Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Beautiful House.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This house is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Garden Room, and it was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. They give you no special treatment like some nice B&Bs, so I give it 4 stars for beauty and cleanliness. Pros: -BEAUTIFUL -Comfortable bed -Clean -Free parking in the parking garage across the street -Key card to get in at any time -Ask for the history of the house -Close to Balboa Park Cons: -Shower took a few minutes to warm up (but it did get hot). -Walls a little thin. I could hear conversations in the foyer (although I couldn't understand them clearly) -The piano was out-of-tune. It's just a decoration I guess. (++It's signed by a Steinway) -No free parking for loading/unloading. -Breakfast was disappointing---cheap continental breakfast. Nothing special. -No chocolates, no cheese hour, no fancy shampoo (big bottles of shampoo/conditioner)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
expedia needs to update the informaton. There's front desk for you to check in and free parking just across the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Beautifully restored classic Victorian facility

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Loved the setting, the porch and garden, and the generous sized, high-ceilinged room. Marne was excellent handling our check-in and explaining the intricacies of the garage parking in the office mall across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morro Bay, CA

Beautiful old home and gardens

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Beautiful architecture. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good housekeeping service. Very comfortable.
Cons: Include some black tea with your green tea. Add a protein item to the breakfast, like yogurt or hard boiled eggs.
Location: Balboa Park is 3 blocks away. Maritime museum is short cab ride. Several good restaurants within a few blocks, loved Cucina Urbana.
This beautiful inn has been thoroughly restored with attention to preserving the original craftsmanship throughout. Daniel at the front desk was a joy to meet. He was helpful with everything we needed...very attentive, was right there to open the door when we returned in the evening. Continental breakfast was nice but missing a protein item like yogurt or egg. We were given a bottle of wine at check out, very nice touch. Would love to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Cute and convenient.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
The location is convenient but more importantly is the establishment itself and staff were wonderful. A cute escape in a great city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Morris, Il

Our visit

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: There is nothing we didn't like.
Location: Balboa park, nice places to dine, Sea World
My husband and I were very pleased with the staff. They were very helpful with places to go, things to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The Best Kept Secret in San Diego

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
Our stay at Britt Scripps was nothing short of superlative. The inn is absolutely charming, and radiant with character. The staff are freindly and helpful. These, togeather with a prime central location minutes away from Balboa Park, the Gaslamp district, Seaport Village, and Coronado made our vacation a 5 star expereince. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Donna from Danville, Virginia

Wonderful Stay

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels
What a beautiful bed and breakfast with fresh flower arrangements, a yummy breakfast, a comfy bed, beautiful yard and within walking distance of Balboa Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

like walking back in time...beautiful place

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels
my daughter and I loved this B and B! I will always stay there when in San Diego. Absolutely the most wonderful experience! What a delightful stay. We did not want to leave. Ambiance was amazing. Food was fabulous.