Ratings based on 961 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from East Sussex UK

Enjoyed our 2 night stay here

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Stayed here for 2 nights with our 16 and 17 year old sons starting a Road Trip on to The Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, Death Valley, Yosemite, Monterey and San Fransisco. Was very reasonable, comfy, clean and just about right. Breakfast Buffet good too. Swimming pool not too busy either. Had to drive to places but not far. Sat Nav did have a bit of trouble directing us when near but soon sussex it. Visted the Aircraft Carrier USS Medway whilst here which isn't my usual idea of fun but it was very interesting and we spent a long time exploring it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great vacation!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
This was our first time at the Crowne Plaza and we had a great time! The only hitch was the TV reception was not so great, but my husband and son watched the Padres game at the Sushi restaurant and that was fun for my son. Other than that, the ambience was awesome. The Hawaiian theme was very relaxing and beautiful. The service was excellent, very friendly. We would definitely come back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Was told hotel was on the ocean. Not true

Posted Jul 24, 2014
When we arrived there were four people at the desk and they were all helping one person and just completely ignored us we stood there for about ten minutes before we were acknowledged. That was very rude and not professional at all. The room was clean but elevator, floors, walls were very dirty. Will never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherman Oaks

Tropical Delight

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The beds and the ambiance of the room.
Cons: Have a refrigerator in all rooms
Location: SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo.
It was a pleasant experience. We did not have a refrigerator in our room which we were suppose to have. However, it was a nice room. It was a good relaxing end to our day that we spent at Sea World. I would definitely use that hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Posted Jul 21, 2014
had a great experience. The hotel shuttles u around into old town which has a lot if really good restaraunts and shopping. Will return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice, clean, close to everything

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The landscaping was really beautiful, shuttle service, bar and restaurant in the hotel.
Cons: The employees at the front desk could act like they care, especially on a busy holiday weekend. As we could have chosen to stay at any other hotel.
Location: Literally minutes from Sea World, Old Town, Trolley Station, Sea Port Village and many more attractions.
Visited San Diego on the 4th of July weekend. The hotel said they were full as it appeared most of the hotels in SD were. When we got to our room it was on the bottom level facing the parking lot and apparently was a handicap assessable room with a shower in the middle of bathroom. No place to put shampoo, etc. and the bathroom was always wet as the shower was actually in the middle of the bathroom. When we went to the front desk to ask to be moved, we were told they were full and it was my fault as I asked for an assessable room when I booked. I had no reason to request for an assessable room and told the girl. She was unfazed, and unsympathetic to our situation. I feel that this hotel was putting guests wherever they could at check in. The next morning again I went to the front desk to complain about this room and the inconvenience of the constantly wet bathroom floor. This time a guy at the desk said he could move us but not until late in the day and would have our luggage moved for us. When we returned that evening we had not been moved, but this same guy quickly took care of it himself by moving our luggage for us and even made it better by giving us vouchers for a free breakfast in their restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Easy acess

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Easy to get to and from the hotel from any major attraction. The atmosphere was like being in Hawaii. Would stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Split review but I would be hesitant to book again

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: the property was very pretty
Cons: Change the linens! So uncomfortable! Plus, the air conditioning units should be inspected.
Location: 2 miles from Old Town, only 10 minutes from Mission Beach and 10 minutes from downtown
The good news...the property is very pretty and the staff was amazing. Everyone (with 1 exception) was very friendly and personable. The location was very convenient. Only 5 minutes to Old Town, 10 minutes to downtown and 10 minutes to the beach. The bad news...First, the air conditioning did not work. It read 60 F but felt more like 75F. Luckily it was cool outside and keeping the window open made it bareable. Second, the bed linens were horrible! It felt like sleeping on paper. Third, and in my opinion the worst...there was a late afternoon/evening bellman that is a scam artist! The hotel offered shuttle rides to nearby atttractions and this guy tried to tell us that a trip downtown would be "a special trip" and said it would cost us $25. A taxi ride would have been cheaper. Gave us a bad feeling. He had a terrible effect on the rest of the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They could use a little update

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: the grounds are very pretty and love the waterfalls. the pool was just outside our door and it was fun.
Cons: renovate the room
My bed was hard, creaky and old! Furniture is pealing. Can't use the HDMI port on TV - we travel with the "minnies" for my 23 month old granddaughter. If I can use the HDMI connector at a "real" resort I should be able to at a run down Crown Plaza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merced, ca

Perfect location to everything.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Pool and hot tub were very large. Had excellent seating arrangement by the pool area.