Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisko

Needs free breakfast and parking for this price.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Shower wasn' t working.Staff was friendly. No breakfast included and it should be since it's so expensive. Parking additional $20 + resort fee $20. Very close to beutifull beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Texas girls visit California Beach

Posted Jul 26, 2015
35 year mini class reunion, we only stayed one night and everything was amazing.From The staff in Valet parking, front desk, to towel boy and servers by pool, everybody was wonderful. We enjoyed happy hour at Chandlers. Enjoyed the sunset on the beach. Very family friendly. Will be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very nice place..... We actually forgot about home

Posted Jul 23, 2015
We had a good time at Cape Rey. I drank a lot of cucumber water in the lobby!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Beautiful Hotel, Perfect Location.....

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness, the location, and the atmosphere..... really nice place. And the SPA is really nice as well!!
Cons: Honestly, it is very hard to find something to pick at. I have no complaints.
Location: The Hotel is not close to the Village, however, they provide an excellent Shuttle Service. The Beach is right across the street. Great neighborhood.
The reviews were great, but honestly, my experience there exceeded my expectations!!! Everything I experienced was better that it was described in the reviews, and the pictures don't really do justice to the beauty of this place. I was very pleased with the staff, the facilities and the Spa. The Spa is not huge, but is extremely clean and very cozy. I had a Swedish Massage, and honestly, is the best one I have ever had, and I get them quite often at different places in Miami, Florida which is where I live. I am a very picky person, and really, I felt very good and very pleased with this Hotel in general. The Hotel is not close to the Village, however, they provide an excellent Shuttle Service. They also, have bicycles for rental and it is the perfect place for a walk next to the Beach, which is located across the street with very easy access. You can watch the Sunset while walking on the Beach. What a Beautiful Place to relax and enjoy a nice vacation!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Worst resort we have stayed at with respect to customer service. Had to move in the middle of the night because air conditioning was making loud noise. Very very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Lovely! Great Staff! Across From the Beach :)

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, room
Cons: Nix the resort fee
Location: Beach, water sports, dining, shopping, golf, etc. Close to San Diego attractions.
Kate and Gray at the front desk were super friendly and helpful. The concierge was too (can't remember her name). Comfy bed and very clean room. Food was good at restaurant. Recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Nice modern hotel, "deluxe ocean view" overpriced!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
I paid more than $600 (including all the fees) for a deluxe ocean view room. The property is well set back from the oceanfront, looking over Pacific Coast Highway. See photos. My view was of a campground that not at all scenic. While you do get to see plenty of coastline, far more prevalent is the noise of the road and the view of the ugly campground. This is maybe worth $350 a night in peak season, but not 600+ dollars per night. The hotel is self is nice enough, and very modern.also, be aware that they will put these on everything and if you don't complain, they will seek to maximize profit at every turn. Example: A friend called to the hotel and bought me a bottle of wine in the restauran for my anniversary. Of course, they marked the bottle up by about 100%… This is to be expected at a nice restaurant although unfortunate. However, without giving me any options to retrieve the bottle, they charged me a delivery fee, a 20% room service charge, and added a line for a tip on the receipt! To their credit, after I complained, the restaurant manager said he would remove the fees. But he said in defense that "all restaurants and hotels to do this."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Hollywood, CA

Beautiful view of the beach...

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Had an amazing stay ... the walk across the street to the beach was great ... the kids loved playing in the pool which is very kid friendly and heated too for swimming after the sun goes down .... we will be coming back!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena Ca

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Nice hotel to relax and do nothing. Good location too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The GATE

Posted Jul 7, 2015
It was a great stay overall. They just need to fix the SLAMMING of the pool gate!!!