Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Old Town , CA

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Very nice pla e in a great loaction. Got a great deal for NYE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments about the hotel stay at my Fairfield Inn. I am glad you found the hotel to be convenient for your New Years Eve! Please come back and see us again. Sincerely, Steve P. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the old town

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Cons: Breakfast is not so good, I would give full points if breakfast had been better
Pretty nice quite hotel in the downtown, good neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge

Nice hotel near Old town SD

Posted Dec 28, 2014
I stayed here on Christmas Eve. Although many places were closed due to holiday, old town was pretty nice place to take a look around. This hotel is close to Old town and is beutiful by itselt. Breakfast was not really amazing but still okay. Hotel staffs are kind and helpful. I would like to visit here again if I have a chance in the future again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karenfrom Birmingham England

Small Hotel Close to Old Town

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay at the Fairfield for 2 nights in mid October, the hotel is small and friendly, with everything you need we needed for a short trip. We arrived early and were able to check in immediately giving is time to explore the Old Town which is great. Excellent in room media, free Wi-Fi and inclusive breakfast made our stay very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by otuomifrom az

My San Diego home

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect location just few steps away from charming Old Town and many authentic Mexican restaurants. 10mins walk to train (trolley) with quick access to downtown, USS Midway, Coronado ferry etc. 10mins drive to Mission Beach and other attractions. Hotel itself is brilliant, clean rooms with comfy beds, nice newish decor, better than average breakfast, garage with option of street parking, pool aso. That's all you need for the perfect weekend stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed this stay

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were nice and clean, great A/C, walking distance to tons of restaurants (awesome Mexican Food).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
N/a
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 Stars!!! Steve P
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Overpriced budget motel room.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The one thing that this hotel has going for it is the cleaning staff. They did an excellent job.
Cons: Heating and cooling are terrible. Mattresses are old and worn out. Get a friendly staff that makes customers feel welcome.
Location: Old Town San Diego is nice to visit for a couple of hours, no more. There is nothing to do except eat mexican food that is "meh" at best.
This motel is old and wore out. The staff appears to tolerate guests rather than welcome them. I would say that they are charging double what this place is worth. I am very disappointed in myself as I booked this hotel based on the name Merriot. Don't let that fool you, this is not a nice hotel. It is an overpriced budget room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback from your most recent stay. I apologize we did not meet your expectations of a Marriott hotel. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team. Sincerely, Steve P.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tammie

Old Town

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location for Old Town