Ratings based on 990 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boulder, co

Nice, clean hotel not far from attractions.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Bonus having a restaurant with live music just across the parking lot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno NV

Staff are Friendly

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel is nice and clean. Traveling with 3 kids (baby, toddler and a teenager) was hard but the hotel made it comfortable to us. We had everything we need from fridge to microwave to crib or extra pull out bed. All the staff was friendly and helpful. It was close to every place we wanted to go. From the beach to Seaworld to outlets or shopping center and restaurant. I would definitely come back here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good people, easy check in great parking lot good

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to get to confortable
Cons: Says it had a water view but did not
Location: the zoo, little italy
Had a good experience. The resturant near the hotel was very load and so so menu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Clean hotel with a great location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
We were there a family of four and the hotel was very clean and comfortable. They don't have a restaurant inside, but across the parking lot there is a great place for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Room/bath was very clean. Hotel was quiet and staff was most pleasant.
Location: Location was great. Close to downtown, beaches zoo, Coronado. Little farther to Safari Park, but easily manageable.
Easy on/off Interstate 5, eating spots, drugstore and Walmart within a few miles. Very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Decent, clean hotel only 15 minutes from SeaWorld

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, price, free parking, free wifi, refrigerator in room and safe in room.
Cons: Control on refrigerator and Keurig coffee makers in the rooms.
Location: 15 to 20 minutes to SeaWorld depending on traffic. Same to downtown San Diego.
Was looking for a decent hotel that was somewhat close to SeaWorld and had free parking and free WIFI. This one came up in several of our searches and had good reviews so we gave it a try. The staff was very friendly and we got checked in quickly. Our room was exactly as we had reserved and expected. No restaurants or lounges in the hotel but there was a restaurant across the parking lot. That said, recent reviews of that restaurant kept us away. There is an In and Out and a Denny's close by which is convenient. The coffee maker in the room is an old one. Was hoping for a Keurig in the room BUT they do have one of those in the lobby for guests. Just wasn't as convenient as having in your room. Liked having a refrigerator in our room but would've like to have a control to make it colder. LOVED that they had a free in room safe! It opened and closed by simply swiping your room key. Very easy to use and we were able to put our laptop, tablet, iPad, phones, leap pad, iPod, headphones, chargers and more in there. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I'm used to but we still slept well. WIFI worked without issue. Overall we had no complaints about our stay there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice hotel but location was a bit sketchy

Posted Jun 25, 2015
We went to visit San Diego the second week of June 2015. the hotel is in National City just south of SD. The hotel itself was nice with a nice pool area but the surrounding area isn't very nice. Although it looks close to the water on a map it is right next to the U.S. Naval base and is very industrial. Also, the pool and hot tub could have been cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location was pretty good.
Cons: The air conditioner in the room was a bit annoying. It was louder than you would expect and was constantly going on and then off.
Our family of four stayed here for one week visiting San Diego. Staff were friendly and we were able to check in a bit before the promised time as we arrived a bit early. Location was convenient for a San Diego visit, especially for the waterfront, ballpark, Balboa park, and convention centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Normal, IL

Nice hotel to stay

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Every thing!
Cons: The hotel doesn't provide breakfast but coupon for a nice restaurant next door.
This Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel is worth to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e

Definitely staying here again

Posted Jun 23, 2015
It was really clean and nice hotel staff was very friendly. I would totally recommend it(: