Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toowoomba

Great location and staff

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Staff were really helpful and friendly; room was clean and the bed was comfortable.Excellent location in La Jolla. The continental breakfast (included in room fee) was very good and so was the selection of complimentary teas and coffees in the lobby. Downsides: no bath tub, a view of the road, some furnishings a bit dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gig Harbor, WA

Responsive Staff: Even drove to the Hospital!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Staff, breakfast, updated room. Charging stations on the bedside tables
Cons: New carpets. Especially in the elevators
Location: Lots of restaurants to walk to nearby.
The staff at Empress were very responsive. When I asked for water bottles for the workout room. They quickly brought several. The breakfast staff kept the items stocked and fresh. And when I cut my hand one staff member drove me to the nearest hospital!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

Perfect in every way.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Was in LaJolla for a family reunion. Location of hotel was great. Shopping in spare time, restaurants in abundance, best staff ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Excellent service and very convenient location. Would highly recommend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, CA

Very quaint hotel close to restaurants and beach

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere, inviting.
Location: Many restaurant choices within walking distance, museums, shopping, galleries, beaches.
A very pet friendly hotel close to everything in La Jolla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West LA, CA

Boutique hotel with the best service!

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Hotel located centrally to the beach, the cove to watch dolphins, seals, birds. Best service from the whole staff. Comfortable rooms. Basic continental breakfast, fun restaurant/bar downstairs with live music. Wifi included. Valet costs $18 a day though. Highly recommended!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Dilapidated and Run Down

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing. It is full of people drinking at the bar and with no A/C it is was a miserable stay.
Cons: If the A/C worked, you'd still have to rip up the carpet and fix the room problems. Clean the showers.
Location: Lot of restaurants down the street and a store on the corner.
This hotel is not as good as everyone rates it. One person checking in that was taking forever. This delayed the check in but was not as bad as this drunk woman that kept coming in and interrupting him which made the process take even longer. The lady then proceeded to smoke in the open doorway of the lobby. So being drunk and smoking in the doorway was just one thing annoying about this person. He kept stopping to help her do things while talking to the people in front of me and while finally checking me in. The whole process felt like it took a week but I guess it was only 15 minutes. A/C did not work. Room was older and looked dirty because of the caked in dirt. Ceiling tiles breaking. The bar gets noisy at night. So staring out with 5 stars, -1 for cleanliness, -1 for the 15 minutes of annoying smoked filled check in time, -1 for drunken noise, -1 for the cost going down the day of check in and yet not lowering the cost that the people paid and cant cancel and rebook their hotel rooms, -2 for no working A/C, +1 for having some customer service skills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Charles - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are extremely disappointed to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We would sincerely like to apologize for the issues you experienced, and we will certainly be utilizing your comments to further improve upon our overall product. Furthermore, we would also like to apologize for the issue you experienced regarding the air conditioning, which has already been addressed with our facitlities manager. All of our rooms have been recently completely renovated. Once again, we apologize for the issues you experienced. Sincerely, John Haerr General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Newly refurbished rooms. Close to the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms in a nice area. Lots of parking available on the street.
Cons: Breakfast buffet was lacking.
Location: Centrally located in La Jolla. Near beach.
Very nice new rooms. Only stayed one night but enjoyed walking down to the beach and watching the seals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Bathroom would like more privacy!

Posted May 25, 2015
Great hotel - easy and convenient Nice breakfast. Valet parking service made going to and from hotel easy! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo - Brasil

Hotel renovado e com equipe excelente

Posted May 24, 2015
Agradável surpresa! O hotel é proximo de tudo, a alguns blocos apenas da praia. Local silencioso e estacionamento na rua sem custo das 6pm-8pm, emais duas horas durante o dia. Cafe da manhã simples mas suficientes para o que esperavamos.