Ratings based on 1,966 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Downey

The hotel needs bigger breakfast room

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: close to the most attractions
Cons: bigger breakfast room
Location: We went to San Diego Zoo, and Balboa Park.
We stay there for 3 days, but the time for breakfast was kind of hard because every morning was full. We decided to go late morning about 9-9:30 am and that works better. However it makes our daily activities to be move.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and super convenient location

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Location Continental breakfast Excellent staff
Cons: Lack of counter space to put toiletries, etc. Elevators didn't always work properly
Location: San Diego Zoo (8-min.) Sea World (10-min.) Airport (15-min.) Cruise ship terminal (10-min.) Old Town (3-min.)
The staff at Comfort Inn were all very friendly and helpful. The morning continental breakfast was the best we've ever had at an inn; lots of selection and a comfortable seating area (all located on the top floor of the hotel). The location was convenient to everything we wanted to see in San Diego and this saved us much driving time. Highly recommended for families visiting the San Diego theme park & zoo attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

Very noisy.

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice
Cons: They need more staffing to control the noise and monitor the buffet
Location: Very poor location. There are no restaurants or shops within walking distance. The nearest food or shops are a 5 minute drive away
So much noise in the hallways it was hard to sleep. The breakfast buffet was a nightmare, people everywhere. There was only one employee trying to keep things clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Convenient to the airport and SDSU.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: You should have recycling bins in the rooms or at least in the lobby.
Location: Our daughter attends SDSU so this is a good location when we visit.
Nice room, pleasant and helpful staff. Very good location. Free parking would be nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Cucamonga

Nice hotel close to everything!

Posted May 17, 2015
This was a nice hotel. Everything that we were the for was very close. We will definitely stay there next time we're in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, but you can't breathe in it!

Posted May 12, 2015
My family stayed here for three nights, and there was very little sleep to be had by anyone. The room was unbearably stuffy all the time. The fan just does not circulate the air in the room at all. When we turned the A/C on, we all froze, and it was still stuffy. We alternated all night long between having the A/C on and off, which meant getting up frequently throughout the night. The room was otherwise nice and spacious enough for a family of five. Breakfast was a madhouse, and unlike other similar hotels, they don't allow any food to leave the breakfast room, even when there are no tables available. Normally we just take a few things to our room and eat in peace and quiet, but instead dealt with loud, rude people pushing, shoving, and hogging tables even when they were done eating. Also, be sure to bring your room key. They were actually checking during our stay. Decent hotel overall, but will probably go someplace a bit nicer next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Pleasing

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: location!
Cons: Informing clients that there is a fee for parking and a deposit required at check in before arrival!
Location: One word, GREAT!
I'm a travel agent by trade, do a lot of traveling with my family, and this location was random. Hotel staff, courtesy, and location are great! Downfall is the parking garage is designed for small compact cars and theirs a fee that's charged for parking. I would have gave this hotel a higher rating however there are three things that I was upset about: 1) there's a deposit that's required at time of check in that I wasn't aware of! 2) fee for parking! 3) Breakfast area wasn't big enough! Other than that everything was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
Pool and hot tube should be monitored better. Very small kids were there and no one over 12 years s around. For the most part had very good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexicali

visita a san diego

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Que esta bien situado para visitar distintos lugares.
Cons: La piscina con agua un poco más tibia.
Location: Parque balboa, sea world, fsahion valley mall.
Nos atendieron rapidamente y se nos proporciono la habitacion si contratiempos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Good Value vs. Comfort and Location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness and price.
Cons: It would be nice to have a small microwave along with the included mini-fridge.
Location: Just north of downtown San Diego. Close to Sea World, the zoo, Petco Park, the marina, USS Midway museum, Coronado island, La Jolla, Belmont Park.
The hotel was in a good location. The area appeared safe. It was near the highway, which was convenient for getting around, but added slight highway noise. It was about 15 minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and Downtown. It's about 35 minutes from Legoland. They were doing some modest upgrades (lighting and non-slip shower treatments) while were staying there, but those were done during the day and we weren't there, so not a big issue. The breakfast room can get a little crowded during the weekends. All hotel staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful, and they accommodated us with an early check-in. The pool and hot tub were decent, but could see it getting pretty crowded as the weather warms. The free parking and free (actually usable) Wi-Fi were a nice bonus. Overall at good experience.