Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Spokane, Wa

Just ok

Posted May 13, 2012
It was ok for the price. Room smelled musty and was a bit outdated. The breakfast was just OK for a bed and breakfast as well. The rooftop view is awesome however and the firepit up there is amazing at night. I wish it was open past 10 pm though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Not a comfortable hotel for business.

Posted Aug 29, 2009
(Let me preface this with: I live in a beach community so I am quite aware of mildew.) The hotel is in downtown Encinitas-good location. However, the rooms are old, they smell old and like mildew, the bed is okay, the tv is an ancient 20" screen, and the desk and chair looked and felt like they were from the turn of the 19th century. There was no coffee until 7:45am and no blow dryer in the room (you have to wait until 7:30 when the front desk person arrives). If you are going to pay this price I would recommend staying somewhere that was more modern. Out of the 3 front desk individuals I encountered, the 2 older individuals were professional, but the younger girl was rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great for a weekend getaway

Posted Aug 5, 2009 on Hotels.com
Great location and ambience for a quick weekend away from home. We stayed in the Southwest room which had a great ocean views and a huge whirlpool tub right in the middle of the room. Overall all the room was clean, the staff attentive, and the experience was great. Only negative was a bit of late night noise from a bar next door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Disappointing

Posted Jul 29, 2009
Room decoration is out dated; the airco makes a lot of noise and was lacking water, the bed was small and the room had a high humidity. Breakfast is poor; all the muffins were all ready cut in two pieces! ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice oasis in a sea side town

Posted Jul 17, 2009 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful time during our stay. The staff was very nice and the view of the ocean was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

It's alright

Posted Jun 3, 2009
The view was great from the rooftop and it was within walking distance to the beach, great restaurants and bars. We were disappointed with the breakfast. Basically my boyfriend and I were so disappointed that we would go elsewhere for breakfast. Other than that, not a bad place and everyone was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2009 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Perfect location

Posted Dec 2, 2008 on Hotels.com
The best thing for us was the location - near family and an easy walk to the beach. Also near a supermarket - another easy walk. The bedside lights in our room were not very good - one really could not read by them. The breakfast had good fruit and cereal but the pastries were too greasy and too saturated with sugar. The rates are pretty high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Best Kept Secret: On the Strand

Posted Oct 14, 2008 on Hotels.com
The wife & I will return again: We walked too the best know resturants in the area with no effort. SunSets on the Pacific while eating at the waters edge What-a- picture.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Encinitas, CA

Very short on the Breakfast part

Posted Jul 23, 2008
The hotel accomodations were cozy and the roof deck landscaping and panoramic views were excellent. We were not very pleased with the skimpy breakfast selection, even skimpy by Continental Breakfast standards. It was coffee, OJ, milk, one cereal, hard boiled eggs, a few danish cut into pieces to look like more. Acceptable at Motel 8, but dissappointing for a B&B.