Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Imperial Valley

Home away from home.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Just the hotel I was looking for my quick, short, little getaway. Pleased with breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

too many hours and I needed to just sleep

Posted Oct 2, 2014
The personeel at the moment of the Breakfast were very nice and made sure that I had enough of everything before they closing the breakfast time. The breakfast was very good, they had 'chilaquiles rojos' and 'refried beans' so I thought was a good breakfast.. they had fresh onion and cilantro with it. The room was in good conditions. The only problem that I felt is that at my arrival the room was not smelling like fresh or so (it idn't smell bad or anything like that..) ; it was difficult for me to sleep and I wished I had a blanket with a fresh smell. Until the morning when I woke up, the room felt normal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Frustrating stay in Chula Vista, CA

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: It was the nicest of all the other Chula Vista roach motels
Cons: If a person requests a non-smoking room, give them a non-smoking room! And, they should ensure the sheets are changed
Location: Chula Vista is a "border town", near the Naval Base, so there is nothing to do there!
Booked a pre-paid room for three (3) nights via Expedia. Requested a non-smoking room and was given a smoking room instead. When I inquired about this, I was told that requests via 3rd party weren't guaranteed. I arrived to the room, turn down the bed and there were several hair strands and a couple dried stains on the sheets! The front desk did send someone with cleaner sheets. After my first night, I get an invoice under the door indicating I was to check out on Saturday (??). When I inquired at the front desk, turns out the guy who checked me in, late Thursday night, couldn't find my Expedia reservation, so he ran the credit card I submitted for incidentals, charged me for two nights on this card (after I had already prepaid through Expedia). Another employee working on Saturday, caught this mistake, and it took her 20-30 minutes to fix it, and issue a refund on the credit card I was using for incidental charges - but was told the refund would take 4-to-5 days to credit my account (???)... my stay at this hotel/motel was frustrating. But, if you are visiting Military personnel living in Chula Vista (as I was), this property is nicer looking and in somewhat of a better area, than many of the other motels there (Chula Vista does NOT have any nice hotels)... Couldn't stand the stale nicotine aroma in the room, all the mistakes were frustrating, and the loud guests passing in the corridor, at all hours of the night, were annoying!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.B

Comfortable

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Easy check in nice room and it was close to the amphitheater where we were going to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointing hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The hotel was close to the Sleep Train Amphitheater which was a positive for us on this trip. And the breakfast was pretty good.
We arrived to discover we had been booked in a "smoking room". We are non-smokers, and the room had an extremely strong odor. After some discussion with the desk clerk we were moved to a non-smoking room. Our new room was much better, however when we turned on the AC unit we discovered it had a pretty healthy drip out of it, soaking the carpet around it. The hotel was fully booked so we decided to not push our luck and stayed in the room we'd be given. We used the pool area once, but there were no towels. Overall, we expected more for the price we were paying for this mid-range hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The room was nice and clean, better than I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We stayed here because it is so close to Sleep Train Amphitheater. It was rather nice and comfortable as well as clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Avoid if you want to check in quickly!!!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Closest one to Sleeptrain Amphitheatre.
Cons: Check in!!!!!!!!!
Hotel was sold out for concert at Sleep Train Amphitheatre. Check in is at 3 pm. Got there at 2:40 & 2 people checking in ahead of me. Only 1 person checking in people while other was on the phone. Couldn't find my reservation I'd made in May, then found after 10 minutes. By the time I was done line was out the door & still only 1 desk agent. Put me in a room that reeked of smoke although my reservation was non-smoking. Couldn't do anything about it since sold out. Where was the Manager??? Why not have 1 person answering the phone & at least 2 others checking in when sold out for a concert??? Very disappointed in Best Western. I will not be back!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

San Diego quick trip.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Very nice hotel and close to the freeway. Staff was very helpful on getting us the room we needed on short notice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great place to stay for Sleep Train concert

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Very clean, great staff and most of all comfy bed! Enjoyed my staycation!