Ratings based on 2,487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel near to seaworld

Posted Jun 29, 2015
clean and simple rooms with good breakfast. There are lots of restaurants right by the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The security and ourside. You could sit outside in a busier area and feel like you were in a secluded garden
Cons: Breakfast. A waffle iron would have been nice or a selection of pastries.
Location: There are plenty of local places to eat. Not much to do but plenty places to shop and eat
It is nice hotel with a local feel. The center of the hotel is open to the outside but gated for security. It is filled with local vegetation for a nice relaxing atmospher. The rooms have a kitchenette. Breakfast is simple bagel, fruit or cereal. Rooms were older but clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. Its located minutes from interstate and local shopping centers and lots of food near by. It is not in the heart of San Diego which we found nice but about 15 minutes from everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n

Sea world adventure

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Hotel is very close and convenient to zoo and sea world. They r in the middle of a remodel but do a very good job.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
It is a good hotel for the price I paid in San Diego.Old bathtubs and no free wifi was bad experience.Breakfast includes cereal,Apple juice,orange juice(mixed with water,lol),coffee,bagel,and fruit apple and oranges.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san fransisco

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Staff was rude & the room was not big enough for 4 people. The beds were small as well. Not enough towels were provided. The breakfast was way early in the morning - wish it run a little longer than the usually time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

California Suites-not what we expected.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Gardens, atmosphere, pool and hot tub, friendly people, cable.
Cons: Room and overall cleanliness, towels provided for pool, breakfast (if you can call it that), WiFi availability.
Location: Close to La Jolla and Downtown San Diego, close to Seaworld and Oldtown and Zoo, close to all attractions that one might travel to San Diego see.
This hotel was okay, and it was cheap, which I liked, but there were a couple things over all that were not just okay, but horrible. I was a little worried about the room cleanliness when we got there, but it ended up being average and was okay. However, the "continental breakfast" was the worst I have seen in a LONG time. It consisted of coffee or tea (which I don't drink), super watery OJ or apple juice, plain mini bagels, butter, and some bruised apples and oranges. So gross and we ended up having to spend money every morning to go out to get breakfast. There were also no towels provided at the hotel pool, and that was annoying, because we didn't want our beach towels wet for the beach the next day. Also, you had to pay seven dollars a NIGHT if you wanted any wifi, which was ridiculous. I liked that the hotel was only about ten minutes outside of San Diego and from La Jolla and many other attractions. It was in a good location. I did like the atmosphere with the fountains and the gardens between the rooms, and the maids were really on top of the rooms, but unfortunately, it just was not all that great. I guess you get what you pay for, right?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The worst hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Terrible
Cons: Change owner and manager
Location: not so safe.
I did reservation for one room with two beds 3 months in advance (via Expedia). Day before we called to the hotel and said them that we will arrive late. When we arrived at 10pm they did not have a room with two beds, only with one. But we had two adults and two kids. Then guy in the front desk said us that he can give us one roll bed (twin size). When we asked him when he will give us, he said that he does not know because he does not know where roll bed is. It was not funny for us at that time, because it was late and we had two kids in a car. Until my husband talked with this guy, I looked around. Hotel is very dirty and with odor smell in the lobby. Also he said us that there is no security on duty during night time. This guy could not answer any question. He just said "I do not know" Do not believe the reviews, the hotel staff were written it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

If your sole need is for inexpensive lodging...

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The price
Cons: Everything out.
Then this place is OK. Further, if you like the retro feel of a 1970s style room off of an interstate, then it is fine. My biggest complaint was the well meaning but inept front desk staff, who needs to realize that things like "wake up calls" and arranging transportation really are important for hotel guests. Otherwise, TV quality was poor...the internet didn't work my first night (and once fixed, they "censored" my own computer as to what I can watch), the parking lot was too small...I could go on and on. But again, room was relatively clean and the price was right. Express checkout? hahaha.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way too old of a hotel!

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Cons: Remodel is the only way.
It felt like you are in last century. This is a motel not a hotel. I don't have much more to add to this.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: nothing
this room is in the bad part of town don't look in the back it like u in the hood and also people is living there also and no elevator either and no breakfast only bagael will not go back