Ratings based on 819 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Walking distance to all the action

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: It's location
Overall very comfortable, conveniently located. Room was clean, and quiet. Attending a conference that limited my experience with other amenities at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sand Bagging Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Great Staff. Great location. Terrible accommodations. Parking and Rooms are extremely Overpriced. You pay for location, not comfortably.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel in the Gaslamp District.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Close proximity to everything.
Location: Located on the North end of the Gaslamp District. Plenty to see and do all around. Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo, Petco Park and many great restaurants.
Had a great time on vacation. From our arrival until our departure everything went as planned. Hotel staff was very friendly and offered great recommendations along the way. Great location in downtown San Diego that is within walking distance to just about everywhere. Enjoy the many varieties of food choices in the Gaslamp District along 5th avenue. And may I add it is within walking distance to Petco Park for you baseball fans. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: The location, building design and staff.
Cons: The valet parking rates
Location: USS Midway, Little Italy, and La Jolla
The hotel architecture is beautiful and detailed...we stayed their for vacation and there were four of us, my husband and 2 boys ages 10 and 7. The coffee bar in the lobby was most convenient and was a full bar serving Starbucks. The only negative was the extremely excessive fee for the valet parking which was the only choice. Five days of valet totaled a night stay at the hotel...the hotel was centrally located so overall we went with this Courtyard for the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2015
All employees were very kind and generous. Also, the interior of the hotel was really great. I'm really satisfied with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Great historic hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2015
We had a lovely stay here. The hotel is in an old bank and has a stunning foyer. Conveniently situated in the gaslamp quarter I would certainly stay here again. Top Tip - go to the basement and see the old vault
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Posted Jun 22, 2015
One of the best hotel experience we've had, we planned a bachelorette party for a good friend and the hotel was great! Jose one of the front associates was awesome he helped and accommodated us for dinner plans and night activities very helpful and professional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Everyone was great! Friendly check in, helpful wait staff in the bar. We didn't want for a thing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Best experience ever!

Posted May 25, 2015
I had a wonderful time at this hotel, eventhough it was only for a day. The staff was super attentive and friendly upon check in. There was a bowl of fresh fruit upon arrival which I thought was such a great feature. The hotel location was spot on and close to everything! The room was gorgeous and spacious. Everything was clean and so much detail was put into everything. The lobby and hotel itself was a true gem. Loved that it was a former bank and I loved how they kept a lot of the bank's artifacts intact. Would stay here again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great hotel near the GasLamp Quarter

Posted May 21, 2015
The hotel is located on the northern edge of the Gas Lamp District in downtown San Diego, where there is a wonderful selection of restaurants within walking distance. Bring your walking shoes though, the District goes on for blocks, but there is a lot to see. It's built inside of an historical old bank building, and they've done a great job of preserving the architecture of the period. Polished marble and varnished wood is everywhere. The hotel staff is very friendly, courteous and helpful. My only complaint is the parking, or lack of.... The closest self parking lot is a block away, and at night there are a lot of homeless people in the area (it IS on the edge of the District). There is valet parking, but take out a second mortgage to pay for it - $40 a day. There is a great brew pub right across the street that is reasonable, the beer is pretty good too.