Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Quick weekend trip

Posted Feb 23, 2015
This hotel is great if you do not plan to spend much time in the rooms (which you shouldn't as it is right on the beach). The hotel itself is ok, but the location is unbeatable! Walking distance to shops and food, and most importantly, it is within a stone's throw of the beach. I went prepared having read the reviews regarding parking so was not surprised the parking lot was a few blocks away. I was only in town for one night and would recommend the place because of it's price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location, good value. Very nice facilities
Cons: Felt a bit dated
Location: Right on beach
Good access to everything. Easy walk. On beach. Bit dated but all facilities needed. Very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle Washington

good value/comfortable accommodations

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: proximity to the beach, boardwalk, shops. out of the way, no noisy traffic sounds.
Cons: the bedspread was outdated, and a bit scratchy. There was a very large stain on the floor. The bathtub plug was missing. Noisy neighbors overhead.
Location: Right on the end of Diamond street, near enough to hear the surf, bike/board/rentals close by. restaurants within 2 blocks. Pier about 3 blocks away.
My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary by the beach, and the Diamondhead Inn is nearly on it! Our room had no view, but we could hear the surf with our window open at night. The room had a "kitchen" but no stove. Still, we were able to fix plenty of simple dinners and save money by eating "in". I would recommend staying on the second story, as the bottom level can be quite noisy. We could hear people walking around and moving furniture about till quite late. We had to walk 2 blocks to use the pool of the sister property, but usually had it all to ourselves. The room was cleaned very well every day, while we were out. Just a short walk across a parking area, and we were on the boardwalk with stairs down to the sand. We spent most of our days hanging out on the beach watching the surfers, who were out from early morning till late night....very entertaining! I had checked on rates for months before I found this hotel, and I think we got the best deal for what we could afford. Only a few blocks to the nearest restaurant, rental shop, clothing stores, and about 6 blocks to the nearest grocery store. Overall, we were very pleased and we plan to visit again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely view and great location

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Cons: Parking is a problem. The hotel has only five spaces available on the property. Additional parking is available 2 blocks away at a sister property.
Rooms are very spacious with sitting area, small kitchenette and separate bedroom. Mostly remodeled with a great view of the beach and ocean. The location was convenient for driving to various attractions and the had bars and restaurants within walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bella solo la posizione, vicina al mare

Posted Dec 31, 2014
L'albergo è molto vecchio, con moquette al pavimento sporca. La camera è spaziosa con una bella cucina. La cosa più bella è sicuramente la posizione, molto vicina al mare
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect if you want to hang out around Pacific Beach, right next to the beach.
Cons: Style is a bit outdated and the rooms smell a bit on first entering but other than that I love this place!
Location: Right next to the beach. Close to Garnet Ave where most of the popular Pacific Beach bars and restaurants are.
Check-in quick and easy, friendly staff. Stayed in a room on the second level. Our stays at this hotel have always been last minute decisions and we have never been let down. The first time we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find that you not only get a room but a full kitchen which if you are staying for longer is really convenient! The location is fantastic and for the price you can't beat it! Beds are super comfy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

on the beach

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: near the beach
Cons: parking and bathroom
Location: plenty of restaurants close by and the beach at your doorstep
If you want to park at the location, forget it. There is absolutely zero parking unless you are handicapped and utilize the one handicap parking space. Otherwise you have to park a block away at one of their sister hotels. The room was comfortable but the bathroom had some serious design flaws particularly for a male. I probably would not stay at this location again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anthonyfrom California

It's mediocre hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an ok hotel. I was expecting more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevefrom Tucson, AZ

Hotel Location and Stay

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms at Diamond Head Inn were nice and within a few steps to the beach and ocean. The room had a refigerator and a two burner range which we used each morning to cook breakfast. We will definately stay here again. I would recommend a stay at the Diamond Head Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Debbiefrom Tucson

Great Location and Affordable

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Went to Mission Beach for a quick get away. I enjoyed the updates the Hotel has made. Staff was very friendly. One thing they could improve on is maybe teaching the cleaning staff the importance of washing around door knobs and doors, where dirty hand prints were apparent, vacuuming around the edges of the walls with the vacuum hose, wiping down kitchen cabinets and mopping behind bathroom door...most of which I did before bringing in my luggage. I would stay again. Perfect location and affordable is what brought me to this Hotel.