Ratings based on 1,327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to Legoland and the beach

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: We loved the location! It's a five minute drive from Legoland and the beach. Also, premium outlet stores and restaurants are across the hotel.
Location: The hotel's proximity to Legoland, the beach, shops, and restaurants is a major attraction. My family will definitely stay here again.
My family and I had a very pleasant stay at Carlsbad by the Sea. We enjoyed the pool and complimentary breakfast. Our room was clean and beds were super comfortable. Nice hotel for families with young children.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth $300.00 ¬ close to a 3 star rating

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: All the above
The king bed mattress was lumpy and slumping. It was a ground level room and there was a gap under door wide enough for a rodent or snake to get into the room. There was mold in spots around bathtub. No caulking at base of bathtub leaving yellow line visible. There was a $3.00 charge for a small bottle of water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, CA

Great hotel location close to LEGOLAND.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: It was close to everything, including walking distance to the shopping outlets.
Cons: Breakfast is included. Wish that the breakfast options can be greater.
Location: Great location to go to the beach, LEGOLAND, and shopping at the outlets nearby.
Great hotel with pool, and shuttle available every 15 min. to LEGOLAND.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modesto, ca

Great location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Great location just a few minutes from legoland. We enjoyed the pool, the room was clean, and breakfast was perfect for what our family enjoys. The resort is in walking distance of shopping and several restaraunts and a short drive to the beach. We would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mason, OH

Comfortable and clean

Posted Jul 25, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at CRBTS. Clean rooms. Good Pool. Close to beach and shopping. Quiet. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
really like that there is a fridge and micro. so handy when traveling with little ones
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manteca

SoCal vacay near the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Pool decently warm/clean - nice padded chairs/loungers. TGIFridays connected to hotel but over-$d. Beach is near but not waling distance across frwys
Cons: PAINT PAINT PAINT! And renovate the entire property. Very outdated and rundown...maybe improve breakfast food too. Alright but could be better.
Location: Walk across st. to Outlets; Beach is near but go early for close free parking; S. Diego is 20-25 mins. down PCH/Hwy 5.
Flower Fields? None. Don't go in mid-July, I guess. Outlets? Okay, I guess. Nothing compared to Gilroy Outlets we're used to! Free buffet breakfast? Meh. Came from Hamtpon Inn in Valencia/Santa Clarita (Magic Mountain) & nothing compares! Carlsbad makes egg & cheese omelets like at home (cheap - bleh). No bacon, ever. Just a cheapy sausage patty. No pancakes or waffles. Sad fruit selection and no oatmeal "toppings". But hey, it was FREE, right? Orrrr, was it "built in the hotel room price?" - Yep! Hotel needs a PAINT JOB, like baaaad! Blue??? Oh my.... please, paint this puppy tan/off white with a sandy/brown trim and paint all the trim/gates, etc. same brownish. Will look like a new hotel overnight. Rooms are dated too. Needs a renovation terribly!! Let down after Hampton Inn!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice room, kind of overpriced

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Good resort, but felt that it was overpriced for what you get. Breakfast was good, but same thing everyday, you'd get bored after 2 days. Nice location, close to legoland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: Please see above.
This hotel is in a very convenient location. . .near Legoland, the Flower Fields, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and the beach. However, one of the receptionists checking people in had an attitude and was not very pleasant,; however, since we were there for an entire week, we did meet several staff members who were much friendlier, particularly a gentleman who appeared to be the grounds supervisor. Nevertheless, the hotel is very tired looking and could use a coat of fresh look. Due to its prime location, the hotel needs do a complete overhaul in order to justify its prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Convenient hotel in walking distance to Outlets

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Staff, pool, location
Cons: The view from our room. When we opened the door, we were looking at the large pipe/tank area. Maybe they could cover that up with some trees.
Location: Shopping at Outlets, Leogland, restaurants
The front desk staff was great especially Jess. The location of the hotel is 2 miles from LEGOLAND & walking distance to many restaurants. The pool was perfect for kids. The breakfast area was packed & the food was just ok, but FREE.