Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Not a good value

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Except for it being a large room, and it having a kitchenette, it lacked much of what you'd expect at $100 per night. It was a smoking room (I hadn't asked for) so it smelled. No maid service or daily room cleaning was provided. There were no cups or an ice bucket provided. The drain in the sink was very clogged. The bathroom exhaust fan was filthy. My second night, another room's occupants left their dog alone and unattended. The dog cried and barked for hours. The front desk staff was very courteous and nice. I saw no other staff. For the $100 per night rate, it would be better to either spend $40 less and stay at a Motel 6, or spend $40 more and stay somewhere nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norco, Ca

Clean hotel walking distance to the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Arrived no rush but desk clerk seemed rush. Checked in requested a coffee pot. Clerk advised didn't have one right now but took our room number (right around the corner 10 steps) never received one. Wife needed a hair dryer should be standard not have to ask for one. Other than those couple of things room was ready, clean and quite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the issues you experienced regarding the coffee pot and hairdryer. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure this does not continue in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Still, it's great to hear that you were pleased with your clean, quiet room. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom phoenix az

Great location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
This was great for walking to things downtown Carlsbad. It's a bit of a hike to get to the beach, but manageable. The I-5 noise is actually not that bad in the room (we didn't hear anything). The rooms were really dirty, though. The staff was nice and helpful. Good place if you have dogs that travel with you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that your room was not cleaned to your satisfaction. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have re-trained our housekeeping staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Still, it's great to hear that you were pleased with our location and our great staff during your stay. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

dog barking

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: ban dogs
Location: it was ok
dog barking next room never go here again never again never again never again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Bob - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the noise you experienced. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad

Good stay for the money

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Surprised to find no ice available breakfast sparse but adequate. Denny's next door if you need more. Bed very comfortable. Room very Quiet. Easy access to charming village. Only Fox propaganda and frantic CNN. No Aljazeera or MSNBC. Staff friendly. Nothing fancy here but good value for a bargain price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Very disappointed in the stay. Inattentive staff. No hairdryers in room. No ice maker. No cups/dishes in room. Sub-par bedding/bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Excellent room and perfect location. We came into town to run a race and the hotel was a great place to stay and rest. Also, close to beach and shops!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Walked into a dirty room. Unmade bed, dirty sheets, dirty towels on the floor of the bathroom. Traffic from the 5 was terrible. We stayed the weekend of the Carlsbad 5000 running race. Grand Ave. was closed at 5:00 a/m Sunday morning, through 1:30 p/m. The hotel staff did nothing to notify guests in advance. So, had to check out of hotel at 4:45 a/m Sunday morning. Would not stay here, or recommend it to anyone else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad California

Posted Mar 17, 2015
my room was facing the freeway, but even with that it still felt like a very private very quiet place. Foot traffic was low, so not a lot of noise from the other rooms. All in all it was a nice day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa City, IA

Amenities were poor

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Better quality of towels and soap, could offer other things such as shampoo, note pad, pen, information on other businesses and restaurants.
Location: Walking distance to the beach
Poor quality overall but bearable considering we were not in the room very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that the towels and soap were not to your liking and that there was no shampoo in your room. Still, we are happy to know that our location worked well for you allowing for you to walk to the beach. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.