Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Not so good

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The hotel was nice in a nice area. However the room wasn't as clean as it should have been. The bathroom sink was stopped up and there was white spots (maybe candle wax) all over the carpet, the bathtub had hairs on the walls(short hair like pubic hair). The overall experience was ok, i just was expecting more for that kind of money. The contenintal breakfast was crappy, there was only coffee and hot chocolate (at least offer juice for the kids). The maids were out in the hallway before 8am socializing very loudly and not even working. When i first arrived and got off the elevator on the 3rd floor, there was small poeces of paper all over the floor. The customer service at the front desk was nice and that was about the best thing happening. I probably would NOT stay again unless its free because i didn't get the experience i paid for
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. I appreciate your kind comments about our location; however, I am very sorry that the room was not fully cleaned upon check-in. I discussed your comments with the team, and we will be using your feedback as a training tool to ensure rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected to our company’s high standards. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

No shower curtain? Really!!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Arrived at E.S.A. Late afternoon for a 1 night stay. We were attending a Marine Corps Graduation. Wife and I returned to our room about 10pm and prepared for a shower and bed. WHAT NO SHOWER CURTAIN! Phoned the front desk, was told no one on staff to help and we would need to NOT use the shower or use the towels provided for water clean up. Problem was, there were only 2 full size towels and no one on staff to provide additional towels. Wife and i shared a towel. Repeated the same process for our morning shower. When we asked for additional towels because of the lack of a shower curtain, we were told that because we were only staying for 1 night we would not be eligible for additional towels. REALLY!! Thanks E.S.A. for a terrible stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Joe - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I am so disappointed that our staff was not able to attend you the first night of your stay by providing you with towels. Please accept my apology. So this does not happen again in the future, I am working closely with our staff to ensure that new protocols are set in place so no call goes unnoticed. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

Needed a place with kitchen to make my smoothies.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Staff was fine. One front desk clerk a little short, but others all polite and helpful. Only drawback is that there is no pool or hot tub. Basic amenities. Also charges to clean room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that our hotel did not offer all the amenities you were looking for. Still, I am glad to read that you were pleased with our staff and fully equipped kitchens. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, Ca

Wanted at home feel

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: location and size
Cons: access to workable everyday kitchen things that are in an everyday home.
Location: easy access to freeway to get you anywhere, never had an issue with the location or access.
I wanted to be able to not have to eat out every day. I wrongly assumed that the facility would provide each room with more than adequate utensils, dishes, silverware, etc. I was wrong we received minimal of everything. had to buy knives to cut beef, chicken, etc. had to buy bowl to put food in. just inconvenient. I wouldn't stay again for this reason. liked the facility but not the working concept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. We appreciate the kind comments about our convenient location; however, we apologize that our fully equipped kitchens were not stocked prior to you checking-in. We no longer keep dishware in guest rooms for sanitary reasons; however, these items are available at the front desk. This allows each guest to customize their kitchen with fresh and clean utensils with what they might need during their stay. I met with our staff, and we will we are providing all our guests with the right information in regards to how our kitchens are stocked to ensure that this miscommunication is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Neighboring rooms were too loud. The grounds on the outside was not kept up and trash cans were overflowing. Door handles entering to check-in were sticky. The room overall was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. The cleanliness of the hotel you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am working closely with my staff to make sure we are more thorough in our inspections. However, I am glad to hear that overall your room was clean. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Nos toco una habitación con olor a cigarro porque era lo que les quedaba :(. Aunque el personal del hotel si fue amable a pesar de los problemas que tuvimos con expedia!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Bare Bones

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: They had a room for me.
Cons: Towels were thin and stained. Room should have been better stocked i.e. clock, tissues,coffee maker, hair dryer. They had to be requested.
Location: It worked for what my needs were.
The staff was excellent. The hotel listed wi-fi in each room--not true I would have appreciated a clock in the room as well as other standard amenities. " Extras" had to be requested and were eventually delivered
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. I am sorry to hear that your room was missing a few amenities. I discussed your comments with the team, and making sure every room is supplied with the right amenities. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback and letting me know that our staff was excellent. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Shocked

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: No much
Cons: Everything!
Location: Sea World, Missio Beach, San Diego Fashion Mall
Although this hotel looks nice from the outside, its very rustic on the inside. And, to make matters worse, we reserved a King NON-smoking room and when we arrive we discovered we were given a Queen Smoking room. Take it or leave it. They were sold out! Then the next morning, our King Non-Smoking appeared! Amazing! I will say that Vanessa, the girl at the front desk in the morning was the only nice person working there! I sincerely hope that Extended Stay appreciates the great employee they have working there. Will not choose to stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Location, poor service.

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
During our three day stays, the rooms was not being make up and clean by the Hotel. No new towel or making up of the bed throughout our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lauriefrom Arlington, TX

Disappointed with Hotel..

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is old but the rooms had been updated. These have a kitchen that should have been stocked dishes-plates,cups,saucers,bowels,glasses, pots & pans,silverware,cooking utensils,coffee maker and toaster,ashes tray already in the room. They were not. Had to ask and was given 2 plates,2 plastic glasses, 2 plastic forks, 1 knife, 2 small spoons, dirty coffee maker and that was it. Had to buy some cleanser to clean the refrigerator so I could put my left over take out food in there. Counter tops, stove microwave and hood vent was covered from grease build up that was never cleaned. Kit. sink coffee or tea stained it was dirty. Bathroom was clean and everything else was fine. I had reserved for 2 nights. Checked out to drive to Vegas for 2 days. Came back and had another 3 night reservation. When I checked in we went to the room to find it was still dirty from previous guest. Went back to the front desk and was given another room. Opened the door to find it was an occupied room. The guest were not there but all their things were including a purse sitting there on the counter. I hurried up and closed the door and went back down for the 3rd time to get another room. The kitchen was in same condition as the first stay and I cleaned it again and not stocked. Carpet needed vacuumed badly. Bathroom was clean. Would I recommend or stay again? NO!