Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location/below average room

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Room stay was far below average..Room configuration for two bed very strange but could not beat the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, Va

Below average close to the beach

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Weird odd dark musty. Front desk barely spoke English. Towels like paper towels Old out of date
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Very close to the beach. Beautiful view from Boardwalk. Horrible parking. Minimal spots in very congested area. Had to park 2 blocks away and walk to room. Room was large and nice for a weeks stay. Upgrades needed. No working air conditioning. Tiles broken on bathroom floor and fridge was held up with piece of wood. Overall very comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Perfect location in Pacific Beach. Walking distance to everything. Hotel staff upon check out was very nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 211

Suite?

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: nada
Cons: no
Location: playa
lejos de ser una suite o lo que ofrecen por ese precio, una cafetera es su desayuno
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We have stayed at Diamond Head several times.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: We love the location.
Cons: It was time for a new mattress!!!
Location: We went kayaking and also rode the Mission Bay bike path several times, which was beautiful!
Check in was easy.....finding a place to park, was not as easy. The room was clean enough. The bathroom light was on some type of timer and turned on by itself all through the night!! Wi-fi was an extra charge and there were extra commercials on the cable (along the edge) which turned off the closed-captioning, which meant my husband could not follow what was happening on the show. The price is great to be on the beach, but it's on the way down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corona CA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: Updating of bathrrom.
Location: Great beach, bars and restaurant
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was large but it was warm, only ceiling fans and windows. Bathroom tub took forever to drain and tub could use an update. Overall it was just a one night trip for us to sleep and shower so it served its purpose. Parking is horrible, if you are lucky enought to get a spot at hotel great if not they do offer parking at another one of their hotels which is 2 blocks away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Quick weekend trip

Posted Feb 23, 2015
This hotel is great if you do not plan to spend much time in the rooms (which you shouldn't as it is right on the beach). The hotel itself is ok, but the location is unbeatable! Walking distance to shops and food, and most importantly, it is within a stone's throw of the beach. I went prepared having read the reviews regarding parking so was not surprised the parking lot was a few blocks away. I was only in town for one night and would recommend the place because of it's price and location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charges additional 50 deposit without telling you!

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel is right next to the beach which is very nice, but that might be the only thing it has going for it. The reason it is so much cheaper on hotels.com is because they charge an additional 50 dollar deposit to your card at check in. When we got there we were unaware of that and the lady failed to tell us that before charging our card. Fuming with out knowing why were charged that we had to walk back to the office and get to the bottom of it and that's when she said "oh I forgot to tell you its a 50 dollar deposit we do if anything happens to the room, if you book with us directly then we don't do that". The only real nice thing about the hotel is that it is within walking distance of everything. We walked to Belmont park and were expecting to have a great time there and ride some rides but with the money that was taken out unexpectedly would could not do that which was very disappointing. The room was big had a kitchen that we had no use for since there were no pots and pans. The bed was a rock and my s/o and I had a hard time sleeping. The room faced the street which was a little scary and LOUD. If you are looking to lose some more money on your vacation this is the place to come. Stay at one of the hotels near it I'm sure they are honest and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location, good value. Very nice facilities
Cons: Felt a bit dated
Location: Right on beach
Good access to everything. Easy walk. On beach. Bit dated but all facilities needed. Very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle Washington

good value/comfortable accommodations

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: proximity to the beach, boardwalk, shops. out of the way, no noisy traffic sounds.
Cons: the bedspread was outdated, and a bit scratchy. There was a very large stain on the floor. The bathtub plug was missing. Noisy neighbors overhead.
Location: Right on the end of Diamond street, near enough to hear the surf, bike/board/rentals close by. restaurants within 2 blocks. Pier about 3 blocks away.
My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary by the beach, and the Diamondhead Inn is nearly on it! Our room had no view, but we could hear the surf with our window open at night. The room had a "kitchen" but no stove. Still, we were able to fix plenty of simple dinners and save money by eating "in". I would recommend staying on the second story, as the bottom level can be quite noisy. We could hear people walking around and moving furniture about till quite late. We had to walk 2 blocks to use the pool of the sister property, but usually had it all to ourselves. The room was cleaned very well every day, while we were out. Just a short walk across a parking area, and we were on the boardwalk with stairs down to the sand. We spent most of our days hanging out on the beach watching the surfers, who were out from early morning till late night....very entertaining! I had checked on rates for months before I found this hotel, and I think we got the best deal for what we could afford. Only a few blocks to the nearest restaurant, rental shop, clothing stores, and about 6 blocks to the nearest grocery store. Overall, we were very pleased and we plan to visit again!!