Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The hotel is close to beach and walking distance to shop and eateries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monarch Beach, CA

Disappointed

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything.
Location: Exceptional location near the DM Village and plenty to do nearby. Good destination, lousy hotel.
A run-down hotel in a great area. The price for value ratio was out of wack. I expected much more in a $300 room. The furniture has taken a beating and is nonsensical pertaining to style. That place is a cash cow for sure. To sum it up, I went to a snack machine with dollar bills and a credit card, only to find that it would take coins only (machine had to be circa 1980). Good location but the building is in need of a teardown. I could go on and on but I'm sure that the parent company is unwilling to invest in this property. If the price were right, I would turn it into a trendy place with some updating and new service philosophy. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great surprise we found very quaint and winderfu

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Great little hideaway very close to s very cute little area. It has wonderful little shops and great restaurants!! More like alittle bed and breakfast type place. Found it to be charming would definitely return!!! Would also recommend for comfort quiet and comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jorge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew from Boston Ma

Loved everything !

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the location and how everything was within walking distance . The decor of the inside and outside was very nicely done and the shower was the best part ! We'll definitely be back here in a couple of years
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stratford,ct

within walking distance of beach,restaurants

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: overall vicinity
Cons: bistro should be open for lunch
Location: beach & restaurants some shops
pleased with staff,cleanliness & local-David Gardiner is the best! Very helpful-deserves a raise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gerard from Tampa

Heaven in Del Mar

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the hotel and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and location

Posted Apr 4, 2015
We had a great stay, room was big, the bathroom was amazing and the staff was always willing to help. The ladies at the bistro are awesome. Thank you guys, keep it up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2015
My family and I chose to stay at the Clarion over the L'auberge where the rest of our family was for a wedding. I was surprised by the amenities offered at the Clarion and how clean it was. It looks like it was recently remodeled and is kept well. The pool area was nice and quiet. The bistro was nice, although we only had the coffee. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We had an issue with an unnecessary charge that was resolved in a timely manner and handled with great communication from the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice location - High Enough price for the service

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: We liked the location in Del Mar. There is an ocean view, but it's fairly limited. The room overlooked the parking lot.
Cons: The men at the front desk were not friendly at all. There were 2 lovely ladies who tried to be helpful. The door sticks on the closet.
Location: Quaint area within Del mar...beautiful views of the Ocean a few minutes walk.
The hotel is a bit old, but quaint. The restaurant service was poor...only open a few hours a day. there is a library and limited computer access for internet. The men working the front desk definitely need training in customer service. Their answers to our questions were non-informative and curt. Del Mar fortunately is a beautiful spot. We did find a glass with a horrible lipstick stain on it, and the front desk said that was unfortunate...but did nothing else to compensate us. Although in a beautiful location, I would look for another hotel.