Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Waste of money.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Nice staff... and that's about it.
Cons: Quality and cleanliness of rooms.
Location: Mostly local own shops and gas stations.
The quality of this Inn was terrible, it should be a one star. The room itself was dirty, dust in the corners, paint peeling off the walls and doors, bathtub was yellow and disgusting, the towel rod fell off the wall when I pulled the towel off, the comforter was itchy and scratchy, and walking on the carpet with no shoes on made the bottom of my feet black. At least the staff was nice but that's the only good thing about this place. If I didn't already spent 126 dollars on this place I would've just went to the Holiday Inn down the street. NEVER AGAIN.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No frills, quiet, well priced

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. we've stayed at most of the pricier hotels on Shelter Island, some of which are not worth the much higher price. If you want to save bucks and only need a quiet room for the night this hotel a good budget option.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The room was appalling

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A total re-vamp. Also please change the photo and description on your web site.
Location: What was the main benefit of being close to the airport was totally invalidated, I would have preferred to stay at the airport ilf I was pre warned ab
The room was dirty, the bed spread and curtains were full of holes. The bed spread and blanket were full of cigaret burn holes. The carpet was stained and the lamp shades were crumbling and the light bulb was hanging out of the base. The 'continental breakfast' was warm coffee and stale pastries, there was no tea facilities or juice. Someone had punched a hole in the bathroom door. This was the worse experience in over 40 years of travelling the world.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Hotel room stunk like pee!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Our room stunk like pee. Which I let the people at the front desk know about the smell. I asked if I could just stay at a different room and he told me no. All he did about the problem was spray air refreshner which help for a couple of minutes but the smell came back quick.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a dive was very disappointed

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
It isn't anything like what the photos shown I made a big mistake booking a room there someone needs to go and review the place and see for themselves before the recommand it on Expedia!
3 out of 5
by Samson from San Diego

Bad staff

Posted Jun 9, 2014
There was a parade going on so a member of the staff informed us that we could stay until 12:15pm. At 11am, which is the normal checkout time, a cleaning lady repeatedly knocked on the door and I repeatedly told her not to come in because I wasn't dressed. She opened the door anyways. That sums up my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Point Loma, San Diego, CA

inexpensive, good neighborhood

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Location... cheap.
Cons: no screen on sliding door/ window.
Location: best Point Loma Location== good for guest/ visitors or residents of Point loma because the cost is reasonable.
very clean Bathroom.. Room did noT smell fresh. (( this could be a personal thing---i have a sensitive nose))
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Needed a place to crash

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: The family staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great neighborhood.
Cons: Room looked worn out.
Location: Marine oriented neighborhood with shopping and dining.
Got into town late and needed a place to stay. They had a room at a fair price. The owner waited for us to arrive and made sure we were comfortable before closing down the front desk. There are really no extras here and the rooms are ok. It is in a good part of town with much shopping and dining nearby. It seems to be a family hotel and the owners are very nice. I left a jacket in the room and a day later when I realized this, I made a call to the hotel. They checked with housekeeping and yes they had the jacket. Good people.
3 out of 5
by Mike from Palos Verdes, CA

Don't go for the breakfast

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: convince to SDYC
Cons: their advertising should represent what they truly offer
Location: Nice pub across the street
Room was what I expected. Had a frig, comfortable bed, shower and AC... However, there needs to be some standards in what hotels can advertise as breakfast. A coffee pot and one plastic container of Danish from the supermart is not breakfast. I was in town for a sailboat regatta and the room was fine. I chose this $80/night of others because it looked like they had "breakfast"...Oh well, live and learn - a quick call to the hotel before reserving would have had me in another location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Port Lavaca, TX

It served its purpose for what we were needing.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: There are a lot of places to eat close by that are cheap.
Cons: The parking garage is too small.
Location: I have never stayed in that part of town, but is was different.
I loved the location, as it was close to some good places to eat cheap. The only downfall to the place is the parking. It gets tight in that little parking garage. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful with anything we needed. I would stay there again.