Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad, CA

Nice, but there are better options in the area.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The area and outside is nice, great location. Inside lobby nice. Once you're in and a registered guest, all bets are off.
Cons: See overall experience. Need better staff and hotel oversight. Poor reflection of management.
An overall very average stay. We went to research the hotel to see if this is a good option to direct business associates, family, and friends when visiting the area. I would determine that it's not. There were a few areas of concern, but three stand out the most. 1) The attitude of the front desk staff was fairly polite, but condescending. It seemed like the owner or manager hired their kids and kids' friends to man the front desk. They acted like it was a privilege to stay there, instead of being privileged to have us as guests. Very obvious this area needs major retraining. 2) Room was "upgraded", but several things were wrong, mainly the heat. We opted to deal with it since we didn't want maintenance there at 1030pm. The room was semi-clean, but looking closer, counters weren't even wiped off of dust, dirt, stains. Door sticks (making loud noise), carpets not vacuumed. Bathroom had feces odor the entire time, with no one using the bathroom. 3) Upon checkout, we told the front desk about our experience, and we were met with hostility. The manager didn't come out to speak with us, a major error for a hotel manager. We were made to feel like we didn't deserve to be there, and "so what?" if we had problems. The most perplexing point is that they want to market this property for timeshares/vacation ownership! Are you kidding????
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle,WA

Housekeeping?

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping and have evening coffee.
Location: Beach, shopping, restaurants.
Hotel is great and location. Housekeeping has issues, they didn't get to my room till 4-5pm. Many times they would knock on my door when I had the privacy sign up. One time it was to give me a oven rack that they took and cleaned. I took it from her at the door and noticed the oven ready had a rack, so she was at the wrong room. They just keep yelling, HOUSEKEEPING, HOUSEKEEPING, HOUSEKEEPING, even with the privacy sign up. They use the same elevator as guest and they hold it up with their carts. 9 times out of 10 I took the stairs. So the elevator is useless for customers. They stuck a notice on my door to check out the next morning except I was paid up for 4 more nights. Again, the wrong room. The lobby should have evening coffee. The coffee in the room was undrinkable plus they never replaced it after the 1st day. And we were there for 7 nights. So I had to get my coffee from the lobby (morning) and take the stairs with hot coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Get their attention first!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Grounds are enjoyable and adult hot tub was great.
Cons: Faster room service. Website seems to indicate hotel is on the beach but there is a street and row of houses between the hotel and beach.
Location: The breakfasts at the Daily News Cafe were great.
After a few days of disappointment and a talk with the manager, things got better. So, it seems you have to get their attention and let them know you expect some service. We stayed a week and only after my chat with the manager did we get our room made up on time. The first day we had the great Keurig coffeemaker but no cups; the second day we had cups and no coffee. They were very late making up our room the first couple days and on the third day we were gone from 9 am until 3 pm but we had no room service upon our return. That's when I chatted with the manager and made them notice us! After that, they tried to make up to us by putting cute little animals made with towels on our bed every day! Yeah, they were delightful, but we would have preferrerd good service during our entire stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom København

Rigtig gode lejligheder lige i "smørhullet"

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Beliggenheden kan der ikke klages over - gåafstand til restauranter, indkøb m.v. og næsten på stranden. Gratis solsole, parasoller, cykler gør ikke oplevelsen ringere. Vi havde en fuldstændig nyistandsat 1 bedroom condo med delvis havudsigt - helt i top. Dele af anlægget er under renovering p.t. Swimmingpoolen er lidt underdimensioneret.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great hotel. Perfect location, very close walking to distance to beach, dining, shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're thrilled to learn that you found our location conveniently close to all the attractions you visited. Come back soon! Randal C. Chapin General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Goodyear, Az

Great location

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice facility. Only complaint was that the entryway to convo was about 3 in. High so my husband had to phydsically lift my electric cart over the entry because there was no ramp. Rest of condo was handicapped friendly with grab bars, etc. loved the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Relaxing stay by the sea.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the beach was great, the staff were friendly and the amenities around the location were plentiful.
Cons: The air conditioning unit was stressed in maintaining a cool environment which is likely a result of the age of the unit.
Location: Right in the middle of Carlsbad shopping where boutique stores and non-chain restaurants offered a break from the mundane food choices.
We had a very pleasant experience with personable staff and a location that proved ideal. The facility is clean, for the most part quiet and in an ideal location for shopping, the beach and restaurants within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities well-kept and clean. We also hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another great time. Randal C. Chapin General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by craigfrom fresno ca

annual getaway

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is very good! Close to the beach and restaurants! I was given the same room as last year go figure..And this was my second time staying..I go to Carlsbad the same time every year..The staff is very good!! I would stay again but would ask for for a different room that doesn't look out over the street!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by Randy, Hotel Management
Hi craig, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're thrilled to learn that you found our location conveniently close to the beach. It is also great to hear that you will be returning for another visit, please reach out to our front desk so that they may provide you with a different room. See you next year! Randal C. Chapin General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by BBYfrom Alexandria, VA

Ideal location in Carlsbad

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The beach is a short walk across the street. There are 10 good restaurants within 2 blocks of the hotel. This is the best location in Carlsbad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Randy, Hotel Management
Hi BBY, Thank you for reviewing your stay. It’s great to hear that you found our location one of the best ones in the area. We are also glad you were able to explore all the nearby venues. Come back soon for another great vacation! Randal C. Chapin General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PEORIA, ARIZONA

wonderful hotel by the ocean....beautiful views

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION.....GREAT CONDO
Location: SHOP. EAT, RELAX ON THE BEACH, WEATHER
IT WAS GREAT FROM THE VIEWS, CLOSE TO RESTAURANTS, WEATHER MARVELOUS...PLAN TO RETURN NEXT YEAR
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back next year! It is great to hear that you had such an amazing time here. Till next time! Randal C. Chapin General Manager