Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Allison from Louisville, KY

Did not get our over $200.00 a night value.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Housekeeping!
Cons: Front desk supervisor.
Location: Great locaation. Close to airport, close to Old Town pedestrian market with great Mexican food.
We booked through a third, barely English speaking, party. We were pleasantly surprised to find they offered smoking rooms as we are the last two smokers on the planet. I believe we stayed in the only suite. It had one balcony and a patio with two chaise lounges and an outdoor table with four chairs. There were no ashtrays anywhere and we read the pamphlet in the room, it said it was a smoke free hotel. We chose not to challenge this and restricted our smoking to outdoors on the patio. We were on the second floor. Housekeeping was EXCELLENT and FLAWLESS! They serve a warm breakfast every morning to include artificial scrambled eggs, Belgian waffles and thin grey circles they claim is sausage. The sausage gravy and biscuits tasted floury and had not been cooked enough. So they have a kitchen on the premises. We were checked in by the front desk supervisor who was clearly the only staff member present. My husband went down about an hour after check in and asked her for some salt packets. Her look can only be described as a cross between being asked for one of her kidneys and a complete failure to understand the English language. I'm a former guest services manager of Homewood Suites and I know she had access to the kitchen area. She was very friendly but guest service was a completely foreign concept to her. Obtaining something as simple as salt should not be impossible to obtain. We travel to San Diego often but will not return to that property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, handy for everything in San Diego

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Lovely area, we'll laid out. Handy for freeways and minutes to everything.
Cons: Parking expensive at $15 a night, but staff readily pointed out that there was ample parking on street around the hotel, which we used with no problem
Location: Situated in Old Town with plenty of nice restaurants and shops
Got hotel at a great rate through expedia. Found it to be the perfect location to take in San Diego everything within minutes drive
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexperienced staff

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Cons: hire more experienced staff with more patience.
Front desk staff were reluctant to give instructions. When asked he was so rude. Rooms are located in the different buildings far from each other. It is not as close as it is written in their website to the airport. Hotel is dark and depressing and not a representative of a Sandiego hotel. There is always a security guard with uniform hanging out there. It means that either it is not a safe place or they have had problems before. They could have spent on many other issues if there is no security issues there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gord

Great hotel for the price.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Very good stay , clean rooms although showing a little wear. Close to most attractions , walking distance to everything at old town. Free wifi very good full breakfast included. They charge $15 a night for parking , no need to pay , lots of parking on the street all around the hotel . Would defintly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Hotel. Great location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Awesome time at this hotel. Walking distance to many things to see and eat. I highly recommend eating at El Agave which is across the street and eating at Coyote Cafe and eating fresh handmade tortillas! The breakfast at the hotel was decent. It's a money saver so you can spend it for lunch or dinner at the various restaurants in Old Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Nemo, Texas

Nice and clean, excellent breakfast

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Location: Close to Old Town, the Zoo, Balboa Park and the airport
Very good, excellent breakfast and variety. The room was very clean and roomy. The balcony make the room even more cozy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of Old Town San Diego

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Close to Old Town
Cons: Provide actual address of hotel. Improve signage and/or be explicit in directions to the hotel.
Hotel is nice, relatively new and built around a courtyard. Good breakfast buffet Pleasant interior patio, it was cold so did not try the pool. Parking is $15 per night, a surprise. VERY hard to find at night. Hotel backs-up to San Diego Avenue which is the main street in Old Town and we drove by it twice. Address says 3900 Old Town Avenue, but the actual entrance is on Jefferson St. Signs are very small, unlit and mounted at waist height. No typical Fairfield Inn or Marriott signage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Jan 21, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a great hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield and in San Diego. The front desk was very, very helpful in every way. Answered all of our questions and helped us get around the city. The breakfast they served was fantastic and was fun meeting the other guests there every morning. The rooms were clean and quite. They provide an airport shuttle and a shuttle to the marine base also. If your feeling adventurous, its only a 10 min. walk to the marine base. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asks.