Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm Springs

Outstanding B&B

Posted Jul 28, 2015
A historical gem which is beautifully decorated. Want to cone back and stay in some of the other period rooms. A great bargain for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Wonderful Historic Inn

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was awesome! Beautiful historic building. I trip back in time!
Cons: Nothing really comes to mind.
Location: Walking distance to Balboa Park. Short drive to downtown and waterfront.
I was looking for a nice hotel for a weekend anniversary trip to Balboa Park. I was thrilled when I found the Britt Scipps Inn and booked one of the upstairs rooms with a private balcony. My wife and I love old houses and this one is beautiful. The staff was exceptionally friendly and very accommodating. The inn is walking distance to Balboa Park and a short drive to the San Diego water front. The Inn underwent an extensive upgrade, but it was done very tastefully and none of the charm of the building which was built in 1887 was lost. We were very pleased to find that the room was air conditioned. The thermostat on the wall is the only indication and there was NO A.C. noise. The woodwork and stained glass are amazing and we enjoyed spending time just looking at the wonderful craftsmanship and detail that are long gone in modern buildings. If you're headed to San Diego and love historic buildings you're in for a real treat if you stall at The Britt Scipps Inn!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto/Stockton, California

A Unique, Unexpected Memory

Posted Jul 3, 2015
I never would have guessed that a traveler might find a place like this in an urban, commercial district. It is whimsical and truly a glimpse into a time long passed. The staff is courteous and engaging. My wife has serious knee issues, and Daniel moved us downstairs to accommodate the need. Parking is across the street in a garage, and ours was complimentary. The clientele is far from the typical patron of a massive hotel. I had lots of nice conversations. It's a house, so it's noisy and had no closets. But it is an experience unlike anything I've seen in San Diego. I'd do it again, no doubt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Beautiful House.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This house is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Garden Room, and it was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. They give you no special treatment like some nice B&Bs, so I give it 4 stars for beauty and cleanliness. Pros: -BEAUTIFUL -Comfortable bed -Clean -Free parking in the parking garage across the street -Key card to get in at any time -Ask for the history of the house -Close to Balboa Park Cons: -Shower took a few minutes to warm up (but it did get hot). -Walls a little thin. I could hear conversations in the foyer (although I couldn't understand them clearly) -The piano was out-of-tune. It's just a decoration I guess. (++It's signed by a Steinway) -No free parking for loading/unloading. -Breakfast was disappointing---cheap continental breakfast. Nothing special. -No chocolates, no cheese hour, no fancy shampoo (big bottles of shampoo/conditioner)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
expedia needs to update the informaton. There's front desk for you to check in and free parking just across the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Beautifully restored classic Victorian facility

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Loved the setting, the porch and garden, and the generous sized, high-ceilinged room. Marne was excellent handling our check-in and explaining the intricacies of the garage parking in the office mall across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morro Bay, CA

Beautiful old home and gardens

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Beautiful architecture. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good housekeeping service. Very comfortable.
Cons: Include some black tea with your green tea. Add a protein item to the breakfast, like yogurt or hard boiled eggs.
Location: Balboa Park is 3 blocks away. Maritime museum is short cab ride. Several good restaurants within a few blocks, loved Cucina Urbana.
This beautiful inn has been thoroughly restored with attention to preserving the original craftsmanship throughout. Daniel at the front desk was a joy to meet. He was helpful with everything we needed...very attentive, was right there to open the door when we returned in the evening. Continental breakfast was nice but missing a protein item like yogurt or egg. We were given a bottle of wine at check out, very nice touch. Would love to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Cute and convenient.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
The location is convenient but more importantly is the establishment itself and staff were wonderful. A cute escape in a great city.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ronald gene from fountain valley ca.

they cant all be diamonds.

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
the park was good,the hotel was a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott from Alberta

A great place to stay - sometime in the future!

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful restored historic house, real architectural gem (according to an architect friend who dropped in to see it as well!). Great value, unfortunately the staff are undertrained (not their fault) so there needs to be some work done there. Other unfortunate part was the hotel sits beside two large scale construction sites - it will be a while before peaceful enjoyment of the balconies will be possible. Good news was that the noise was shut down between 6 pm and 8 am daily. Minor hassle with the "free parking" - that applies during the day across the street in a covered garage from 8 am - 5 pm, but then cars can't be left overnight so have to move the vehicle to the street where free parking is possible from 6 pm - 8 am. Not much cost to pay for the 5-6 pm slot on the street, just a hassle. Overall, we enjoyed the stay, and it will only get better...