Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
It was excellent! Everything was perfect. No problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to old town San Diego..

Posted Jul 14, 2014
great hotel very quiet very clean also very nice looking on the outside.enjoyed the walking distance from the hotel to old town San Diego all restaurants are close great access right off the freeway great location perfect hotel...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino, CA

Close to all the attractions.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It was in a good location and it was quiet. The internet speeds were good.
Cons: It would be nice if there were more options of meat for breakfast beside the sausages.
Location: The location is in Old Town which is convenient to restaurants, shopping, and the Old Town Trolley. There is Sea World, Whale watching, and Balboa.
The location is excellent to all the attractions. It never seemed to take more than 10 minutes to get to Balboa Park, the Zoo, Seaport Village, Little Italy, Sea World, or Belmont Shores.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014
Marin, Thank you so much for providing such great feedback about your stay at my Fairfield Inn San Diego. I am glad the location was very convenient for you and your family.
2 out of 5
by JR from Los Angeles, CA

Used to be a nice place.

Posted May 28, 2014
1. No maid service. 2. Thermostat locked at 68. 3. Phone broken; couldn't even call to complain. 4. Nice location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expedia mix-up

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: booking through expedia
Location: Great Old Town atmosphere
I booked through Expedia and the reservation was not in Fairfield's confirmed reservations. The helpful staff did get me a room at their sister hotel Comfort suites. This was a small old and tired hotel on the 5 fwy. So I have no opinion of the Fairfield suites except that the staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angelica from los Angeles

Great location

Posted May 11, 2014
Great place to stay. Location was good. Hotel was clean with friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to public transport to downtow

Posted May 6, 2014
Free reasonable breakfast, overall low noise , somewhat dated but charming facilities.
2 out of 5
by Allison from Louisville, KY

Did not get our over $200.00 a night value.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Housekeeping!
Cons: Front desk supervisor.
Location: Great locaation. Close to airport, close to Old Town pedestrian market with great Mexican food.
We booked through a third, barely English speaking, party. We were pleasantly surprised to find they offered smoking rooms as we are the last two smokers on the planet. I believe we stayed in the only suite. It had one balcony and a patio with two chaise lounges and an outdoor table with four chairs. There were no ashtrays anywhere and we read the pamphlet in the room, it said it was a smoke free hotel. We chose not to challenge this and restricted our smoking to outdoors on the patio. We were on the second floor. Housekeeping was EXCELLENT and FLAWLESS! They serve a warm breakfast every morning to include artificial scrambled eggs, Belgian waffles and thin grey circles they claim is sausage. The sausage gravy and biscuits tasted floury and had not been cooked enough. So they have a kitchen on the premises. We were checked in by the front desk supervisor who was clearly the only staff member present. My husband went down about an hour after check in and asked her for some salt packets. Her look can only be described as a cross between being asked for one of her kidneys and a complete failure to understand the English language. I'm a former guest services manager of Homewood Suites and I know she had access to the kitchen area. She was very friendly but guest service was a completely foreign concept to her. Obtaining something as simple as salt should not be impossible to obtain. We travel to San Diego often but will not return to that property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, handy for everything in San Diego

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Lovely area, we'll laid out. Handy for freeways and minutes to everything.
Cons: Parking expensive at $15 a night, but staff readily pointed out that there was ample parking on street around the hotel, which we used with no problem
Location: Situated in Old Town with plenty of nice restaurants and shops
Got hotel at a great rate through expedia. Found it to be the perfect location to take in San Diego everything within minutes drive
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexperienced staff

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Cons: hire more experienced staff with more patience.
Front desk staff were reluctant to give instructions. When asked he was so rude. Rooms are located in the different buildings far from each other. It is not as close as it is written in their website to the airport. Hotel is dark and depressing and not a representative of a Sandiego hotel. There is always a security guard with uniform hanging out there. It means that either it is not a safe place or they have had problems before. They could have spent on many other issues if there is no security issues there.