Ratings based on 1,998 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High expectations badly thwarted

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Obviously a nice hotel that aspires to top-tier status, but my one-night stay was riddled with problems, some of them huge. Most notably, I basically had no hot water the entire time and so could not shower. Also, the wi-fi signal was not reaching my room, so I could never properly use the network. Other smaller problems were less weighty, but still not what I would expect from a hotel so well reviewed by others. To their credit, the staff were uniformly kind and eager to help, and management was very apologetic and seeks to compensate me. Still, I cannot recommend based on this poor experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leicester, UK

Lovely hotel right on the sea front.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location was great right next to the sea with great views from the pier opposite the hotel of Navy ships and cruise ships.
Location: Balboa Park, national monument/ lighthouse on headland which was part of the navy base. Santa Fe railway station in downtown if you are in to trains!
We had booked the hotel for 3 nights (standard room) but on our arrival we had been upgraded for free to a larger room. The room was set up for disabled guests with extra hand rails etc in the bathroom but it was fine, the only downside was that the shower was not very easy to use by an able bodied person especially as I was 6 ft 4 tall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warwick RI

Very Nice Facility

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The location, the cleanliness and the pleasant staff.
Cons: The room # on doors should be larger. Even up close at night it was hard to read. Also, parking should be free for guests.
Location: Location is perfect! We enjoyed the Zoo, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter, Coronado. Nice road trip up to L.A. Next time, Little Italy and LaJolla.
Very nice place, clean, comfortable and affordable. But I should have chosen a room facing the harbor with view of Point Loma, as my brother did. His room was a lot larger with a balcony. Oh well, next time. Otherwise, it made for a great home-base. Breakfast was very good and wait staff was awesome and accommodating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta

Quiet hotel on the Harbor

Posted Dec 6, 2014
This was a nice quiet place to stay. The staff were very helpful with all our questions. Any concerns were dealt with quickly. The room had a few issues: screen door to balcony was hard to open; not enough hooks in the bathroom to hang things; tub faucet dripped continually. The location was far from downtown, so we needed to rent a car to see the touristy things, but it was very quiet at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Very nice stay!

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: The room was very spacey and had a nice view of the ocean.
We have a very nice stay at this hotel. We had a family emergency and the hotel staff totally worked with us (with a little help from Expedia :))
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford, UK

Comfortable hotel in a quiet location

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Comfortable. Clean. Friendly. Relaxing.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Short drive to local attractions. 20 minute walk to a good Thai restaurant and shops.
Very comfortable and spacious room. Nice to sit on the bacony overlooking the bay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canoga Park, CA

Parking on premises is extra...

Posted Dec 1, 2014
It was not until I was checking in that I was told about the $10.00 a day fee to park my car on hotel campus. I ended parking across the street which wasn't too bad but wish I would've known about the fee beforehand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sammamish, WA

Excellent location, clean and good amenities

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, the restaurant\bar and the pool\hot-tub
Cons: I would have liked the room to be a bit larger and the fridge to be a full size one, not half
Location: Excellent location, less of half hours from Coronado Beach, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo. There's even a small beach on Shelter Island!
We've decided to stay at this resort after I read quite a few reviews and I think they're right, this is an excellent resort. The location is very good, you are 34-50 minutes from LEGOLAND, and 20 minutes from SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, ... La Jolla Shores and Coronado beach are also in about 30 minutes drive. There even is a small beach on the island at 5 minutes walking, the kids had fun playing in the sand there in the mornings. The room was clean, but a bit smaller than what I was expecting. The pool and hot-tub were clean and really nice, the kids enjoyed them. We were very close to the pool and there was noise until 10PM or so, but on the other hand it meant that it was easy for us and the kids to get and out of the pool whenever we wanted. Overall, I think this is a very good resort and I would stay here again when visiting San Diego.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

空港から近いし、景色も良し

Posted Nov 27, 2014
休暇で2泊だけでしたが、レンタカーを借りていたので空港から近いしダウンダウンにもアクセス良好。十分満喫できました。また利用します。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel am Jachthafen

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Für einen Urlaub in San Diego sehr zu empfehlen. Wunderschön ruhig gelegen und kurze Entfernung mit dem Auto in die City.