's football, I bit the bullet). Hotel somewhat old but clean. Toilet was very low for a tall and over 60 year old (good for kids probably) Not much room for parking; especially to turn around to go back down. Doors were old and not well fit so noice came into the room. Phone wasn't by the bed. Complimentary breakfast food wasn't very good. Pastry was stale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Quite nice

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and breakfast was nice. We had small snag with the shuttle from the airport: we had called in advance to notify them of our arrival time, but when we called from the airport, they said the shuttle was busy and that we should just get a taxi and they would reimburse (which they did). Not a big deal to us, but the taxi driver sure didn't seem happy to give up his place for such a short drive. We also used the shuttle to get to the cruise ship terminal, this time with no difficulties. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maganda from Calgary,AB

This is a nice & comfortable hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Its proximity to public transportation & the pier. The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: We are very pleased with our experience in this hotel. We can't think of anything that we can complain about.
Location: Little Italy, Walking distance to the pier, park, seafood restaurant & battleship Midway
We stayed at this hotel for a total of 6 nights. The room is clean & the bed is very comfortable. It is in Little Italy so there are lots to see & do during the day & evening. It is walking distance to the Amtrak & Coaster station so it is very handy if you want to explore areas outside of San Diego. It is also walking distance to all trolley stop so if you don't have a car you can take the trolley to go to the Gaslamp area, Old Town, Seaport Village, Convention Center & Petco park. The staff in this hotel are very friendly & accommodating. The breakfast which is complimentary is very good. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant & the food was very good. If we ever go back to San Diego we will stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Paul L from San Jose, California

Good location by airport and port

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good location to see the downtown area and the nearby port, although I couldn't spend time to walk around to take advantage of it. Airport is just nearby so taking hotel shuttle is a good solution. The hotel staff is courteous and professional. I changed my trip plan so stayed only one night, instead of the original two. The staff was kind and did not charge me for the second night. Room and hotel is clean. Breakfast is served in a nice room, but the choice is somewhat basic. Parking is free but space between cars is tight, so if your car is of big size (such as a SUV), you should go to the top level of garage where space is more reasonable.