Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from WA

Staying at Grand Pacific Palisades

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Cons: Daily cleanliness:by completing a checklist and let it @ some place in guest room. Supervisory visit to inspect cleaning routine - surprise visit.
Location: LEGOLAND - 5 min walk SanDiego Zoo and Sea-world - half an hour drive LA - 2 hour drive Beaches - few mins drive Restaurants / downtown - few mins
AThis was our first visit to San-Diego and we chose GPP as it is pretty close to LEGOLAND, literally a 5 minute walk. The ambience, facilities and staff were pretty good. With kitchenette, it was very comfortable for us in the mornings and evenings for family breakfast and dinners. With laundry on each floor, washing/drying anything was just a moment away action. Noise level was very low and thus you get a peaceful sleep during nights:) Rooms are air-conditioned which helps a lot in hot weather there. Free Wi-Fi, TV in living as well as bedroom, full kitchenette, iron - everything available in the room. The hotel has two swimming pools and kids enjoyed lot in the family pool. During our stay, overall things were pretty satisfactory. However, few issues we observed: 1. Cleanliness - Daily cleanliness in the routine, however one time they missed to clean. They were quick in resolving the issue once we made a call though. We also observed one time that some of the items such as tags / park maps / beer bottle cap were not picked during this routine work. 2. Air-Condition - We stayed there for a week and first 3 days, the AC was not really cooling. Since it was running and we were usually out the whole day, we thought it just takes time to cool once we back in room. However, once we complained, they were very quick in sending technician to look. Also, provided us couple of fans as it took next day to fix the issue. I would give full marks for this issue resolving :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance California

Won't return if it is not so close to legoland.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Swimming pool, nice lobby, staffs are friendly.
Cons: Bathroom grouts. Room is clean but facility is old.
Location: Legoland, restaurants are good.
1. Bathroom condition is not really good. Grout around bath tub and toilet are stained mold color and falling off. 2. Room is ok, but maid forgot to clean our room during my 2nd day stay until we reminded them when we came back at 3pm in the afternoon. 3. They ran out of "milk" and most of drinks in their tiny gift shop. We were told by their staff they get shipment in once a month?? OMG.. so once they run out they are out until beginning of the month when new supply are in. 4. I made my reservation over 2 months ago. When I called in to request a possibility of room with some view? the answer is first come first serve. This is when I paid almost $250/night two queen size bedroom. At the end I get a parking lot view. If you get out to balcony you may get FREE wireless connection from Karl Strauss restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Garden Grove CA

Nice. Kid friendly

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Room always clean. Pool for the kids is nice. Walking distance to the Legoland. Will book again when we go legoland again next year
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014
Hello Kevin S¸ Thank you for providing us with your review. We’re thrilled to hear that our staff provided you with excellent customer service. We hope you and your family had fun using several of the guest amenities available and exploring the nearby attractions. We also look forward to welcoming you back for another great family vacation in the near future! Thank you, Holly Ansley
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seal Beach, CA

Nice place to visit Legoland from.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The closeness to Legoland as well as the activities and pool they had for kids.
Cons: Finishing. Additionally, the service at the snack/coffee stand was very slow. I Had to wait to be helped over 5 minutes at least three times.
Location: Legoland is a very short walk. Karl Strauss's food is unbelievable fro the price!
The hotel is really a family "Villa" complex with the hotel "wing" more of an afterthought. There was still construction (interior) going on during our stay, so perhaps we didn't catch them at their best. The adjacent restaurant (Karl Strauss) cannot make a bad meal (even if they tried.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014
Hello Kevin S¸ Thank you for providing us with your review. We’re thrilled to hear that our staff provided you with excellent customer service. We hope you and your family had fun using several of the guest amenities available and exploring the nearby attractions. We also look forward to welcoming you back for another great family vacation in the near future! Thank you, Holly Ansley General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Arizona

Hotel Bed

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I have never had a bed so hard. My wife likes hard beds and she couldn't sleep on this one either. the rest of the room was ok but I would not book this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Legoland trip

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This is a timeshare. Do not answer your phone in the room. Not able to check in until after 5. Front desk staff said they would call a when room ready but never did. Lots of renovation going on. The beautiful pool with the ocean view and fire pit was only for adults-- not aware of that during booking. We have kids so we would've picked another place. The concierge not terribly familiar with the area & got us lost with their walking directions to Legoland. Room was ok. Could use new carpet & light fixtures. Bathroom needed to be gutted. The kitchen was VERY well appointed. Anything you might need was there. As always, the housekeeping staff is the heart & soul of any hotel. The room was clean and had cute little towel origami creations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice hotel, close to Legoland

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: It was conveniently located, clean, and beautiful! We felt very comfortable.
Cons: They need to inform guests that they can get service for drinks at the pool and fire pits.
Location: Right across the street from LEGOLAND! Also very close to beaches, dining and shopping. A short drive to San Diego.
We were looking for a more "adult" hotel for our visit to LEGOLAND, and this place fit the bill! We were a short walk away from the park and the facility was so much more peaceful and relaxing than if we would have stayed at the LEGOLAND hotel. All the staff was courteous and helpful and the amenities were pleasing for all our family members: they had a scavenger hunt for the kids (a free mini Lego figure was the prize), an adult pool for my husband, a fabulous kids pool (with water slides and play structure), fire pits to relax by at night, restaurant on the resort grounds, etc. We were perfectly comfortable and would definitely stay there again. The complaints we had were: housekeeping kept taking our towels and not replacing them all. One day they took all four towels and only replaced two. Another day they took all four wash cloths and didn't replace any, another day they took the bath mat and didn't replace it....it was a little frustrating, but easily resolved. The front desk was happy to replace all missing towels promptly. The adult pool is not Olympic size, as advertised. Not a big deal, but if you have a competitive swimmer in your family (we do), it was disappointing. Also, the staff didn't tell us at check in that you could get drinks delivered to your room or poolside. There were several evenings we would have loved to enjoy a drink at the fire pit or at the pool, and didn't know we could get service there. Otherwise, everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Nice hotel close to legoland. Great staff! Gave great recommendation for lunch. Valet service to legoland provided, very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga,CA

amazing hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and courteous. We were greeted at the door with smiles by the staff and it continued throughout our visit!!!
Location: We visited LEGOLAND...in which case I purchased the tickets at the hotel at a discounted rate which I was very excited about.
I was very pleased with our visit...the staff was awesome and the view from our balcony was beautiful. The overall visit was a pleasant visit and I cant wait to stay there again for a longer period of time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for providing us with your review. We're thrilled to hear that you will be coming back for another stay. We hope to welcome you back soon for a much longer stay soon! Thank you, Holly Ansley General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Birthday weekend for my son

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This was the perfect hotel to stay with the kids. The only thing I did'nt like was the check in time, which was at 5pm. We were with the kids and arrived there at 2pm and asked the staff to put us in a room which is first available, but they did'nt chk us inn until 4:45. Check out is 10am therefor, guests should be checked inn by 2pm. It's a waste of money to not even stay for 20 hrs in your room. Other than that everything was perfect.