Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

As advertised

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Hotel was just as advertised on line. The outside of the hotel is a little dated, but rooms are newly renovated and clean. Right on beach. Parking was not an issue for us...if you go east of hotel across the main road, plenty of free street parking available. Might need to walk a few blocks, but nice to save the daily fee if you are not using your car frequently. Overall just like the pictures on line, and very convienient location right on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Spacious room and nice lobby
Many choices for dining, easy drive to top attractions, and a great beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beach.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: Door jambs were dirty
Location: Lots of good food in walking distance.
We stayed for five days in mid June. The weather was gloomy for a few days but beautifully cool. The hotel staff were pleasant. The room was comfortable, however there was no bathtub and the bathroom was tight. The maid service began before 9 am. The parking lot had very small spaces, good for a small car, but not for midsize or large cars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Evelyn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to better our services for future guests. With San Diego's "June gloom," coming to a close, hopefully we will see you again soon. Sunny thoughts, Cody Asselin - Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton, CA

Great location, minimal parking

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Check-in was easy. Parking was $18 per day for spots that were difficult to fit into (we have a Tahoe) and despite my husbands great parking skills, still took us a ridiculous amount of time to back in to spots so we could easily leave next time. Other parkers were rude and parked on lines or took two spots with seemingly no repercussions and there is no street parking. Outside of that, our room was clean, though small for a king side ocean-view. Porch was fantastic for people watching. We were gone most of time, so the small room wasn't that big of a deal. I think we paid for location, location, location!! We stayed 4 nights total and located close to some great eats (La Playa Tacos is a must! For breakfast and dinner!).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Micah, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. I'm sorry to hear you had such a difficult time with parking, but I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay right on the beach, on our little stretch of the California coastline. We take all of our guests reviews and use their feedback to better our services. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Cody Asselin - Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island ny

nice location

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: close to beach
Location: lots of places to eat close to shopping and things to do
very enjoyable had a great time would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay. The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests, so your feedback is welcome and appreciated. Please give us a call whenever you are ready to stay again! Sincerely, Cody Asselin, Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento area

Excellent hotel!! :)

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Wow! This hotel is right on the beach!! Amazing staff! Jeff and the girls at the front desk were amazing, they allowed us to check in 2-3 hours early. I booked a partial ocean view, but I literally had full view. Quiet and peaceful. I left my sliding door open night time and the Ocean waves put us to sleep. My room was beautiful and modern. The bathroom was small but everything else made up for it. Super clean hotel, bedding, everything was fresh and new. I felt safe and right at home at this hotel. My room for 2 nights cost about $450 with taxes but it was well worth it, especially to have ocean view. The hotel is walking distance to lots of restaurants, pubs, bars & some shopping. I just love this place and the area. I felt safe and everybody just seemed so happy and friendly!! I can't wait to go back. I highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sara, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received excellent service from "Jeff & the girls." When you are ready to stay again, please give us a call. Thanks again, Cody Asselin - Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Beach Hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Location: Many restaurants and bars with live music in many. Beach activities right outside hotel. Bay with SUP, kayak, etc. across the street.
The hotel room was ready when we arrived. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool facility fronts to the beach boardwalk. There was a keyed door that connects the pool and hot tub facilities to the beach. Beach and bay both close. Lots of great food within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Close to the beach

Posted May 25, 2015
We stayed in a king-size room with an ocean view. The paint and Decour was nice but there was rust on metal parts around the building with rust stains. It didn't affect our trip any. The elevator is a bit rough and we need to haul luggage up to the first floor use the elevator. The paint and Decour was nice but there was rust on metal parts around the building with rust stains. It didn't affect our trip any. The elevator is a bit rough and we need to haul luggage up to the first floor use the elevator. Staff was excellent. Parking was an additional $18.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the Beach

Posted May 20, 2015
The hotel is right on the beach! It has plenty of things to do walking distance and the room was adequate; We had a partial ocean view which was nice; The only compliant I have is the bathroom is tiny, and needs to be updated. Other than that it was a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nv

Nice views.close to restaurants. friendly

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: All of it especially the balconies
Cons: Room keys
Location: Board walk, shops ,the pier walking distance
It was very good. We did have issues with key hard, we got locked out our whole two day stay, so was a hassle to go in office every time. But staff was very friendly even the house keepers.