Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Make Sure They Don't GIve You A Room In The Back

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Great selection of cable channels and the free Wi-Fi
Cons: Be more cautious about where you put hotel guests to stay. Maybe seriously sanitize or burn the room in the back of the hotel.
Location: Great location near restaurants (walking distance) and trolley
Hotel staff gave us a room in the back of the hotel but the room smelled like a wet dog and was sort of a shady area as there was a suspicious lady hanging outside her room smoking a cigarette and what appeared to be waiting for 'someone'. Hotel staff what nice enough to give us another room but told us this room was reserved for international guests. Sort of taken back when we got in the room. It was a lot larger and was by the pool. So because I reserved my room on Expedia I didn't deserve the larger room and by the pool? How would the hotel staff had known I was not international or how would have Expedia known I wasn't international. I was confused but thankful the staff provided a better alternative room. Asked for a couple of extra towels and was told I was given the last towel in the hotel. Ok Interesting. Comfortable quiet stay though. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Not very clean, old bedding and patches on broken door
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Paresh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we will make sure management hears your concerns so they can be correct before your next stay with us at Days Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service and accommodations

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Service - Service - Service
Location: Shopping
The Wi-Fi didn't work, TV also didn't have cable just a blue screen, whenever we asked for support we received a poor answer and we did not had our issues resolved. I have to say that it was a very disappointing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Paresh, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear our wi-fi and television was not working as it should be and will make sure that gets taken care of before your next visit with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The AC was not working. The beds were very uncomfortable and there was trash from the previous guest in the room. There were also people fighting in front of the room at 1am in the morning. We wanted to hangout by the pool but the chairs were broke and unusable. We checked out a day early and went to a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2014 by Paresh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry to hear we fell short of meeting your standards and will make sure our staff is informed about the issues you experienced. We hope we get the chance to better serve you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BURLINGAME, CA

GREAT EXPERIENCE STAYING AT DAYS INN,CHULA VISTA

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, breakfast, ice machine, great staff
Cons: the only thing that i can complain about is the small pillows provided.The pillows on the bed were decorative size pillows vs. a standard pillow size.
Location: beaches, zoo, coronado, sleeptrain concert venue, mission beach boardwalk etc.. great spot to stay 20 min from alot of places
The hotel is located 20 min from zoo, mission beach boardwalk, coronado etc The room was nicer than expected and grounds and pool area are kept clean which is always a nice feature. located right by restaurants,freeway entrance, gas station (ideal spot to stay) I would definitely stay again on my next vacation weekend away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2014 by Paresh, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review, we are delighted to hear our location and rooms met your needs during your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Staff not friendly

Posted Sep 7, 2014
the staff was not friendly to provide information.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Paresh, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear our staff did not meet your standards and will make sure that is addressed in a timely manner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Close to San Diego

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I don't have any complaints. The staff was nice, the breakfast was more than most hotels (waffles, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, coffee and juice), the room was fine, bed comfortable and the location was perfect. We were close to San Diego but didn't have to pay the higher SD hotel price. Has a pool and Jacuzzi too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Paresh, Hotel Management
At Days Inn we are glad to hear our staff was friendly, the breakfast met your needs and that your overall stay with us was great; we look forward to seeing you soon.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom phoenix

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Clean the grounds and add fruit to breakfast
Location: Close to hwy 5
Grounds are not clean... Lots of cigarette butts. A/C had to be set at 60 to cool room. Coffee was decent
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Paresh, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear we did not meet your standards and will make sure our grounds crew gets your issues handled in a timely manner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com