Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saint paul, mn

Posted Sep 15, 2014
View was fantastic of the ocean and beach. Great sliding glass doors allowed for a great view and great breeze. Nice kitchen and eating area, plenty of space to entertain or have medium sized group. Building very secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Comfortable Condo with Great View and Location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Great view and easy beach access
Cons: We happened to stay during a week with unusually warm weather and could have used some air conditioning, but we know it normally won't be needed.
Location: There are lots of good places to eat nearby. You can see Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, Crystal Pier, and the edge of La Jolla from the condo.
We were very happy to stay at Capri by the Sea and would defintely stay there again. We were assigned a condo that was even bigger than expected which was a pleasant suprise. The facility is very secure with parking. It had a great location and even better views. Some other reviews made some negative comments about Capri by the Sea, but it seems that they might not understand the difference between a hotel and a condo. If you are looking for a condo, you won't be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jusn capistrano, ca

Great ocean views from every room.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location to the beach and friendly staff.
Cons: Water situation listed above.
Location: Enjoyed having a Ralph's grocery store nearby. Visited cold stone for a treat and a breakfast place within walking distance. Close walk to the pier.
pros: Loved the ocean views. Large living areas and bedrooms. Excellent kitchen accommodations. Many extras included for fun on the beach (shovels and pails, bogey boards, umbrellas etc). Cons: we had 4 rooms and 2 of them were on different floors. Security only allows you to go to your floor so there were many times when we had to meet in the lobby in order to go visit each other's room. The biggest drawback of the week was that the water was turned off for 8 hours one day (to fix the boiler) and on our 3rd day there, the hot water was not working for the whole day. Very disappointing for a resort next to the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Run Down

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Paint peeling. Holes in walls. No air conditioning. Kitchen hardly stocked. Microwave and dishwasher did not work. Asked twice to have it fixed. It was not. Laundry room smelled terrible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great place, right on the beach. Stayed here b4

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Love Capri by the Sea. Will not stay anywhere else when we visit PB. Love that Kono's is walking distance . We were there in July it was a bit crowded. We enjoy PB in October better. Our init could use a bit updating and it was very dusty. But all in all it was clean. This was our 3rd stay at the Capri.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristie from Phoenix

Great view & location but that's about it

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want to be oceanfront, have a great view & have a parking space then this place is great!!! Unfortunately the rest of this facility has so much to be desired. It is very run down & dated. If you are staying for less than a week you have to pay extra for cleaning services & provide your own toilet paper. It is considered to be a "condo" not a hotel but if you can book through hotels.com & other chains I would have expected more than 1 roll of toilet paper for the 5 days we stayed. Besides the fact they advertise on the website as being a "resort". The staff was very distant & aloof. The ceilings are cracking as well as many areas around the baseboards. It was old and run down which is so sad given the views & location. The furniture was quite worn & the bedding was very old. Also, the pool is not on property. It is about a block down past some other residences. As I stated earlier, if ocean views & location are what you are looking for this place is great! If you want a clean, more updated establishment than this is clearly not going to work. It is definitely not a resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James B. from Aptos

Broken sofa bed

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon pulling out the sofa bed, we discovered that one of the legs was broken. We decided to just pull the mattress off and put it on the floor to sleep. It was so lumpy! Our girls ended up sleeping on the floor with the couch cushions. The next day a queen size blowup mattress was delivered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by james from portland or

Condo hotel so condition varies by room.

Posted May 18, 2014
Beautiful view and great location. Room was not clean and furnishings were aged. One maintenance issue took 5 days to resolve. Not a huge problem but should be better.
2 out of 5
by Jessica

Dirtiest family vacation ever

Posted May 17, 2014
Wow, this place had a lot of potential. We paid for the premium unit which could have been amazing with the view and location...except the place was filthy. I have never stayed in a place that was that dirty. We called the front desk to politely complain but they acted put out that we called. They sent someone up to clean and she showed up several hours later with ONE rag and no cleaning products. After she left we felt like we needed to go to the store and buy something to clean it ourselves. You might think we are just picky, but let me give you some examples of what was going on here and you can decide for yourself: 1) the bathrooms literally had hair on the floor, toilet and counter tops from what I assume was the last 3 visitors. 2) what appeared to be half a dozen dog accident stains on the carpet in the living room. 3) a film of dust on every surface The kitchen was nice and the place was big, but just not enough pros to justify spending a week in filth, especially considering he cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dane from Texas

Awesome room, amazing view!

Posted May 11, 2014
This hotel is a compilation of privately owned condos, so the rules (and potential fines) kinda made it feel like I was staying at someone's place who didn't really want me there. But it was still super fun and the room was amazing!