Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Overpriced budget motel room.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The one thing that this hotel has going for it is the cleaning staff. They did an excellent job.
Cons: Heating and cooling are terrible. Mattresses are old and worn out. Get a friendly staff that makes customers feel welcome.
Location: Old Town San Diego is nice to visit for a couple of hours, no more. There is nothing to do except eat mexican food that is "meh" at best.
This motel is old and wore out. The staff appears to tolerate guests rather than welcome them. I would say that they are charging double what this place is worth. I am very disappointed in myself as I booked this hotel based on the name Merriot. Don't let that fool you, this is not a nice hotel. It is an overpriced budget room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback from your most recent stay. I apologize we did not meet your expectations of a Marriott hotel. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team. Sincerely, Steve P.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Very comfortable and clean. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fallon Nv.

Nice hotel, right in old town.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Stayed one night, for an event in old town. Liked the, kind of village atmosphere of the hotel. Staff was really nice. Will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean and close to attractions

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Little pricey, had to additionally pay for underground parking unless you can find street parking, but had a decent breakfast and walking distance from old town and bus depot for the beach. Expedia booked us a room with a balcony and it was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Billfrom San Luis Obispo Ca

Convient location

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel,I would stay there again and recommend people to stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by WS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisafrom Atlanta

Would stay there again

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great hotel to stay at location was close to everything we wanted to do We will stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to Old Town!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Old Town and freeway
Great staff, very convenient to resturants, shopping and walking distance to Old Town, even with young children! The pool was great, not to deep, perfect for kids to play.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carolfrom Los Angeles

Convenient to all San Diego sights

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent value in a great location. Easy walk to Old Town where there are many restaurants and shops. Very adequate breakfast. Next time would request a room with French doors to outside. That would give more natural light in the room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to Old Town . It's location is perfect within walking distance to a truely lovely place. The hotel itself was very noisy we had a trash truck that pulled under the window to our room to empty the barrels every Sunday morning at 6:30 for about half an hour. The door to our room did not close properly letting in light and sound from the hallway. The hotel staff was more concerned with talking with each other than with helping the customers. I left a message to have the manager call me and they never did. Very disappointed !