Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in the heart of downtown la jolla

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: the location and the price was right!
great location--easy walking distance from restuarants and bars and even beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...clean...quiet elevators

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Cons: Would have liked movie channels available in the room.
Cookies available in evening...close to places to eat...The Sandwich Club was delicious...staff pleasant and helpful...would stay there again.
Comment from
Jan 9, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla and provide us with your valuable feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our clean guestrooms, newly upgraded and quiet elevators, and our friendly and helpful staff. I am pleased to inform you that we are upgrading our cable TV with free pay per view and a full HD channel lineup. Thank you again for choosing the Empress Hotel and we look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Baton Rouge

Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Wife and I booked a long weekend here to unwind. Great place within walking distance to everything. We had a room directly across from the elevator which I was worried about noise levels, didn't hear a thing. It was almost as if we had the whole hotel to ourselves (even though it was nearly booked up).
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Dear Mike, Thank you for posting your comments. Your valuable feedback is very important and we appreciate your business. Our recent renovation of the elevators provides very silent operation and speedy access. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including our convenient location and we hope to see you again soon with your next visit to La Jolla. Thank you. Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel near everything

Posted Mar 26, 2014
I was in la jolla for a wedding and found the rooms were nice, friendly helpful staff and the hotel is within a few blocks of the beach, good restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice relaxing getaway....

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Centrally located.
Cons: Bathroom doors (Replace slider with normal open & close door.Also, change location to open by the entry door.
Location: Centrally located for all interests. Restaurants (The Cottage, Noch), Beach, Trails, Park, Grocery Store, Shopping.
Great city, everyone a fitness nut. Great local restaurant (The Cottage), great selection of eggs benedicts, sandwiches.
Comment from
Jan 27, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla. We are pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of our excellent central location within the village of La Jolla as well as our complementary breakfast buffet, and other free amenities. I am happy to inform you that we are installing new doors to replace the sliding bathroom doors as part of our planned renovation for 2014. Once again, thank you for the review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the La Jolla area! Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by catherine from chicago

The Empress is a great location!

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Locations, the room was great.
Cons: It wd help to have a tv channel info sheet in the room.
The Empress Hotel is a great location & the staff was very friendly & helpful. The hotel has a bar/restaurant. My only criticism wd be that the bar closed early. We ran into a guest in the elevator & he said they were kicked out of the bar. It had to be around 9:30. It wd have been liked to stop at the bar for nightcap before heading to our room.
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014
Dear Catherine, Thank you for the great review. We're glad you appreciated our friendly staff and our great location in the heart of La Jolla. I am pleased to share that we are upgrading our cable TV with an interactive channel guide, free pay per view, and a full HD channel lineup. I apologize for this confusion, we have placed a channel guide by each bed to better assist guests during the upgrade. The lounge is open until 10 pm on week nights, which ensures our guests get a "quiet" night time experience at the hotel. Thank you for choosing the Empress Hotel and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveler from San Diego, CA

Fabulous find!!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Shopping, beach walks and good food and drinks!
Fabulous location....great staff....great beach walks. You don't even need a car to walk to great restaurants and lots of shopping!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understaffed?

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Location: Lots of shopping and La Jolla Cove down the street. Be sure to eat at Cody's.
Was expecting an experience closer to one you would have at the Grande Colonial down the street. We were greeted by a man in a suit. Was he a porter? Valet? Concierge? None of these. He didn't help us with anything. The staff behind the front desk are also the ones that valet your car. You can't get the best service when they have so much to do. At night there is only the person at the desk. The man there the night we stayed knew nothing about the local area and so couldn't help us when we needed to find a store open late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doro from Canada

Gracious hotel near the beach and lots of restaura

Posted Feb 2, 2014
the hotel was very quiet and well-appointed, beds comfortable, some mold in the ceiling of the shower but otherwise very clean. It's an older hotel and aging very gracefully. The staff were helpful and unfailingly polite. The in-hotel restaurant was delicious, but somewhat more formal & upscale than we usually wanted. There were a lot of other choices (excellent other choices) nearby. It was close to the beaches and lovely walks and sunsets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Feb 1, 2014
We had a great time. The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly and efficient, and everything went well. Coupled with a great price, it was a very pleasant experience.