Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Awesome staff

Posted May 3, 2015
Stayed only two days but thought it was a great hotel. Staff was great Very friendly and helpful. Went out of thier way made us maps for things to see. Great recommendations on restaurants. Room was comfortable, spacious and clean. Great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Cons: Please provide parking lot : )
A nice place near the La Jolla Cove, 10 mins walk to there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Very helpful staff. Free internet. Nice continental breakfast included. Coffee, cookies and fruit in the lobby. Overall a pleasant experience. Would revisit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Luxury within La Jolla

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Valet parking only - $20 with unlimited in and out privileges ..... Better off just parking on the street like I did. Very safe/clean streets/surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maine

Newly renovated

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Great breakfast
Location: Near the ocean
veryclean, hotel staff was great! We stayed there for the days leading up to our daughters wedding and the staff was so helpful to everyone in our family. There were 20+ of us who stayed there and it was fantastic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本・大阪府・豊中市

高級住宅街の一角にある居心地の良いホテル

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: 料金面も場所の割には安い、フロント、レストランなどの係員の対応、周りの高級感と利便性が良い
Cons: 朝食はアメリカンのモーテルなどと同じのセルフスタイルのでオートミールや自身で調理するパターンが主でなんとなく安っぽさがある
Location: 野生のアザラシ、ペリカンなどの鳥類が観察できるラ・ホーヤ・コーブと洞窟サニー・ジム・ケーブ位でサンディエゴのダウンタウンまで車約30分と観光目的の滞在には適さない
海岸からは徒歩10分程度かかる、ホテル最上階からも直接海辺を望むことはできないが、周りが高級住宅街にあり、街全体の治安も良く、とてもアメリカとは思えない安心感があり、リラックスできる。客室は清潔できれいで、ツインベースでは十分の広さ、ただしバスなしシャワーのみの部屋が多い。フロントの対応の素早く、新設で丁寧、レストラン「マンハッタン」は食事の内容が良く味も良い、ワインも豊富で係員の対応に良い
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

A Jem in La Jolla

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to coast, dining and shopping.
Cons: Currently under renovation, but we only noticed because the floor with the continental breakfast is being worked on.
Location: Beach/coastline, shopping, dining.
We love this hotel. It fits our family needs perfectly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

朝食

Posted Mar 19, 2015
コンチネンタルブレックファストが宿泊費に含まれているので非常にお得感があったが、毎日提供されるメニューが固定しており、約2週間毎朝同じ朝食に飽きてしまった。
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bellevue, WA

Not the way to end a long day of travel

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Thought that we were going to have a lovely stay at this hotel. The reviews were very positive and they publicly stated that they would hold rooms for late arrivals. Cannot express the huge disappointment when after several flight delays we arrived late at the hotel to be told that they had "overbooked" and sent us down the street to an inferior hotel which gave us the worst possible room and overcharged us twice! The cursory manner in which the staff at the Empress Hotel treated us made it clear that this is a regular business practice for them. WE WILL NOT BOOK WITH THIS HOTEL AGAIN! To be treated this way after a long day of travel is not acceptable from a hotel with this reputation. Be aware that the Empress Hotel does not stand by its policies - especially if you arrive late in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma Valley

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Price, location, and restaurant
Cons: Cost of vallet
Location: See review
Three night stay in La Jolla. Pleasant well maintained hotel, centrally located for strolling the coast, restaurants, and shopping.