Ratings based on 1,602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Great size rooms, awesome view of the bay and USS Midway. As a family of 5 it was great. Multiple sinks made getting ready easier. Hotel is getting old, you see this everywhere but overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by embassySDGM, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and put our spacious suites to good use with your family. I don’t like to think of us as old, think of us like a fine wine that gets better with age. In all seriousness, we hope to see you again soon. R. Kravitz General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: It was very nice and so were the staff
Cons: Cost of parking
Location: Harbor walking, use midway, cruise and lots more
Great hotel and great price. Parking is expensive but other than that it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Not too fat pillows. They were very comfortable. The tall mirror on the door and tasty coffee.
Cons: It would be nice if I can text to the valet to get the car ready. Wait for the car was long even though there was no other guests around.
Location: Close to the seaport village. Nice to walk by the ocean.
The hotel is located close to the ocean, walking distance to The Seaport Village. There are two rooms: Bedroom and living room. Each room has a TV, very spacious, clean, quiet and functional. The tall mirror on the door was very nice to have. There were microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker. The Coffee Bean Brand coffee was very tasty. Having a real half & half was nice. The fridge was a little noisy but you can close the door to the bedroom so it was no problem. Would love to come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Beautiful suite with a gorgeous view of the water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parking

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Cons: Cheaper parking.
Hotel is great but $39 per night for parking way too much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel by sea side

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The rooms whilst a little tired were very spacious and the free happy hour and snack facility was great The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: The hotel is a little tired and the rooms could do with a spruce up,
Location: Great location by the seaside, so much to do , visited the naval ship, walked the esplanade, dined in two beautiful resturants across the road.
This was a very busy time when we stayed as hotel full. They were a little understaffed however everything worked out well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice, clean hotel.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My family and I loved the hotel and the service we received there. The rooms were perfect and the beds very comfortable. It was walking distance from many beautiful memorials in San Diego and also close to many restaurants and stores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Good hotel, except we had to pay an additional $40 a night to park the car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs a facelift

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: breakfast
Cons: Interior was dark. Lighter colors would help. Friendly staff. Linens in room. Security at exits.
Location: Great location
Staff were accommodating, but not friendly. There was a patched hole in the bathroom door and an unpatched split in the interior wall. The furniture and bathroom sink cover (wooden) were dinged. The housekeeping staff would not leave wash rags even after chasing them down a couple of days. The breakfast was very good. Homeless people approached us more than once as we exited the hotel. This was disconcerting and some type of security may have helped. The hotel was expensive, but was not re-investing the $$ for updates/upgrades. Internet was extremely slow and expensive. Hotel was close to the harbor, but parking was 39 per night. The pool could have been an asset, but the cushioned chairs were soaking wet and it felt dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by embassySDGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. I do apologize for the issues with your room and will share these items with the hotel team. I agree it seems that maintenance needs to check a few issues within the guest room you stayed in. I regret the issues you faced once leaving the property however as I am sure you understand homeless people approaching you on the street is not something the hotel can control and should not reflect badly on our property. If you had faced an issue within the hotel our security team would have been more than happy to help. Please also understand that our parking and internet rate is competitive to similar hotels in the market. On a more positive note I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast and our location. We hope you will join us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maple Valley, WA

Nice Hotel for a family of 6 or less.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was great.
Cons: Air conditioner in the room, parking and washer and dryer on every floor with the use of a laundry basket.
Location: The beach is across the hotel. Shopping and restaurants are close to hotel. And the USS Midway is close by.
Our overall stay was nice. The two gripes we have were the air conditioner in the room and parking. When turning on the air conditioner in the room, it made this loud noise that was hard to sleep through. We had to turn it off and open the windows which left us with the noise from the street below. Second our option for parking was valet. Not good for family with kids waiting.