Ratings based on 593 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom loma linda, ca

Noise

Posted Nov 24, 2014
I checked in friday nights and stayed for two nights. The facilities and the room were great. But there were parties going on late at night and I was having a difficult time sleeping. It could be the location of my room or because of weekends when people like to party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Very nice rooms

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
The only problem the whole weekend was that the bathroom sink never drained. Otherwise a good hotel, good location. Definitely would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hollywood, Ca

Great location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Lots of room, great views of the city and clean hotel
Location: Lots of clubs, bars and hooka lounge
Last minute trip to Gaslamp is SD. Had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Nice hotel!!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Nice hotel, close to trolley, tons of bars and restaurants and right next to the house of blues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Good hotel, great location but noisy rooms

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Great location, period features, friendly staff
Cons: Better double glazing / insulation from outdoor noise. The 2nd room I had only had single pane windows which didn't block any sound out really.
Location: Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Very convenient for bus stop nearby to take you to Balboa Park / Zoo area. Also close to trams
Hotel is an old bank, great period features and really well located for the heart of San Diego. The rooms are nicely furnished and well kept - however, the outlook was noisy. I thought there might be some disturbance being Halloween and even though this was my first visit knowing the Gaslamp area was popular for bars/restaurants but I clearly underestimated this! I first had a room on the 3rd floor which faced Broadway and corner of 6th - lots of noise from outdoor drunken people (and inside drunken people too). I then asked to be moved to a quieter room and the staff were very accomodating and helpful. I then had a room on the 11th floor facing away from the street but this overlooked air con units which were loud in my opinion (even though the staff assured me on a high floor they wouldn't be that noticible). Also, the clocks changed the night I was there and as I had an early flight the check in staff suggested a wake up call because the clocks in the room don't go back manually. I figured I would probably be OK with just my phone but opted for one as a back up. However, clearly the clock change didn't work on the automated wake up call system either because it woke me up 1 hour early at 5am! - not happy! Overall a great hotel regards location, cleanliness, features and nice staff but it was let down by noisy rooms and basically I stayed 2 nights here and got virtually no sleep on either night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Checking in was simple, quick & informational. It started our weekend off on a good note!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
You can say that It has a great location, but it all relates to your needs. It is a little scary to walk around the hotel at knight. Not recommended for kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impossible to find at night

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The address is wrong, entrance on different street with small sign. A little thought with a redirecting sign or larger entrance sign would show that it's a real hotel. Otherwise everything else was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Very nice hotel, great location! Close to restaurants and walking distance from convention center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Nice downtown hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Located downtown, close to the entertainment district. Friendly staff. Nice room, with fridge.
Cons: Hair dryer in the bathroom would be a good addition.
Location: The hotel is located in the downtown district, a few blocks from Horton Plaza (the biggest shopping mall in the downtown), and the Gaslamp Quarter.
Hotel was clean. Hotel staff was friendly. Would stay at this hotel the next time I visit San Diego. Took the bus (#992) from airport to hotel and vice-versa. Bus stop is across the street from the hotel. Location of hotel allowed me to walk all over the downtown area. Hotel is located on San Diego's main street and is very close to the Gaslamp Quarter: many restaurants, nightclubs and shops, and Horton Plaza (the biggest shopping mall in the downtown). Hotel was also close to the major hubs for the Trolley lines. Took the bus/trolley to visit Coronado Island (beautiful beaches, nice restaurants), Old Town, Balboa Park, Little Italy, Fashion Valley (high-end shopping), San Ysidro (large fashion outlet mall located about a 20 minute walk from the San Ysidro trolley station, ask directions to the mall because directional signage to the mall is scarce). Bus/trolley system was easy to use, reasonably priced, clean and efficient.