Ratings based on 2,050 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Posted Oct 20, 2014
This is like an extended stay apartment style building, but a motel. Not good for little kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from camp pendleton

Nice size room, nice grounds, very outdated

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Most of the staff was nice but there were a few who were not very pleasant. The room was a nice size overall but was very outdated. Old furniture tiny tube tv decorations need to be updated. The grounds were very nice but with the hotel being so big it's hard to find your way around at first and to pick a door to go in from outside. Overall it's a nice hotel for the price and it's pretty close to a lot of places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great! Better than I expected by far!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
when we checked in the man at the front desk was cheerful, helpful,and overall fantastic. The hotel room was clean and tidy,the pool and hot tub were nice except that they close at 10 p. M. :-(.overall the place could use a slight facelift but the amenities were amazing. When I reserved the hotel I didn't even expect a fridge, stove, or microwave in my room and they were there, so that was a pleasant surprise. My biggest concern, was the shower pressure was terrible, and it kept going from hot to cold to hot to cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lousy breakfast

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Otherwise fine.
Cons: Breakfast
The breakfast had only bagels and Cheerios. No sweet rolls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Clean and comfortable for a cheap rate.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Location: Close to most everything via the expressways
This is an older hotel, the rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The room had a small fridge, microwave, hair dryer, tv. Close to all the major expressways. Many places to eat nearby. The downside, they have no free wifi, charge for it by the day which is $7.00, not a good deal by any means. Rooms a bit small but not that big of a deal. Could use new carpet in the hallways. Only one ice machine by the pool which is not convienent by any means. The coffe maching was or has been broken for quite some time according to the desk staff, so instant coffee was what they offered instead of getting a couple $10 coffee makers from Walmart or something. The variety of breakfast foods was decent, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereal. No jelly, bread, cream cheese, just butter. But hey I only paid $50 a night so it worked for me. Would I pay more, no way!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

inexpensive and convenient to many things

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The grounds inside the complex are nicely kept.
Cons: Contrary to what hotel signs state, people aren't stopped from smoking just outside their rooms, so on a hot day the smoke comes in your room.
Location: Close to supermarket, WalMart, some restaurants (even vegetarian half block east). About 12 minutes to downtown San Diego & airport, with good traffic
Choose your travel times carefully as the freeways become congested (particularly going north in the morning and south in the afternoon). The free breakfast had juices, milk, oatmeal, cheerios, bananas and white bagels for toast. A greater variety of cereals and bread would have been nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Good Location

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: price, microwave and fridge
Cons: No charge for wifi, Sheer curtains on the windows, so you can have the window drapes open, still get natural daylight, but not have people looking in
Good location for UCSD visiting parents. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly and attentive. Laundry facilities were nice, and more than I expected. Seemed a bit odd to have to pay extra for wifi access in this day and age. Decor is dated, but it doesn't really matter as a whole.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Modest Hotel at convenient location

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: It's old and not up-to-date thus needs some renovations.
Location: Balboa park, Embarcadero and Midway
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Location is central to city attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel, Friendly Staff, Great Location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: It had a great location and the staff were fantastic.
Location: It is about a 10 minute drive to most things, but I highly recommend Balboa Park and Bellmont Park (a small theme park)
On arrival at the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the complex was with a quirky feel and things such as a cute pond added to this. This helped me feel truley on holiday. The amenities were great with a good size pool and jacuzzi which were open lateish. The room was cozy and comfortable and had the basics needed. I found it really easy to drive to places close by such as Bellmont Park and Balboa Park. Overall I had a wonderful stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Worst of the worst

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: In all fairness, the pool seemed okay and the hotel was very close to the freeway.
Cons: Just knock it down and sell the land! It would be a win-win situation for the owner and the poor people who have to stay there.
This hotel was so bad I just had to leave a review, even though I never do this. As a poor student I have stayed in my share of low-quality hotels. And not even just in the US, I've stayed in crappy hostels and motels in Africa and South Asia as well. But, this hotel in San Diego was probably on par with the worst hotel experience you could find in a undeveloped African country. Absolutely horrible experience. I knew when I was booking that the hotel is going to be average at best (otherwise it wouldn't be that cheap), but I had no idea how bad it would actually be. Let's start with the front lobby which reeks with smoke because it is where you would find hotel staff smoking all night long (right next to their no smoking sign) and the homeless person's car parked right in front of the west entrance that is full (to the ceiling) with garbage and makes anyone passing by feel sick with its odor. The rooms are in a maze of planning non-sense. You will get lost in the unnecessarily complicated corridors of this hotel and end up in the mechanical room somehow! Then you have the room itself which was hideously dirty. The blankets and pillows were all stained and had hair in them and the towels had been used so many times that they were as rough as asphalt. And my favorite, the sticky TV remote.