Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Great location! Staff were friendly and responsive. Hotel is in the middle of a busy restaurant/shopping area so was rather loud in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

"Old world charm" hotel 2 blocks from beach

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Better continental breakfast - - - yogurt, granola, more fruit, etc.
Quaint, charming for it's oddities, with attentive staff, great cantina (Miquel's) and great seafood (Brigantine) in same physical property. Handy to Coronado beaches, Glorietta Bay, restaurants, shops, etc. It's an old property, but we had no problems there. We'll go back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Exceptional staff experience. Walking distance to beach, shopping, restraunts. Spacious room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Great location, perfect get away hotel.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We stayed there for my wedding, 16 people in total, each room was very spacious and clean wth it's own dining room and kitchen! We loved the location (within walking distance of our wedding spot) and they upgraded our guest's rooms for free. Staff members were truly professional and inviting. The 3 restaurants were very delicious! This will be our yearly anniversary hotel for sure!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Charming.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: It is not a photo copy of every hotel around. Lots of colorful Spanish tiles and décor. Unique.
Cons: Warning: The constant smell of Miguel's Cocina may drive you insane! Continental breakfast should always include some whole grain items and yogurt.
Location: Location is good. Shopping all around. Beach is a couple blocks away. Bike rentals in same building. Variety of dining within blocks.
Don't let the busy street corner or Mexican restaurant patrons scare you away. The rooms are fairly quiet and both the street noise and restaurant noise quiet down by 9 or 10 each night. This is a funky place right across from the Hotel Del resort so you can enjoy the big resort and sneak back to your little hacienda. The beach, shopping, dining, marina are all within walking distance. The pool is fine and there are bike rentals in the same building. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our 4 nights and had no complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Noisy environment

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Charming staff and nice breakfast.
Cons: The building and the rooms can do with sound-proofing and the kitchens could use more utensils.
Location: Fantastic location. Right across from the beach and many nice restaurants and shops nearby.
This hotel has a nice presentation and the staff goes out of its way to keep the grounds clean. The room and grounds look charming. Yet, there are some major problems due to the fact that the rooms are paper-thin and the hotel surrounds a restaurant that is full of loud guests until at least 10 PM. For jet-lagged travelers coming from the east coast this is not ideal. To our dismay, we also needed our fridge and a/c repaired. The kitchenette is also under-equipped in terms of utensils, and this was one of the main reasons we chose to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Junefrom Rockport, Mass.

Winter Therapy

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Arriving at this charming, old world styled small hotel was just the therapy we needed coming from the snow ravaged northeast. It was almost surreal walking out the front door in the warm sunshine to see the magnificent Del Coronado and ocean just footsteps away. The building is old and charming. Our suite was spacious, clean and comfortable, made us feel right at home. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Complementary breakfast was very basic but adequate. In the spirit of water conservation, the shower was a little unpredictable, would switch from cold to hot every few seconds! The hotel shares space with a restaurant that was directly downstairs from our room. A little noisy until around 11:30, not a big problem. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redondo Beach, CA

old but well maintained hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: the location
Cons: improve or do something to make parking easier, and more help for guests to get to rooms which can be difficult.
Location: It is close to the Del Coronado Hotel which is a CA landmark and worth a visit, a meal and shopping.
nice people,good rooms, and close to restaurants and shopping. unfortunately parking is a problem, they do not have any.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay but loud

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Nice location close to the beach and across from the Hotel Del Coronado.
Cons: Soundproofing, new carpets..
This was an okay hotel, but really more of a nice motel. It was generally clean and decent, but not tons of amenities. The doors open to the courtyard, which is tile. My room was up a short flight of narrow stairs from the courtyard, in a small hallway with two other rooms. The top of the bed was near the door to the room. I could hear everything, including the clip clopping of people coming in and out of their rooms and the repeated door slamming. During my stay, my neighbor clip clopped and slammed the door repeatedly starting from around 5am. It was so loud, it was impossible to sleep. She stopped after when I opened the door and glared at her, but better sound proofing would have helped a lot. I won't stay here again next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Convenient location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: It was close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The exterior of the hotel is very inviting as well.
Cons: The bathroom could use some improvements, like more room to store toiletries. Also a fan to relieve the humidity would be a big help as well.
Location: Great location.
The El Cordova hotel is a very quaint historic hotel. It is in a perfect location for an easy walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel could use some renovation and a slight improvement on furniture. Overall it was worth the money for a standard room.