Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What service!

Posted Nov 20, 2014
The management and staff really care to provide guests with a premier experience, uniformly smiling and asking if there was anything else they could do for us. We were unhappy with our room upon checking in, and they bent over backwards to remedy the situation. Great location, beautiful breakfast spread and room - indoor/outdoor, lots of space. Nice touches - apples on the lobby desk, full coffee/tea/hot chocolate set up in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: Doesn't have any facilities (pool, etc)
Great price and location, have stayed there many times and will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for your loyal patronage. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent with us here in La Jolla and that you did get to enjoy all our amenities and our close proximity to the beach. It only gets better as we introduce our newly renovated rooms just in time for the new year! Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to being your hotel of choice on your next visit to La Jolla. Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 20, 2014
It's an easy walk one direction to the ocean, another direction to the shops in The Village and another direction to all kinds of restaurants. Front desk and valet staff were very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla. We appreciate your mention of our central location in the heart of La Jolla and within walking distance to the beach, La Jolla Village and great restaurants. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful Front Desk and Valet staff and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to La Jolla. Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable! The softest sheets! Friendly staff

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Comfortable, quiet, Walking distance to everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy to read that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us including our comfortable and quiet guestrooms and our convenient location. We sincerely look forward to the next time you return to the La Jolla area! Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Very nice boutique hotel. Rooms were small, but bathrooms large. Included breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Nice place for families

Posted Aug 12, 2014
This hotel was clean and a nice place for us to stay with our family. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. All of our requests were met upon arrival and they were excellent about letting us check out 2 hours later than check out with no additional charge. That is something we never encounter. Our kids mentioned that the plug ins in their room were loose and they had trouble charging their cell phones. The hotel rooms were dated but very comfortable. We fine dine often and The Manhattan Room has some of the best Italian food we've ever had with great service too!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Endearing Empress

Posted Aug 7, 2014
A charming hotel in a lovely area. We found the staff friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and clean. A great vibe in the restaurant serving some of the best Italian food we've ever eaten (and we're tough critics). Visiting from Australia, we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the Empress as a home away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Looking at your comments, we are very excited to see that your stay with us in La Jolla was extremely delightful, and that the Manhattan's Italian food was some of the best you have eaten. We hope to see you the next time your travels return you to the area, so that you may once again have a quiet and relaxing stay with us! Sincerely, John S Haerr General Manager Empress Hotel La Jolla