Ratings based on 2,101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, friendly staff
Location: Gaslamp nearby for food and drinks, Horton Plaza for shopping, transportation very accessible.
This was my 2nd time staying here, and I was again pleased. It is a block from the Horton Plaza, 2 blocks from the Gaslamp district, and within walking distance of the harbor and San Diego Convention Center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: location
Great location. Close to the bay, USS Midway, entertainment district and shopping. Bus stops right around the corner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A., Fontana, CA

worst hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2015
This hotel was the worst hotel I have been in. The hotel elevators were broke and at about 11 pm the ceiling of our room started leaking. A maintenance man was sent in and stayed there fixing the leak until midnight (leaky ac). To top it off the ac was malfunctioning and when turned to cold the heat kicked on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2015 by Debra S., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused by the guest elevators being down during your stay with us. The elevators required immediate repairs which caused service to be stopped for a few hours that morning. I hope our staff assisted you to the available elevator during that time. I also want to apologize that your AC was not working efficiently and therefore caused more inconvenience to you. While I realize it may be too late to change your mind, I assure you this is not typical and if you find yourself traveling to San Diego in the future, please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to assist you with your reservation. Thank you and warm regards, Debra Sanderlin, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trevligt prisvärt hotell

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Trevlig personal, nära till det mesta. Mycket bra hotellrestaurang som är väl värd ett besök.
Trevlig personal, bra läge. Vi fick dock rum mot gatan och trafiken var rätt störande.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UCSD

Street noise

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Street noise continues through out night interrupts sleep. Air conditioner very silent, nice, but hard to tell if it was operating at first. Valet parking fee steep price at $26 per night, exclusive of tip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Mia, Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to receive a 4-star rating from you regarding your recent visit! We definitely experience some street noise due to our downtown location; the next time you visit, please ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, and that should help cut down on the street noise for you. We certainly understand that valet parking fees can add up during your stay, but please be reassured that we are significantly lower than other hotels in our area. I hope you will stay with us again in the future - we'd love to welcome you back! Warm regards, Debra Sanderlin, GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ

Good experience!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Decent hotel in a great area. Got there a little early since I received an email saying that I might be able to check in around 12, but during the drive there got an email saying that wasn't possible. However, was able to check in around 2 after sitting waiting at the hotel for a hour. This hotel has valet parking for a fee per night, but if you have a lifted truck (which I do) that is over 6'5, you might want to think twice. I had to park across the street for $34 a night. I wish the website would tell you this before you book so you are aware.. Room was alright, small as expected. Wifi was slow, don't use. And a trash can wasn't emptied. Little stuff. Overall, the staff was friendly and the location was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Debra Sanderlin, Hotel Management
Dear Casey, Thank you for taking the time to provide comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate you early for check-in, and I wanted to thank you for your feedback on the parking information. Thanks to your suggestion, we have updated our website to be specific about the clearance height to help our guests be prepared prior to arrival in case they have a larger vehicle or lifted truck. We are very glad to hear that you had an overall good stay and that our location was convenient for you, and that our staff was friendly. We hope you find your way back to the Bristol sometime soon as we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! Warm regards, Debra Sanderlin, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay at Bristol

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Stay at Bristol for the conference. Over all good experience. Staffs are friendly, room is clean and temperature maintains at comfortable level. Bathroom is a little outdated but meets the need. Hard to locate the room light switch. Needs disposable cup for coffee. But, all these are just my personal opinion to help achieve better staying experience. Over all, it was a good experience staying there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean place & hard bed

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Bed was very hard. TV channels on the low end where very fuzzy. Nice staff & clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear The Ed, Please accept our apologies for the discomfort you experienced with your bed and the challenges with some of the TV channels. We are checking the reception to ensure all channels are showing clearly. We strive to give every guest an exceptional experience, and we are pleased that our staff was helpful during your stay with us. When you have the opportunity to return, please give FIRST Avenue Bar and Grille a try. They offer great happy hour drinks and appetizers at terrific prices! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Great staff. Easy check in/out. Cute and clean rooms. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Bristol!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean but noisy room

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: cleanness, staff
Cons: noise
Location: close to everything at SD so so many opportunities.
with some reason rooms was very noisy from the street noise and next door people talking. I could hear everything from the door between room. Other than it was vey clean and nice staff, I enjoyed since it was close to down town and other areas.