Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auburn, CA

had a good stay

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly people at the front desk. Attractive motel and grounds.
Cons: Breakfast would have been nice.
Location: SEE ABOVE
Our room was fine. I requested a handicap room but didn't get it. The morning paper was nice. Location was good. It seemed to be a half hour drive from many attractions. The people at the check-in desk were very helpful assisting me with directions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The hotel was pleasant the staff was very nice. At night it was quiet and there is a great breakfast Opera Cafe down the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Area
Location: Close to UCSD
Nice hotel. Close to La Jolla, UCSD. Nice area. Hotel is clean and the staff is friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yuma, Az

Nicely located. Easy to get to. Lots to do.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Staff at night was extremely responsive, friendly and fast. We asked if there were extra blankets in the room and the clerk said there should be but he would have additional sent just in case. They were in the room before we were!! The am clerks were not as helpful when we were asking questions. Wish we had asked the night clerk. They did have a mini restaurant/bar that did have Starbucks but there is a free standing SB half a mile away. Easy walking. Close to several beaches. I recommend the Carlsbad State Beach. It's abot 10 miles down the road but better access, parking, actually easier to get to than the Del Mar beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NorCal

Just a quick visit.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: The room size was excellent, with TVs in each room, and a nice pool in the courtyard. Computers and a printer was available in the lobby.
Cons: Reception in the lobby was not quite as friendly or as fast as I have experienced at other hotels in the past. Not really a deal breaker though.
Location: Birch Aquarium/La Jolla/UCSD are 15-20 minutes away. No attractions within the vicinity of the hotel. Plenty of restaurants/shops about 5 miles away.
We came into town with very little time for play (college tours) and to keep expenses down chose a hotel a bit farther away from the beach, although La Jolla was only a short 15-minute drive away. This hotel is situated near a wide variety of office buildings and perfectly located for those traveling on business. There is also very easy access to the 805 and 5. The king suite was extremely spacious and comfortable. There was a separate bedroom with a TV and a sitting room with a sleeper sofa, TV, fridge, and comfortable desk with a pullout table for working. The toilet/shower was separate from the sink area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

OK Hotel but brutal pullouts

Posted Mar 15, 2015
We got the king suite which has two rooms. The king bed is in the smaller room and the very large second room is almost empty in comparison, with just a small twin size pullout couch and a coffee table. They could easily fit two beds or even another king bed plus the pullout in this second room. I don't understand why they designed it the way they did. We really wanted a normal double room but the hotel has very few of them. Most of the rooms are King or King suites. I found the pullout to be one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on and we had to call down and ask for sheets and a blanket. If I were the hotel management, I'd reevaluate the configuration of the king suites and all that wasted space. If I were a traveler with more than two people in your party, I'd consider a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Easy check in and check out. Quite and comfortable. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Great value, close to my office

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Location: The location is ideal for me - just up the street from my office.
My room was clean, well-furnished, had a balcony overlooking the inner courtyard/pool area. Friendly, knowledgeable staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Close to Ls Jolla and northern sites of San Diego.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Good price, clean and comfortable but should've had breakfast for the price. Good food and drinks at hotel cafe/bar. located in business district so nothing to see/do/get food nearby - 3 plus mile drive to restaurants. But relatively close to Safari Park, Torrey Pines, La Jolla and their great village and beaches. Slow to bring towels, soap additional room coffee packets etc. when requested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Taipei

The hotel is good, but it can be better.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The hotel is clean, comfortable, and convince. But you got to be lucky to have an appropriate neighbor, otherwise you will have to stay up overnight. I hardly fell asleep at my second night at the hotel, since a group of young men and women had a party over night just next to my room. They kept all windows open and smoked "strange stuff", and kept music so loud; they just destroyed my sleep and the manager of the hotel just ignored the complaint. With the exception of that night, all experience at this property is joyful.