Ratings based on 1,879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Quebec

Hotel is nice.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: It was a good location and nice hotel.
Location: Walking downtown, great shops and restaurants.
Hotel was comfortable and staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel in downtown san diego/gaslamp quarter

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: very convenient location; comfortable room
Cons: more noise proof windows?
Location: horton plaza, gaslamp quarter
great location. very close to horton plaza. $28 for parking overnight. a bit noisy since my room is right next to the metro lane. but the hotel room itself is very quaint and comfortable. nice hotel over all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Very nice and good location. Bar area was closed due to private event. Room was a bit noisy from outside noise but they provide ear plugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our great location just 3 blocks from the Gaslamp Quarter. I realize that city noise can be bothersome for some guests, which is why we do provide ear plugs for light sleepers. Accommodations higher up in the hotel or on the east side of the building are less noisy if you would like to request one of these rooms on your next visit. On behalf of the Bristol Team, have a great Holiday Season and we look forward to your return visits. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

very cosy!

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Cons: Parking is horrendously expensive (27$)
Location: I took a taxi to the Italian district for a meal.
Reasonably well situated with only a 5 minute ride to the Italian or Gaslamp district. Very clean, helpful staff. Please note the rooms on the streetside are noisy. I changed my room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, Thank you for your review and for staying at the Bristol Hotel. I am pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our central location and enjoy a meal in nearby Little Italy! As you mentioned, we are also conveniently located near the Gaslamp Quarter. I apologize for the street noise you encountered and if you felt our valet parking prices were too high. Please know, we do our best to offer our guests the best possible value, which is why we have priced our valet parking between $10-$12 less expensive than our nearby surface lots or neighboring hotels. On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and have a Happy Holiday. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, NY

Gas lamp gem

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Easy place to stay in Gas Lamp San Diego. Walk to restaurants or short ride to beach, harbor, sea port village, midway museum. Hotel is renovated old world building with charming and modern design. Unpretentious and comfy. Very clean. Minor complaints like room set up, view, and poor shower water temp. Outstanding staff. Skip restaurant. Quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit. I appreciate your mention of our centralized location, which is an easy walk to the Gaslamp Quarter with all of its restaurants, retail stores and nightclubs, as well as Little Italy, the waterfront, Horton Plaza and more. I'm glad you were pleased with our charming and modern facilities, comfy, clean rooms and our outstanding staff. If you prefer a room with a view, please let us know and we will do our best to satisfy your request. Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit. I appreciate your mention of our centralized location, which is an easy walk to the Gaslamp Quarter with all of its restaurants, retail stores and nightclubs, as well as Little Italy, the waterfront, Horton Plaza and more. I'm glad you were pleased with our charming and modern facilities, comfy, clean rooms and our outstanding staff. If you prefer a room with a view, please let us know and we will do our best to satisfy your request. Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Nice but not among the nicest

Posted Nov 26, 2014
A good value, but some minuses: my room had no fridge, was located next to the loud hotel heating/ air conditioning system, and had noisy neighbors the first night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jerrie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for recognizing our great value! Refrigerators are available upon request and I apologize for your noisy neighbor; had we been notified of your displeasure we would have dispatched our security guard to have them quieted down. Thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your return visits. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

Clean Hotel Great location.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Great price for the location. Only a few blocks from everything. You can walk to the harbor, the gaslamp, and many other attractions. Good price and clean rooms. Only complain was no pool area. Or at least i think there wasnt one. I recommend staying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear L.S., I thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and for your nice review! I am glad you appreciated our great location which is walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy, the Convention Center, the waterfront and much more. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in what they do and your acknowledgement of a job well done will be passed on to them. I apologize that we do not have a pool, if we had the space we would love to have one! The communities of Coronado and La Jolla are nearby and their beaches are simply wonderful. Thank you for recommending our hotel, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your return visits. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: the location and the rooms
Cons: They need at least a vending machine,
Location: theater just in front, at dinnig just 3 blocks away, also good shooping at the mall crossing the street
Everything just perfect very nice rooms, free wifi, very nice staff, great location at downtown, fully recomended
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review and endorsement, it is greatly appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location, which is walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter and Little Italy. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our nice guestrooms and hotel staff as well as our great complimentary amenities including WiFi. Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your return visits. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Close to Gaslight District but not too close!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location to downtown San Diego
Cons: Fan needed in bathroom as ceiling had been damaged by shower steam.
Location: Gaslight, Coronado, Zoo. Many restaurants, little Italy area of San Diego
Friendly staff, nice room, choice of view room or a more quiet room was offered. Always nice having a robe and slippers. Nice touches in the lobby i.e. fresh flowers, candy in the room. Our room was red, black and white nice decor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why???

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Two bad things. 1. No receipt printed out even I requested when the check-out. (Staff said it will be coming through Web..) 2. Cab arrangement without my permission, which was personal car, must cost too much. (of course, I did not take it.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. Please allow me the opportunity to respond to your observations. I do recall a malfunctioning problem that we were encountering with our Registration Desk Printer and to avoid further delays for our guests, we opted to provide folios via e-mail until this was repaired later in the day. I apologize for the inconvenience. We have a very affordable onsite town car service and the prices are the same or in some cases, less expensive than traditional taxis. I am sure our Reception Agent was trying to assist you in the most affordable and courteous manner. On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel. Yours truly, Gregory T. Rizzi General Manager Bristol Hotel