Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We love the fact that it was close to the beach , we would have loved to have a kitchen in the room but it was really nice to have the barbecue area available we also enjoyed the tables and the loungers in front of the class to enjoy the beach. We also loved the snack bar there on site the nachos and jalapenos were fantastic. An ice cream was great too. I wish I was able to stay longer than 3 days. It was a little pricey for the condition of of the rooms like the ones that my family stayed in there. But I had a remodeled nice room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location substandard accommodations

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This motel is in a wonderful location right on the beach. Unfortunately the accommodations and the staff are substandard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toccoa Ga

Nice bungalow type hotel nicely remodeled.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The location, loved our room... Light and spacious ... Loved loved having valet service
Cons: Needs a new toilet and a pool
Location: Great shops, restaurants
Enjoyed this experience, hotel eclectic, staff nice... Right on the beach. Hotel was clean and the decor nice.. I would stay there again the decor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

60 steps to the beach

Posted Jun 14, 2015
I wanted to wake up to sand on my feet and the Del Mar Motel delivers. The proximity to an amazing quasi private beach overshadows any negatives of this motel. Adjacent are the hottest, swankiest restaurants in town. I don't even want to give this place a great review because I want it all to my self. The staff is friendly, helpful and make you feel welcomed. Stay away. (Selfish ploy to keep this gem secret.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Good Motel at the beach

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Location and sense of days gone makes me still want to choose it again
Cons: Smile a bit more :)
Location: Del Mar is wonderful-the beach, the sunset, everything
The Del Mar Motel has been my favourite the last 20 years. I at least finds it attractive to stay at a non-chain place. It has its own character and has not changed much, it's like being back in the good old days in a way. That being said it is quite expensive now- so it is not a good buy. But the rooms are spacious and quite nice (small bathroom though). What you pay for is the location which is awesome. People at the desk where ok, but not very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach CA

We LOVE this little motel!

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly easy and you can't beat the location!
Location: Walking distance to downtown, coffee shops, surf is right out in front!! Very nice beach parks right up the street.We love the restaurants in Del Mar!
Right on the beach, surfer friendly. Reasonable rates, if you're looking for luxury - no, but for clean, easy, great location, nice people, this is perfect! We walked into town for dinner at El Fuego one night, Jake's the next, so yummy and a nice walk! Next time we're going to BBQ on the deck (Weber's supplied!)!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central California

Train noise, uncooperative management

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: view of beach
Train track just across the road from hotel. Trains blaring horns and passing starting at 3 am. 22 trains passed by mid-morning. Told management we did not want to stay a second night. Management at first refused to refund, stating they required 3 days advance notice of cancellation. Later management agreed to cancel second nite. Room not very clean. Found food container from previous resident on floor. Very disappointed. Price same as Marriott hotel (where we stayed in perfect comfort. Will not return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The location to Cedros Street and all the great restaurants can't be beat
Cons: The man at the front desk was very unwelcoming, boarding on rude. Not a good way to start a get away. It would be better to have a friendlier person
This is our second stay at the del Mar Motel. Love the location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Awesome Location!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The location was great, walk right onto the sand from the hotel grounds. The hotel had a nice patio area for pacific viewing and relaxing.
Cons: Shower kind of sucked, temp. kept going up and down.
Location: Downtown town Del Mar 5 min walk, nice beach front park next to hotel, great beach access!
Just stayed here for a night, as my wife and I were in town for the night to see a concert. The room was clean and served it's purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by paul from Batchawana Bay

On the beach, really.

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Old fashioned oversized rooms. Space is comforting. On the beach, really. Two great restaurants next door. Quiet (after discounting the train). Nevertheless, a great spot.